Walnut Hi-Fi V2 WAV (& MP3) Player by wt - :ok_hand: screenless budget killer combo DAP/Amp :ok_hand:
post-14504052
Post #3,466 of 3,580

Themilkman46290

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
565
Reaction score
481
Location
Earth
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Location
Earth
Posts
565
Likes
481
Hi Team

I bought my walnut v2 back in february or march, since then my lifes been pretty hectic and i havent had time to sort through this whole thread. I just dusted this player off and plugged my headphones in, still sounds great to me..... Once issue, no hold feature... is there something i can do to add a hold button? have software updates given a hold feature? My v2 is the 3 buttno version... or do i need to go shopping for a different player?

thanks!
What do youean by hold, you mean like lock or pause, if your worried about buttons being press, I just made a leather case for mine and problem solved, or you could by another player
 
     Share This Post       
post-14504054
Post #3,467 of 3,580

simko

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Location
Canada
Posts
19
Likes
2
Yes exactly i meant to lock the buttons when it is in my pocket. good idea about leather case, any chance i could see a photo of yours?
if that doesnt work, i might start researching a similar player, although may search for something with a screen or some kind of display (unsure of walnut v3 though).
thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-14504066
Post #3,468 of 3,580

Themilkman46290

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
565
Reaction score
481
Location
Earth
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Location
Earth
Posts
565
Likes
481
Sure, if you do get another player, and you want to keep the diy possibilities, I can fully suggest the zishan z3 but I read allot of people have problems with Walnut v3 ( I almost bought it too)
Here's a pic15378764210274615354253414980110.jpg
 
post-14504072
Post #3,469 of 3,580

simko

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Location
Canada
Posts
19
Likes
2
Thanks for the picture, im going to look through my scrap leather and see if i have anything large enough to make a case.
To be honest, read the initial part of the walnut v2 thread and chose it because it was cheap, seems to be of good quality, and that is it. I dont have the discerning ear that a lot of people on this site seem to have, i listen to podcasts and music using cheap earbuds such as the magnetic ones from amazon, cheap phillips brand earbuds from discount stores (winners, marshalls) and some cheap iems that i bought from aliexpress. I'm not exactly sure what kind of DIY mods people are doing to the walnut, i would love to learn about that but not sure where a beginner can start learning about those mods. I don't even know if i would benefit from those mods
 
     Share This Post       
post-14519089
Post #3,471 of 3,580

DBaldock9

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,188
Reaction score
4,033
Location
Houston, TX USA
Joined
May 11, 2016
Location
Houston, TX USA
Posts
3,188
Likes
4,033
Website
www.flickr.com
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: LaughMoreDaily
post-14525271
Post #3,473 of 3,580

yangian

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
2,612
Reaction score
321
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Posts
2,612
Likes
321
I may not have any IEMs that are as sensitive as the ZSR, but I haven't heard any hiss with any of my IEMs (12Ω - 80Ω), when using these budget DAP/DAC/Amps.

The output impedance is determined by the value of the resistors on the circuit board, that are in series between the output pins of the op-amps, and the output jacks.
NOTE: There will also be output series capacitors, so you'll have to trace the circuits from the jack, or the op-amp, to find the series resistors.
These devices have 100Ω series resistors.
If you want to reduce it to ~9Ω, you can solder 10Ω 1/4W resistors on top of the 100Ω resistors.

Reducing the op-amp circuit gain, just allows you to turn the Volume pot up more, so that it's operating in its more linear, and better channel tracking range.
I use NX1 with V2S and they work much better for low impedance IEMs.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: DBaldock9
post-14526622
Post #3,475 of 3,580

yangian

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
2,612
Reaction score
321
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Posts
2,612
Likes
321
No hiss when you use the NX1 through V2S?

what if i use V2S with my laptop. will I hear hiss when using low impedence IEM?
Normal hiss. No serious. I didn't try V2S as amplifier for laptop. But I try it for certain DAC and It's fine. I don't use it for its high Z impedance.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14527125
Post #3,476 of 3,580

aspire5550

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
110
Reaction score
180
Joined
May 30, 2015
Posts
110
Likes
180
Normal hiss. No serious. I didn't try V2S as amplifier for laptop. But I try it for certain DAC and It's fine. I don't use it for its high Z impedance.
I plan to use it as a dac/amp from my laptop, will there be a problem?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14527240
Post #3,477 of 3,580

Taishaku

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
Brazil
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Location
Brazil
Posts
7
Likes
3
I plan to use it as a dac/amp from my laptop, will there be a problem?
I use my V2s mainly as an amp for my laptop and can say I have no problems at all - its excellent IMO. It sounds great, no issues at all. I do use Equalizer APO and Foobar as well on my laptop. FYI, the V2s actually functions in two ways when used with a computer/laptop. Option 1. Using the line input (3.5mm lead from laptop to V2s). Option 2. As a sound card (overriding the laptop sound card) via the USB cable provided. Option 1 works best, perfect. Option 2 'crackles and pops' intermittently which spoils the sound. Using option 2, it charges and acts as a sound card simultaneously - it downloads a driver first time you connect it. I find option 1 the best choice for my laptop. I use Superlux HD668B and Philips SHE3590BK.

Rgds T
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14540188
Post #3,479 of 3,580

aspire5550

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
110
Reaction score
180
Joined
May 30, 2015
Posts
110
Likes
180
I use my V2s mainly as an amp for my laptop and can say I have no problems at all - its excellent IMO. It sounds great, no issues at all. I do use Equalizer APO and Foobar as well on my laptop. FYI, the V2s actually functions in two ways when used with a computer/laptop. Option 1. Using the line input (3.5mm lead from laptop to V2s). Option 2. As a sound card (overriding the laptop sound card) via the USB cable provided. Option 1 works best, perfect. Option 2 'crackles and pops' intermittently which spoils the sound. Using option 2, it charges and acts as a sound card simultaneously - it downloads a driver first time you connect it. I find option 1 the best choice for my laptop. I use Superlux HD668B and Philips SHE3590BK.

Rgds T
I would say NO
I just got a Zishan Z2, is it normal to observe some delay when watching video/movies from my laptop?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top