Walnut Hi-Fi V2 WAV (& MP3) Player by wt - :ok_hand: screenless budget killer combo DAP/Amp :ok_hand:
post-13126050
Post #783 of 3,581

fajrinandro

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
14
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Posts
36
Likes
14
So.....
Ijust heard the default walnut sd card chinese song provided by iJay (because mine doesn't come with it), and it's amazingly refreshing and calm playlist. I can be sure now, that my walnut can play the wav files (i only have 320 mp3 and flac colletion). If only i can understand the lyric, it'll be perfect :grin:

 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: iJay
post-13126275
Post #785 of 3,581

musicday

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
7,265
Reaction score
1,757
Location
South London, UK
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Location
South London, UK
Posts
7,265
Likes
1,757
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: vapman
post-13126720
Post #788 of 3,581

big45-70

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Messages
191
Reaction score
87
Joined
Nov 3, 2013
Posts
191
Likes
87
How do I buy one of these?
 
*edit
 
Never mind I found multiple with google-fu
 
     Share This Post       
post-13127158
Post #789 of 3,581

Spider fan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
245
Reaction score
78
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Posts
245
Likes
78
Lol, wow finally tried it as an amp.  I am about to watch Vikings on my laptop using my hifime 9018 Dac > walnut > HD600.  I can only turn it from like 7(no volume) to 9 and it is bordering on too loud.  Stopped my show and pulled up foobar and I could only go from 7 to 8 and its super loud.  Obviously, at that point I turned down my computer so I could use more of the walnut's volume pot.  This thing is a powerful beast. 
 
Sucks for my Matrix M-stage I just got last week.  The walnut is a million times more convenient to use and at this point seems more powerful.  Not that that matters since both get way beyond what I would I would listen too.  Will be interesting to A/B between them for sound quality.  All I know so far is I enjoy what I hear out of both of them and that is all that really matters in the end.
 
Still cant believe I was walking around the house listening to my Zen 2.0s out of a dap.   I've never done that because I didn't want to lug around an amp too.
 
Whenever its apparent the maker is on their final version,  I will buy a few extra to tuck away for the future.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: nick n
post-13127315
Post #790 of 3,581

avitron142

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
836
Reaction score
1,066
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Posts
836
Likes
1,066
I just got my Walnut, it's really, really good. Detail is absolutely on point, and I'm not even bothered by the slight "digitalness" (it is very slight) that the others have mentioned. It's an excellent pairing with the Pinnacle P1, and really punches way above its price range.
 
Only problem is, returning to listening with the P1 with my computer, I think I'm noticing a slight channel imbalance, which is worrying the heck out of me. It could be my computer, my ears (just took a shower), or anything else that doesn't have to do with the headphone, but I can't help but think... is it possible that the high impedance output or the popping signal ruined my headphones? I really loved the P1, and it could be I'm imagining this, but I'm kind of scared of the possibility. 

 
     Share This Post       
post-13127321
Post #791 of 3,581

vapman

Member of the Trade: bhobuds.com
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
8,365
Reaction score
2,436
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Posts
8,365
Likes
2,436
  I just got my Walnut, it's really, really good. Detail is absolutely on point, and I'm not even bothered by the slight "digitalness" (it is very slight) that the others have mentioned. It's an excellent pairing with the Pinnacle P1, and really punches way above its price range.
 
Only problem is, returning to listening with the P1 with my computer, I think I'm noticing a slight channel imbalance, which is worrying the heck out of me. It could be my computer, my ears (just took a shower), or anything else that doesn't have to do with the headphone, but I can't help but think... is it possible that the high impedance output or the popping signal ruined my headphones? I really loved the P1, and it could be I'm imagining this, but I'm kind of scared of the possibility. 
The high impedance -might- make a difference (just assuming because they're in ears) but the pop shouldn't damage anything. If you are worried you could plug in some crappy headphones after first power on, so that "absorbs" the pop.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13127349
Post #792 of 3,581

avitron142

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
836
Reaction score
1,066
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Posts
836
Likes
1,066
  The high impedance -might- make a difference (just assuming because they're in ears) but the pop shouldn't damage anything. If you are worried you could plug in some crappy headphones after first power on, so that "absorbs" the pop.
Yes, but they aren't BA's, they're a single dynamic driver. I just hope I'm just imagining things as I'm tired, and didn't destroy part of the drivers in any way xP They pair excellently together, and sound absolutely phenomenal, but I kind of want to also keep the headphones intact, you know? 

 
     Share This Post       
post-13127380
Post #793 of 3,581

vapman

Member of the Trade: bhobuds.com
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
8,365
Reaction score
2,436
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Posts
8,365
Likes
2,436
  Yes, but they aren't BA's, they're a single dynamic driver. I just hope I'm just imagining things as I'm tired, and didn't destroy part of the drivers in any way xP They pair excellently together, and sound absolutely phenomenal, but I kind of want to also keep the headphones intact, you know? 
I hear you. If you're using any IEM you should probably use the digital volume control by holding "Prev" to lower the volume. If you're using it as an amp, well, you would probably need to turn down your source considerably as it runs at full power which makes full size headphones get uncomfortably loud.... it will blow out IEMs at max volume!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13127401
Post #794 of 3,581

avitron142

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
836
Reaction score
1,066
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Posts
836
Likes
1,066
  I hear you. If you're using any IEM you should probably use the digital volume control by holding "Prev" to lower the volume. If you're using it as an amp, well, you would probably need to turn down your source considerably as it runs at full power which makes full size headphones get uncomfortably loud.... it will blow out IEMs at max volume!
For sure! I kept the knob at very low, adjusted the digital volume, and then raised the physical knob when necessary - which, by the way, turns very smoothly, and has a very accurate level of resistance. Thanks for helping my make the choice to buy this, it's a superb DAP for sure!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13127485
Post #795 of 3,581

flamesofarctica

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
450
Reaction score
216
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Posts
450
Likes
216
The high impedance -might- make a difference (just assuming because they're in ears) but the pop shouldn't damage anything. If you are worried you could plug in some crappy headphones after first power on, so that "absorbs" the pop.

I managed to turn off my Walnut with my Asura in, scary, and then forgot about the pop when I plugged them in to check they were ok. I won't make that mistake again, but I think they're ok.

Can't say I wasn't warned.

With a lack of 'phones I really hate I think I'll save the one set of Monks I've been using (I have so many spare sets) as my 'Walnut absorbers' for first plug in. They're no wimps anyway, I'm sure they can withstand it!! But I really won't be turning on / off with 'phones in again, it wasn't very pleasant :-D
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)

Top