Wolfson DAC confirmed for Galaxy S3!
post-8729017
Post #781 of 947
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
1,611
Reaction score
154
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Posts
1,611
Likes
154
Not for me on either my international or AT&T S3s (it didn't fix the Pico not working with my international one either, mores the pity).

How'd you get official jelly bean on at&t?

Kojaku
 
     Share This Post       
post-8730033
Post #782 of 947

NZtechfreak

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
3,236
Reaction score
615
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Posts
3,236
Likes
615
Quote:
How'd you get official jelly bean on at&t?
Kojaku
 
The one on the AT&T isn't official, it's a leaked Samsung Jelly Bean firmware (actually for the Bell S3, but the hardware is identical to the AT&T S3, so as long as you don't flash the modem its all good). It is perfectly stable though, been running it a few weeks and no problems whatsoever.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8732585
Post #783 of 947
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
1,611
Reaction score
154
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Posts
1,611
Likes
154
Quote:
 
The one on the AT&T isn't official, it's a leaked Samsung Jelly Bean firmware (actually for the Bell S3, but the hardware is identical to the AT&T S3, so as long as you don't flash the modem its all good). It is perfectly stable though, been running it a few weeks and no problems whatsoever.
So where can I download this? Also, does this work with baseband LH9? or do I have to stick with the old baseband?
 
Kojaku
 
     Share This Post       
post-8732641
Post #784 of 947

NZtechfreak

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
3,236
Reaction score
615
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Posts
3,236
Likes
615
Quote:
So where can I download this? Also, does this work with baseband LH9? or do I have to stick with the old baseband?
 
Kojaku
 
Are you Rooted?
 
If not: http://www.androidnz.net/2012/08/at-your-own-risk-how-to-root-your.html
 
If/when you are Rooted get the firmware from XDA-Developers here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1874982
 
You don't actually need Root to install the firmware, but Root lets you backup your apps beforehand and also do the flash with Mobile Odin (which is easier/better).
 
     Share This Post       
post-8735001
Post #785 of 947

gattari

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 16, 2008
Messages
423
Reaction score
37
Joined
Nov 16, 2008
Posts
423
Likes
37
Repost also here.
S3 works with a relevant number of usb DAC.
Can the S3 interworks with USB DAC based on xmos chip.
Anyone know?


Inviato dal mio GT-I9300 con Tapatalk 2

 
     Share This Post       
post-8735605
Post #786 of 947
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
1,611
Reaction score
154
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Posts
1,611
Likes
154
Quote:
Repost also here.
S3 works with a relevant number of usb DAC.
Can the S3 interworks with USB DAC based on xmos chip.
Anyone know?
Inviato dal mio GT-I9300 con Tapatalk 2
According to our readings, most every exynos-based S3 has worked, except one strange case where someone had done quite a bit of kernel-swapping.
 
Kojaku
 
     Share This Post       
post-8736139
Post #787 of 947

Nazo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
188
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Posts
188
Likes
10
So here's a question that may have already been answered (but this thread is getting quite huge so I couldn't find it): is there hardware variance on the SGS3's design among the US models? I see people in places complaining about picking up noise at even low volumes whereas I see some saying they get none. In fact, I'd swear the sound coming from my SGS3 is actually so good that even though I have a way of doing an external DAC essentially that sounds good to me, I actually like the sound so much without it that I never bother even at home. (It's almost enough to make me wonder if there's some possibility that maybe some US models -- perhaps newer ones after a lot of complaints -- got the Wolfson DAC anyway?) I'm hearing quite a lot of fine detail and general quality here with no discernible noise. Now, I'll admit I don't have the "golden ears" of a true audiophile but still, this thing sounds amazing for a phone and better than most of my other devices quite frankly and my hearing and audio preferences are still quite a bit better than your average joe's at least. (In particular, you'll never catch me ruining my bass by raising it way up and distorting the heck out of it as well as making it overpower other frequencies. Mind you, I guess people who like doing that might be disappointed if it doesn't do a good enough job of it, lol.)

What's truly funny is neither my headphones nor my IEMs have the outer metal shielding on the cable so should be more inclined to act as an antenna for RFI (which is pretty easily a problem on a lot of cellphones.) Given that the Wolfson DAC made a big deal about its active filtering... Just a thought anyway. While, no doubt, people have looked at the innards of a few of the SGS3s, how many different ones have they looked at? Perhaps Samsung has varied the hardware a bit for different service providers? Alternately, could they have caved in to all of the upset people and put the Wolfson DAC back in the US model? Or is the alternative DAC just that good and many just have bad OPAMPs or something? The OPAMP does seem to be pretty capable in this one as it can handle my headphones and dual armature IEMs (UltimateEars Super.Fi 5 Pros) just fine. Even the bass seems to be fine with all the clarity and depth I get from my CMoy with the AD8620 . At this point I don't really mind which it is so much as I'm just a bit curious since mine sounds so good and yet so many people's do not. Of course everyone's ears are different, but I don't think they could be THAT different...

It may be worth noting that I've used Titanium Backup to freeze the built-in sound processing service (MusicFX,) so no unnecessary extra audio processing is occurring. I use PowerAmp, but have equalizer/tone control disabled in it too. Well, I do use ReplayGain which not only has the benefit of evening volume out among my collection but also of course helps to decrease clipping from post-Loudness War recordings (which I'll admit is most of my collection.) I've also wondered a bit if that built-in audio processor might have been doing some damage along the way potentially for people who prefer something more neutral or quality oriented. Otherwise it has to be hardware related if it's not that as I never saw anything else that could affect this and am not even running a custom kernel or anything. I'm not even using Jellybean and I've only done one firmware update at all since I got the phone (I decided not to mess with a good thing. I use a lot of custom software for my launchers and everything else, so see no reason to mess with it anyway since I wouldn't really benefit from the "upgrade" but might risk breaking something instead. I'll update some day as it matures more, but right now I'm in no rush.) All I've done was to root it so I could do stuff like that TitaniumBackup and SetCPU.

Anyway, just curious.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8738314
Post #788 of 947

Audiowood

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
1,795
Reaction score
301
Location
Silicon Valley
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Location
Silicon Valley
Posts
1,795
Likes
301
I got the international s3 version. I just updated to jelly bean and boy i would say the buttery project alone is worth it. In the past I always feel its lacking as it jerkiness of the interface make it look "cheap". But not anymore.. It's on par with iPhone 5's buttery smooth interface. I was a little bothered by the hiss from s3 with ice cream sandwich, but once updated to JB, the hiss sound with fitear 334 got a lot less, it's now so little that I could barely hear it anymore. I could not detect any more difference beside the less hiss. That alone is worth it. The s3 is on par with the sq of iPod. In fact iPod hiss as well...

Not sure what my dac is, but its good enough driven directly without an amp.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8738747
Post #789 of 947

fueltank

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
118
Reaction score
11
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Posts
118
Likes
11
I'm using International S3 with Jelly Bean and hear no hiss (1964 Quads) at all.
Using DLIB version
 
     Share This Post       
post-8750043
Post #790 of 947

rk12

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Posts
8
Likes
0
If anybody intrested, my old y1 dac works perfect via OTG.
 
I am using poweramp and SQ not bad at all.
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-8750089
Post #791 of 947

DanBa

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Messages
1,721
Reaction score
262
Joined
Nov 12, 2009
Posts
1,721
Likes
262
Does y1 stand for AMB Labs Gamma1?
Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-8750143
Post #793 of 947

longbowbbs

Reviewer at Hi-Fi+
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
7,942
Reaction score
733
Location
NW Wisconsin
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Location
NW Wisconsin
Posts
7,942
Likes
733
Website
www.hifiplus.com
Quote:
How do you get Jelly Bean??
Depending on the phone it will be pushed put as an upgrade. Android phones are individual in when they receive OS updates.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8750231
Post #794 of 947

Lan647

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
1,283
Reaction score
238
Location
Falkenberg, Sweden
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Location
Falkenberg, Sweden
Posts
1,283
Likes
238
Quote:
Depending on the phone it will be pushed put as an upgrade. Android phones are individual in when they receive OS updates.
 
Yeah I know but I didn't know JB has started shipping out OTA..
 
     Share This Post       
post-8750298
Post #795 of 947

DGriff0400

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
245
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Posts
245
Likes
17
which version s3 do you have? i noticed it has a charging off feature that will preserve the battery life of the phone and power the dac/amp.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top