Watts Up...?
Jul 12, 2022 at 9:34 AM Post #3,541 of 3,628

alxw0w

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Posts
990
Likes
1,357
Location
Poland, Bialystok
After reading many posts regarding the superiority of optical connection, I finally modded my PC to get optical out.
Now here is an issue:
- The optical out has 44, 48, 96 and 192 kHz out.
What happens with 88 kHz stuff, or DSD material transcoded to PCM? i.e. 358 and 384 kHz?
No bit perfect option?
FWIW, does sound a little smoother, not much, a little.
On any DAC! I have tried it on Hugo2 and a Topping DX7 pro.
Optical is working just fine with 88,2khz or 176,4khz, DSD (64) just use DOP.
 
Jul 12, 2022 at 10:20 AM Post #3,543 of 3,628

alxw0w

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 25, 2018
Posts
990
Likes
1,357
Location
Poland, Bialystok
Mine does not work on 88 or 176.
Because I sometimes use DSP, I do not use DoP, I output in PCM.
My other PC has 88, but not 176.
Ohh I just saw that you are using PC.
So it seems like there is some limitation (software/hardware ?)
But it should work with these sample rates without problem.

Ps. Just like @Rob Watts mentioned.
I was also using PC optical out without any problems. So I'm pretty sure that's some software settings that need to be changed.
 
Last edited:
Jul 12, 2022 at 11:56 AM Post #3,544 of 3,628

Rob Watts

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Posts
2,913
Likes
10,349
I have no issues with 88.2 or 176.4 or DoP for DSD64 when using optical on my Win10 PC. The optical rx and tx is on my MSI motherboard. I also had no problems with optical out on my old MSI laptop.
 
Jul 12, 2022 at 12:43 PM Post #3,545 of 3,628

Reactcore

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 17, 2010
Posts
599
Likes
583
Location
The Netherlands
Mine does not work on 88 or 176.
Because I sometimes use DSP, I do not use DoP, I output in PCM.
My other PC has 88, but not 176.
You cant play 88k files.. or dont see a 88k option to choose in software?
 
Jul 12, 2022 at 2:35 PM Post #3,546 of 3,628

ecwl

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Posts
762
Likes
781
Location
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Some desktop Intel/AMD PC motherboard chipsets support Toslink but not at all sampling frequencies. My 2013 desktop chipset only supports 44.1Khz, 48kHz and 96kHz Toslink for some reason and definitely not 88kHz. This is why for people who want to try Toslink, I usually recommend getting a new USB to Toslink converter so they can get 44.1, 48, 88.2, 96, 176.4 and 192kHz. That said, I get very lazy so if I were listening from my main desktop, I frequently don't bother with USB and just plug in the Toslink and I just program my Roon and JRiver to downsample 88 and 176 to 44kHz and 192 to 96kHz. But I rarely do critical listening when using my desktop PC.
 
Jul 16, 2022 at 11:10 AM Post #3,548 of 3,628

feddar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Posts
182
Likes
34
Location
Toronto
I’ve got my TT2 hooked up to single driver speakers with the XLR outputs (SE only), and to a subwoofer with the RCA outputs. Should I use line level or speaker level inputs onto the subwoofer? It is powered. I also assume that I hook up both left and right into the subwoofer.

Thanks once again.
 
Jul 16, 2022 at 11:31 AM Post #3,549 of 3,628

ZappaMan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Posts
2,375
Likes
1,518
Location
dynamo hum
I’ve got my TT2 hooked up to single driver speakers with the XLR outputs (SE only), and to a subwoofer with the RCA outputs. Should I use line level or speaker level inputs onto the subwoofer? It is powered. I also assume that I hook up both left and right into the subwoofer.

Thanks once again.
I had the same questions, the answer I found was, yes both connections to transmit the signal
To the sub and generally speaker level input is better on cam omega hemp
Woofer.
 
Jul 16, 2022 at 11:42 AM Post #3,550 of 3,628

Mediahound

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 22, 2009
Posts
4,158
Likes
1,747
Location
USA
I thought it was not good to have both XLR and the RCA outputs connected at the same time. There’s something in the manual about that I believe.
 
Jul 16, 2022 at 11:48 AM Post #3,551 of 3,628

ZappaMan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Posts
2,375
Likes
1,518
Location
dynamo hum
I thought it was not good to have both XLR and the RCA outputs connected at the same time. There’s something in the manual about that I believe.
It’s fine, I ran it that way for a year, I never ran volume over 0db, mostly around 10-15db high.
 
Jul 16, 2022 at 11:58 AM Post #3,552 of 3,628

feddar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Posts
182
Likes
34
Location
Toronto
I had the same questions, the answer I found was, yes both connections to transmit the signal
To the sub and generally speaker level input is better on cam omega hemp
Woofer.
That is indeed the sub (Omega DeepHemp 8”) that I got to match my wonderful Omega Junior Alnico XLS 6” towers. The 6” speakers broke in really well and yielded more bass over time, but the really low notes were quite lacking in fullness. Now the 6”s sound even better with the sub.

I was using the TT2 on filter 4 before getting the sub, but now I use it on filter 2.

Any hints on adjusting the phase, crossover, and volume settings? I’m currently keeping the crossover at just over minimum (min is 40Hz), the phase where the ‘reverb’ type sound is minimized, and the volume just under where I notice that I have a sub.
 
Jul 16, 2022 at 12:00 PM Post #3,553 of 3,628

feddar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Posts
182
Likes
34
Location
Toronto
I thought it was not good to have both XLR and the RCA outputs connected at the same time. There’s something in the manual about that I believe.
From my understanding, as long as the TT2 doesn’t thermally trip, you are fine.

Care to comment, @Rob Watts, for our peace of mind?
 
Jul 16, 2022 at 12:22 PM Post #3,554 of 3,628

ZappaMan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Posts
2,375
Likes
1,518
Location
dynamo hum
Any hints on adjusting the phase, crossover, and volume settings? I’m currently keeping the crossover at just over minimum (min is 40Hz), the phase where the ‘reverb’ type sound is minimized, and the volume just under where I notice that I have a sub.
None lol, im still tryin my to work it all out. Except phase should be either all one way or the other.

I asked Louis, he said, put the bass dial a good bit up (cut off), not necessarily at the lower end, and to keep the volume low.
 
Last edited:
Jul 16, 2022 at 2:08 PM Post #3,555 of 3,628

Rob Watts

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Posts
2,913
Likes
10,349
From my understanding, as long as the TT2 doesn’t thermally trip, you are fine.

Care to comment, @Rob Watts, for our peace of mind?
Yes you will be fine running XLR and phono RCA at the same time.

Just make sure the XLR input of the sub or amp does not short pins 1 and 3 together - that advice applies whenever you use the XLRs.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top