Where to plug in phones? (hah)
post-214246
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 5

Kintoun

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Posts
12
Likes
0
Sounds funny but it's a serious question. I do not have an amp for my soon to be 580's, but I have the Boston Acoutics 7800's + TBSC. I was wondering where would be a better place to plug in my phones. Do the 7800's have any amp that could slightly boost the phones? Would it be better for the positioning in games for the TBSC to use headphone output? Is there any difference at all with using headphone output on TBSC vs 7800's jack?

On a side note, I need a good microphone for which to use voice over games. Obviously I don't need a headset, so does neone know of a good mic which can attach to the 580's? Mebby a snake-light approach where I can twist the mic around a side of the 580's? If not then whats a quality mic for voice in games?
 
     Share This Post       
post-214252
Post #2 of 5

Cap'n Dan

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
93
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Posts
93
Likes
0
If the 7800s have a specific headphone jack, try it. It would certainly be easier than going around to the back of the computer, and then having to change audio settings from speakers to headphones. Might be a cleaner sound, too.

I've got the BA7500s... great speakers
 
     Share This Post       
post-214446
Post #3 of 5

Guyferd

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 28, 2002
Posts
1,119
Likes
10
I think if you game religiously then you have to use the jack on ur speaker coz it's more convenient that way.
But if you game once in a while I suggest that you plug them directly coz the more chain in the link will usually result in worse sound.. as when I connect my can to klipsch they sound so bad..
If you want mic, you might wanna purchase a good headset can, like some beyers do sell their headset, which has headphone+mic. It is designed for some djs
 
     Share This Post       
post-214519
Post #4 of 5

Kintoun

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 15, 2002
Posts
12
Likes
0
Well the TBSC has a headphone jack AND front/read speaker jack. Or are you suggesting that I shouldn't have my headphones on all the time? Is there some sort of switch which turns them on or off as they r plugged in? Or is it always on?
 
     Share This Post       
post-214566
Post #5 of 5

dohminator

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2002
Messages
563
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 15, 2002
Posts
563
Likes
0
the software the comes with the tbsc allows you to switch easily between the headphones and speakers. actually, my setup has my headphones plugged into my soundcard pretty much all the time. It isn't a big deal to switch between them.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top