Where is my "bottelneck"
Apr 14, 2011 at 9:29 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

Chris Haigh

New Head-Fier
Hello, I know very little about sound quality really, but more than your average person off the street. I have been through a couple of what I call MP3 players and various headphones and earphones. I started off with a cell phone and some crappy nokia earphones, thinking "wow I love listening to music anywhere"(I was very young). then one day my battery was flat or somthing, and I borrowed my dad's CD player, old valve amplifier and Grados (rs125s I think). Since then I have been on an impossible quest to have high quality sound, for almost no money, in my pocket. After reading great reviews on Sandisk's products I decided to buy the cheapest one in the range(Sansa Express), I would have gone for a better one, but this was all the money I had, and I had been saving up for about 6 months. Then my dad flew to England and brought back some sennheiser ear phones. I loved this set up for a while and all my Rich friends' i-pods sounded far worse to me (of course they didn't know about bit rate or the quality(or lack of) of apple's ear phones). One holiday I got a job and earned enough money to ask my dad to bring back a creative ZEN 4gb from his next trip to England, He brought back the 16gb :). Sorry, I've written far to much of a story here. Anyway, My current set up is a creative ZEN MX, And a pair of sennheiser CX-300 IIs, and occasionally sennheiser HD-201s. is the Zen or my earphones limiting my sound quality? I listen to very fast paced old metal. (metallica, Slayer, Anthrax, megadeth,black sabbath) My biggest problem is that often (especially in slayer) the "notes" are almost mashed together and I loose the ability to define individual strums, rather than a sort of barrage of noise that goes up and down. My dad always says use classical music to test equipment, but something can sound okay on classical music and then not cope with the fast pace of metal, This