What is the difference between a pro or "stage" monitor and a regular audiophile type IEM?
Apr 19, 2011 at 9:31 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

ishmael

100+ Head-Fier
As the title asks, I'm trying to get an idea of what is meant when people say this or that IEM (usually customs but not always) is more "pro oriented" or "better for use on stage". What exactly does that look like?

I have very little experience with IEMs apart from the Ety ER4S and the Westone W3. I know the Westone W series (for example) has been described as being for "home use" while the UM series and ES series are more of a "pro tool". But not everyone has the same take on what that means. Enhanced treble detail? Or more smooth and non fatiguing? Or more dynamic to help you hear your performance? I could see why various options would make sense, even contradictory options, so that's why I'm asking.

Apr 19, 2011 at 11:06 AM Post #2 of 13
There are probably other differences, but stage monitors would at least be/have:
- custom molded to fit performers ear;
- high isolation from outside noise (or some models are vented);
- extremely durable body;
- replaceable over-the-ear cable to protect against performance sweat, damage, etc.;
- excellent sound quality.

You might notice that a number of head-fi'ers have "stage" monitors have day-to-day listening for several of the above reasons even tho' they are not stage performers.

Apr 19, 2011 at 11:32 AM Post #3 of 13

Quote:
There are probably other differences, but stage monitors would at least be/have: