winamp3
Aug 15, 2002 at 3:16 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

taoster

Headphoneus Supremus
the new winamp 3 is out.

it seems to be a little buggy still but i think its better then ever!!

anyone else enjoying the new winamp 3 as much as i am?

Aug 15, 2002 at 5:03 PM Post #2 of 13
Is it still in beta testing? It looks cool, one thing I want though is the ability to have more than one play list open at once so you could have say all your rock on one list and your easy listening on another and say all your songs on another play list and all open at once. That would be a nice feature IMO.

Aug 15, 2002 at 5:20 PM Post #3 of 13
I have been using it on and off for about 6 months, maybe longer....it does not sound as good as the original winamp with the MAD plugin or the Apollo player. It does look cool though, but the amount of cycles it eats up is ridiculous compared to the other two, and I run a dual Athlon beast with almost 4 gigs of ram...sure I don't see the performance drop but I do see what it eats and that is not good programming in my opinion. Winamp (original+MAD) it is for me!

Aug 15, 2002 at 5:24 PM Post #4 of 13
they released it from beta testing on the 8th apparently.

I personally hate the dam thing. I switched back to the old winamp (2.something). The new one is just bloated, I want simplicity dangit, I don't care about all those fancy new features which are cool for about 30secs before you realise they are useless. And when running a laptop, low CPU usage isn't just nice, it is critical to get good battery life.

This is coming from somebody who still uses the classic windows media player, so keep that in mind. If you have Win XP, type mplayer2 into the run box to get it... ahhh simplicity, and no excess memory useage!

Aug 15, 2002 at 5:41 PM Post #5 of 13