Where do I try out all Audioengine A5's, Swan M200, M-Audio BX5a
Apr 2, 2011 at 2:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

shiner980

New Head-Fier
I've been listening to my computer audio from headphones/IEM's (nothing fancy, just HD555's and MTPG's) and I'd like to actually get a pair of speakers for my computer. I'm a college student so I'm not exactly swimming in cash, but I'd like to have something nice to listen to my music with without putting on headphones.

Lurking around, I've seen recommendations for all sorts of speakers, with the main ones of interest being in the title, so my question is this:

Is there a central location (in NYC) where I can try these speakers out; preferably in a more realistic room setting (the idea of going to an Apple store just to try the Bx5a's, while having to go to another store for the A5's, makes me think I'm not going to be able to give a good opinion of which one I'd want). Is there any store that'd even sell/sample Swan's (D1080 or M200)?

Apr 2, 2011 at 5:16 PM Post #2 of 12
Finding the swans might be a more dedicated speaker store since they're kind of like rare imports from China, but you can go to Guitar Center to find things like the BX5a, maybe A5's, KRK's, Mackie's, Yamaha's, etc. Just call the store and they'll tell you if they have any up for auditioning.

You're out of luck for swans from what I can see unless you ship them. Here's a list of places: http://www.swanspeaker.com/purchase/Purchase.asp as you can see they're not even near your state.

Apr 2, 2011 at 11:15 PM Post #3 of 12
Having owned both Audioengine A5 and Swan D1010MKII 08,
I believe both will deliver very good performance when it comes to music.
They sound good with any kind of music genre.
The A5 has a slightly warmer sound and rounder tone, while the Swan is slightly more analytical and has more treble energy.