Woo Audio WA22 Amp Owner Unite
Jun 14, 2022 at 9:00 PM Post #1,817 of 1,929

CAJames

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 11, 2020
Posts
370
Likes
732
Location
Lompoc, CA
Am I crazy to prefer the Cetron/Tung Sol 7236 over the WE 421a and TS 5998 as power tubes? Really, they are super awesome with the kind of rock-heavy music I listen to.
No! Enjoy what sounds good, and if it costs less than WE all the better.
 
Jun 14, 2022 at 9:13 PM Post #1,818 of 1,929

VanHai

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 22, 2020
Posts
262
Likes
755
Location
Fairfax, VA
Am I crazy to prefer the Cetron/Tung Sol 7236 over the WE 421a and TS 5998 as power tubes? Really, they are super awesome with the kind of rock-heavy music I listen to.
No, you are not. I have both Cetron/ Tung Sol 7236 and TS5998, the 7236s are almost as good as 5998s. I compensate the 7236s by using these higher gain driver tubes, TS 6sl7 GT long and short and 6c8g tubes .
PXL_20220610_154042952.jpg
PXL_20220610_163956679.jpg
PXL_20220610_164914307.jpg
PXL_20220610_165932755.jpg
 
Jun 18, 2022 at 10:34 PM Post #1,820 of 1,929

9bphillips

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 10, 2016
Posts
638
Likes
417
I have noticed when I am listening to my wa22 while on my phone there is is static. It can move my phone closer to my wa22 and it gets worse. Will this effect anything and how can I fix it. It doesn't bother me while music is playing but I would still like to know if there is a fix. Thanks in advance!
 
Jun 18, 2022 at 10:38 PM Post #1,821 of 1,929

ColSaulTigh

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 11, 2021
Posts
1,118
Likes
2,440
Location
Orlando, FL, USA
Tubes are susceptible to RF interference. Some tubes more than others. Short of putting your amplifier inside a Faraday cage, there's not much you can do but keep your phone further away from the tubes. 4-5' should do it.
 
Jun 19, 2022 at 1:11 AM Post #1,822 of 1,929

9bphillips

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 10, 2016
Posts
638
Likes
417
Tubes are susceptible to RF interference. Some tubes more than others. Short of putting your amplifier inside a Faraday cage, there's not much you can do but keep your phone further away from the tubes. 4-5' should do it.
It's not that big of a deal. I was just curious. Thx
 
Jun 20, 2022 at 1:31 AM Post #1,824 of 1,929

9bphillips

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 10, 2016
Posts
638
Likes
417
Jun 20, 2022 at 1:55 AM Post #1,825 of 1,929

deutscherhififan

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
32
Likes
21
I had my Electrician run a dedicated line from our main breaker box to my hifi system when we upgraded our electrical system for solar and home batteries. Nothing else is on that line and it shows. The P5 is more for protection than clean power.
One other option for you I just tried for my 'noisy' outlet: The Audiolab DC Blocker and Mains filter, $129 at Amazon right now. Wow, this little box eliminated all hum for me when using a 'dirty' power outlet, even after turning on dimmers, TV, microwave, etc. throughout the house. I do not detect any negative impact on sound quality, on the contrary. I am sold and will get more. I clearly had a bit of DC in my line that transformers absolutely hate and respond to with hum. Give it a try.... free returns.

 
Last edited:
Jun 20, 2022 at 3:03 AM Post #1,828 of 1,929

muckyfingers

Previously known as 69mustang
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Posts
277
Likes
464
Location
SoCal
Does the center/ground pin cause any problem? Should it be unscrewed?
It doesn’t cause any issues on the front ports because the sockets are already always connected to the chassis/ground.

Where it would cause an issue or possibly damage is using them as is on the XLR inputs on the back, those are not connected to ground in the same way.

I would remove the ground pin from the dust cap and line the inside of it with a little electrical tape or something to make it hug the socket, that’s what I did to cover the 4 pin XLR socket today on my unit.
 
Jun 20, 2022 at 3:06 AM Post #1,829 of 1,929

Adnan Firoze

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2016
Posts
305
Likes
675
Location
West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
It doesn’t cause any issues on the front ports because the sockets are already always connected to the chassis/ground.

Where it would cause an issue or possibly damage is using them as is on the XLR inputs on the back, those are not connected to ground in the same way.

I would remove the ground pin from the dust cap and line the inside of it with a little electrical tape or something to make it hug the socket, that’s what I did to cover the 4 pin XLR socket today on my unit.

Thanks so much. Any tips/instructions on how to unscrew the pin? I just ordered a pair. Thanks in advance. :)
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top