When do you decide, I need an amp for my headphones?
post-13958216
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 3

timb5881

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
760
Reaction score
955
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Posts
760
Likes
955
So you have a DAC with headphone output, when do you decide I need an amp? Of course if the volume is not enough you need one, but what else do you use to decide?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13958241
Post #2 of 3

TYATYA

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
1,099
Reaction score
349
Location
Center of sound stage
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Location
Center of sound stage
Posts
1,099
Likes
349
Volume is a critical but not only one reason. You need an amp for matching amp-headphone.
If no-load condition of both amp and hp have rase up impedance around 1000hz, it can make a V shape output pair together.
Bcs they are not flat, it is better if have compensative for each other.
Less is more, shorter sound path is better. But SP1000 drives hd800s can, it is not as good as to use an inexpensive amp like darkvoice (tune changed). It is my experience
 
     Share This Post       
post-13959348
Post #3 of 3

Sound Man

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 22, 2016
Messages
22
Reaction score
7
Location
Colorado, United States
Joined
Dec 22, 2016
Location
Colorado, United States
Posts
22
Likes
7
Volume is a critical but not only one reason. You need an amp for matching amp-headphone.
If no-load condition of both amp and hp have rase up impedance around 1000hz, it can make a V shape output pair together.
Bcs they are not flat, it is better if have compensative for each other.
Less is more, shorter sound path is better. But SP1000 drives hd800s can, it is not as good as to use an inexpensive amp like darkvoice (tune changed). It is my experience
Thanks for your answer. I had the very same question as timb5881.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top