what's wrong with my Chaintech AV-710?
post-1393509
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 5

elinkei

Head-Fier
Joined
May 13, 2005
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 13, 2005
Posts
74
Likes
0
I installed my new Chaintech AV-710, and there seems to be alot of crackling.

Im using Cambridge Soundworks speakers that have a front and rear input, so i cant get all 4 speakers to work unless I only have the front input connected to line out. Seems the sound has gone worse from the Aureal Vortex 2 sound card I had in there.

Any suggestions on how to clear up the sound?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1394354
Post #2 of 5

sgrossklass

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
2,803
Reaction score
19
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Posts
2,803
Likes
19
Check out whether the card has to share an IRQ and the setting of the PCI master latency timer. Are you using an nForce2 board together with APIC mode by any chance? A BIOS update may help there.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1394450
Post #3 of 5

elinkei

Head-Fier
Joined
May 13, 2005
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 13, 2005
Posts
74
Likes
0
ooh. sweet reply. I am indeed using an nforce 2 mainboard. But im not sure about the APIC mode. I'll check for revisions to the bios. I there a problem with the av710 and the nforce2 chipset?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1394606
Post #4 of 5

elinkei

Head-Fier
Joined
May 13, 2005
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 13, 2005
Posts
74
Likes
0
hey sgrossklass, thanks for your help. I deleted teh drivers the came on the cd for the AV-710, then downloaded the ones from the website. The sound got better, but I still couldn't get the rear speakers working. Searching the web i came across this

http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=327

and downloaded the via version drivers for the AV-710. and now all the speakers work.

thanks again.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1397505
Post #5 of 5

sgrossklass

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
2,803
Reaction score
19
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Posts
2,803
Likes
19
Quote:

Originally Posted by elinkei
I there a problem with the av710 and the nforce2 chipset?


Not directly, but there have been a number of complaints about sound crackling on nForce2 boards when using APIC mode. The best theory as to their cause I've come across was messed-up MPS tables in the BIOS, as normally Windows NT (including the current 5.x versions) is rock solid when it comes to SMP (and thus APIC support), having been one of the very first PC operating systems to support SMP according to the MPS spec. A while or rather two back I was using a dual Pentium board (GA-586DX) with NT 3.51, and the PCI cards were assigned IRQs 36, 40, 44 and 48, IIRC, so extended interrupt support (as made possible by the APIC) has been included at least since this 10-year-old OS version.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top