What's a good AMP/DAC for Sennheiser HD 700s?
Jun 15, 2015 at 11:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 33

Crixalox

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Posts
20
Likes
0
I'm using a gaming laptop which is Asus ROG G751 JT DH72. It costs close to 2k but not sure if the DAC inside it is anything special. Could someone do some research about the audio inside my laptop and see if I need just an amp or an amp/dac? Also which amp or amp/dac would you recommend? Can you recommend a few? My budget is around 300 max. But would help not spending exactly 300 and up. Can you give multiple recommendations like from 300 dollars to 250 to 200 and so on? Thanks.
 
Note/ This is a repost from before because there wasn't enough or a good enough answer.
 
Jun 16, 2015 at 11:04 AM Post #2 of 33

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Posts
19,501
Likes
2,314
Location
grand rapids, mi
I looked for a minute, and I couldn't find any information about what kind of audio chipset it has.

However, your computer seems to have virtual surround. Do you use that for gaming? Or are you just looking for a dac/amp for music?
 
Jun 16, 2015 at 11:04 PM Post #4 of 33

jodgey4

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 2, 2013
Posts
2,684
Likes
319
What headphones do you have, and do what inputs/outputs do you want/need?
 
Jun 16, 2015 at 11:28 PM Post #5 of 33

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Posts
19,501
Likes
2,314
Location
grand rapids, mi
I'm going to be using these for gaming. It may have whatever sound but it can be turned off or on and when you plug in a headphone/headset it won't matter either way.


So to repeat, does your computer have virtual surround you can use with gaming? If so, do you use that?
 
Jun 17, 2015 at 2:58 PM Post #7 of 33

cel4145

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Posts
19,501
Likes
2,314
Location
grand rapids, mi
Good. If you don't use the virtual surround feature, then you can get either a USB or optical DAC. Gives you more choices :)

You might check out the HD700 thread and see what dac/amp combos people are talking about using with them: http://www.head-fi.org/t/612502/sennheiser-hd-700-impressions-thread
 
Jun 18, 2015 at 9:36 PM Post #9 of 33

inthere

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Posts
2,468
Likes
705
iFi iCan micro has a 3D switch. you could pair that with a Modi
 
Jun 21, 2015 at 1:40 AM Post #15 of 33

jodgey4

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 2, 2013
Posts
2,684
Likes
319
Plug the USB into the DAC, and then get short RCA cables that go from the back of the DAC to the inputs on the amp. I'd go ask on the HD-700 threads for ideas for combined units, if you'd still prefer that.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top