Which component is to blame for distortion? .
post-749176
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 8

meech

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
622
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Posts
622
Likes
10
I've noticed some distortion in my system recently. This has become noticable with a pair of new hd650s. I notice it when the music gets a little loud. It almost sound like static and as far as I can remember, these sounds weren't on these cd's before. I was using my RA-1 with a pair RS1s before the 650s. Could it be that the RA-1 doesn't have enough power to drive the 650s?
 
     Share This Post       
post-749212
Post #2 of 8

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
What's your source?
 
     Share This Post       
post-749238
Post #3 of 8

meech

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
622
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Posts
622
Likes
10
Sony SCD-C555ES. I'm having this player modded by SACDmods in about a week or so.
 
     Share This Post       
post-749256
Post #4 of 8

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
wow, lame!!! Yeah, I'd try plugging them into a different amp... Even if it's just the amp on the reciever at least you'll know if it's the headphones...
 
     Share This Post       
post-749470
Post #5 of 8

samhuff

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Posts
29
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally posted by meech
I've noticed some distortion in my system recently. This has become noticable with a pair of new hd650s. I notice it when the music gets a little loud. It almost sound like static and as far as I can remember, these sounds weren't on these cd's before. I was using my RA-1 with a pair RS1s before the 650s. Could it be that the RA-1 doesn't have enough power to drive the 650s?


http://www.headphone.com/layout.php?...tID=0010090000

"The RA1 was designed specifically to drive Grado headphones, and it does that... OK. It is recommended only for use with efficient (low impedance) headphones!"

The Sennheisers are _not_ low impedance headphones.

Neither is responsible for the distortion, it's the combination
 
     Share This Post       
post-749657
Post #6 of 8

bootman

King o'Ping
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
3,308
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
3,308
Likes
10
There are plenty of head-fiers that have used the RA-1/600
combo without any of the problems mentioned.

The 600 and 650 are the exact same impedance.

Did you put in fresh batteries?
 
     Share This Post       
post-749715
Post #7 of 8

grinch

Cognac....icky.Scotch....icky.Vodka....
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Messages
3,077
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Posts
3,077
Likes
11
the volume knob
 
     Share This Post       
post-749854
Post #8 of 8

Harty

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
266
Reaction score
21
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Posts
266
Likes
21
Meech, you are absolutely right abought the sound of the HD650's with the RA-1.

I was also using my HD600's with my RA-1 from my Sony XA777ES CDP, and they sound very natural, but when I recently bought and tried my new HD650's on the RA-1, the sound was grainy and sounded compressed, so I have reverted back to using my HD600's on the RA-1.

As Bootman has said, the HD 600's and HD650's are the same impedance, I think that the HD650's greater clarity over the HD600's, is showing the limitations of the RA-1.

I've put my HD650's back in their box until I can afford a better Amp.

Best wishes,

Paul.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top