Which IEM are reshell-able?
post-7582522
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 12

Majin

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
543
Reaction score
25
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Posts
543
Likes
25
Are all armature IEM reshell-able? If not does someone have a list of reshell-able IEMs.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7582759
Post #2 of 12

planx

Might be Ironman, or some fat kid.
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
1,942
Reaction score
50
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Posts
1,942
Likes
50
Not EXACTLY sure about specific IEMs... I re-shelled my SCL3 (mid driver), UE TF10 (high driver), and Knowles driver (Bass driver, forgot exact driver name..). Hearing this, you can assume practically every Driver (BA and Dynamic) is "re-shell"able? Depends on which company you ask i guess... I asked Unique Melody through a friend to get mine specially done...
 
     Share This Post       
post-7582763
Post #3 of 12

Sinue

AKA: High-Q
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
40
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Posts
40
Likes
12
I wonder if you can reshell 16mm drivers that are inside Sony IEMs?

 
     Share This Post       
post-7582800
Post #5 of 12

Sinue

AKA: High-Q
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
40
Reaction score
12
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Posts
40
Likes
12
I googled it, and first link shows that it was April Fool's.
  I wonder if I reshell my ER4P, will it still be ER4P??  
 
Quote:
chances are you might be able to. Look at the CT20s by Sleek!! 20 drivers... daaaaamnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn


 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7582848
Post #6 of 12

buffalowings

Went way too far, too many times.
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
4,542
Reaction score
39
Joined
May 14, 2010
Posts
4,542
Likes
39


Quote:
Are all armature IEM reshell-able? If not does someone have a list of reshell-able IEMs.


well, some armature IEMs are a little more special, the crossover points are located in the cable , i forgot which
 
     Share This Post       
post-7582858
Post #7 of 12

planx

Might be Ironman, or some fat kid.
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
1,942
Reaction score
50
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Posts
1,942
Likes
50
hahahaha i tried xD yea its a fake but the reality is, anything is possible if your drivers are working and the company is able to make it into a custom. ER4? urmm not so sure but i'm pretty sure the sound is going to be very similar indeed. The housing and filters may change the sound but you should still be getting the ER4 sound hopefully. Sound isolation may not turn out to be the same when you get it Customized. I strongly recommend you contacting Companies like Unique Melody to ask if your ER4 (+ other drivers?) is do-able...
 
     Share This Post       
post-7584682
Post #8 of 12

Majin

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
543
Reaction score
25
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Posts
543
Likes
25


Quote:
Not EXACTLY sure about specific IEMs... I re-shelled my SCL3 (mid driver), UE TF10 (high driver), and Knowles driver (Bass driver, forgot exact driver name..). Hearing this, you can assume practically every Driver (BA and Dynamic) is "re-shell"able? Depends on which company you ask i guess... I asked Unique Melody through a friend to get mine specially done...

 
did they sound better after reshelling?
 
     Share This Post       
post-7585203
Post #9 of 12

planx

Might be Ironman, or some fat kid.
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
1,942
Reaction score
50
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Posts
1,942
Likes
50


Quote:
 
did they sound better after reshelling?

Couldn't specifically tell if it was an improvement over my SCL3, or the TF10 because i used an assortment of drivers. What i noticed was a very familiar sound from each of the drivers, like the vocals warmth from the SCL3, Clarity and precision from the Highs TF10, and ect.. In a nutshell, yes it sounded much "better" but i think the better term would be "different"
 
     Share This Post       
post-8240833
Post #11 of 12

sari0n

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
469
Reaction score
20
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Posts
469
Likes
20
IEM's that have the crossover in the cable aren't very common, I'm not even sure if there are any universals that have them in the cables.
Pretty much all common BA models are reshellable, like the TF10, Westone 1-4, Westone UM series, Shure Se535's, SM3's.
In my opinion it's not really worth it to get your IEM's reshelled unless you love the sound but really can't get a good fit, or the IEM's are so old that the original shell needs replacing.  Most higher end universal models now, like the Westones, Shures, and SM3v2's have a pretty ergonomic casing that is pretty comfortable to use, and is of better quality (in my opinion) than some of the budget options for reshelling
 
     Share This Post       
post-8241203
Post #12 of 12

Azathoth

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Messages
1,681
Reaction score
16
Joined
Aug 25, 2007
Posts
1,681
Likes
16
The list of IEMs that Unique Melody can reshell:
 
http://uniquemelody.co/lineup/reshell/
 
There's also this additional info:
 
"In addition to the re-shells featured in this line up guide we can also re-shell and upgrade many other of your favourite universal in ear monitors."
 
So you can inquire with them should you have an IEM that's not on their list.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top