What are you listening to balanced - on the go?

Page 1 of 2
Next

Last
  1. Mhog55
    Just sitting here trying to picture people walking around with their balanced DAP, and wearing a full size headphone that looks like two cans of corn.
    Kinda curious what unmodified headphones we are using for portable use with our balanced portable source gear. Not a whole lot comes to mind, but I'm relatively new to this madness. I guess I could obtain a balanced cable for the Meze 99s or 1more triple driver over ears. Denon ah-d600s? Those are pretty big. I don't think I'd feel too good about wearing my open back Senns around town, but I'm sure some of you like sporting your Hifimans out and about. I saw a pair of Beyerdynamic Dt1350s with a balanced mod in the classifieds, but I'd rather hear suggestions for non modified, readily available gear.

2. kukkurovaca
    As far as use with balanced DAPs goes, probably most folks are using IEMs with balanced cables. Balanced cables for MMCX and 0.78 2-pin IEMs are readily available at all price points. (I have inexpensive balanced cables on my iSine 20, Massdrop Plus, and iBasso IT01.)

I also have a 2.5mm TRRS cable for my secondhand HD800, and I'll sometimes use those with a DAP or with a portable amp, although I'm not wandering around outside with those, that would be pretty impractical. But any headphone with a detachable cable that connects to the left and right cups independently can be used with a balanced cable. Also, there are some headphones (Oppo PM, Fostex's new T60RP) that are single-entry but will accept a balanced TRRS cable.

3. Rhamnetin
    I've listened to a ZMF Ori connected to a Chord Hugo 2 on the NYC subway. Annoying since the Hugo 2 isn't easy to velcro to a smartphone like the Mojo is.

gimmeheadroom likes this.
  4. Redcarmoose
    60DEDCA6-6ED5-401A-8FCC-90300104B69C.jpeg
    Sony 1Z with 4.4mm balanced N3 IEM

D6B2B442-428B-4DF2-8E54-9446E4AD5180.jpeg
    Mee Adapter 4.4mm balanced with Sony Z5