Walnut Hi-Fi V2 WAV (& MP3) Player by wt - :ok_hand: screenless budget killer combo DAP/Amp :ok_hand:
post-14387458
Post #3,451 of 3,580

DBaldock9

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,188
Reaction score
4,032
Location
Houston, TX USA
Joined
May 11, 2016
Location
Houston, TX USA
Posts
3,188
Likes
4,032
Website
www.flickr.com
Yes they are all 100+ ohm players, you can mod them adding resistors, I want to do it to the z1 and Walnut v2 but have not gotten around to it yet, the problem is the volume pot has a tendency to get too loud too quick, this is why I suggested that z3, it's also 100ohm but it has a lot better volume control for sensitive iems like the zsr, I can't use zsr on z1 or Walnut v2 as players, distortion and volume is too much, they work like amps better but still you have to turn volume up past 35-40 percent and at that point they get a bit of hiss. It's better in the z3, less hiss and lower volume
I'm not sure whether I tried using my V2 as a USB DAC, before I disassembled it (and it's not reassembled, yet).
But, the Z2 & Z3 will both work as a USB DAC on Windows 10 PCs, using the driver that's provided in the OS - so you don't have to install a driver (which is handy, when you don't have Admin rights to install drivers on a work PC).

One issue I have with the Z3, is that every time I get the settings the way I want them - if I use it as a USB DAC, when I unplug it (whether I turn it off first, or not), the settings all revert back to default - which means an Asian language on the display. So, I've memorized which Menu item I have to select, and which sub-Menu item will change the language back to English.

On any of these DAP/DAC/Amps - you should be able to reduce the gain of the op-amp circuit, by soldering 10KΩ - 15KΩ 1/4W resistors across pins 1 & 2, and pins 6 & 7 of the op-amp socket.
I know this mod works on the Walnut F1 amp (on the op-amp, not the differential line drivers for the Balanced output).
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: D0rk!n
post-14387540
Post #3,452 of 3,580

aspire5550

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 30, 2015
Messages
110
Reaction score
180
Joined
May 30, 2015
Posts
110
Likes
180
Yes they are all 100+ ohm players, you can mod them adding resistors, I want to do it to the z1 and Walnut v2 but have not gotten around to it yet, the problem is the volume pot has a tendency to get too loud too quick, this is why I suggested that z3, it's also 100ohm but it has a lot better volume control for sensitive iems like the zsr, I can't use zsr on z1 or Walnut v2 as players, distortion and volume is too much, they work like amps better but still you have to turn volume up past 35-40 percent and at that point they get a bit of hiss. It's better in the z3, less hiss and lower volume
So does that mean that if i use them as usb DAC/AMP , they will have hiss sound on the lower impedence iem?
May I know what do you mean by distortion and volume is too much when you use zsr on those as players? Is players the same as using them as dac+amp?

I'm not sure whether I tried using my V2 as a USB DAC, before I disassembled it (and it's not reassembled, yet).
But, the Z2 & Z3 will both work as a USB DAC on Windows 10 PCs, using the driver that's provided in the OS - so you don't have to install a driver (which is handy, when you don't have Admin rights to install drivers on a work PC).

One issue I have with the Z3, is that every time I get the settings the way I want them - if I use it as a USB DAC, when I unplug it (whether I turn it off first, or not), the settings all revert back to default - which means an Asian language on the display. So, I've memorized which Menu item I have to select, and which sub-Menu item will change the language back to English.

On any of these DAP/DAC/Amps - you should be able to reduce the gain of the op-amp circuit, by soldering 10KΩ - 15KΩ 1/4W resistors across pins 1 & 2, and pins 6 & 7 of the op-amp socket.
I know this mod works on the Walnut F1 amp (on the op-amp, not the differential line drivers for the Balanced output).
If i'm not mistaken, lowering the gain of the op-amp circuit != lowering the output impedence right?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14387995
Post #3,453 of 3,580

DBaldock9

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,188
Reaction score
4,032
Location
Houston, TX USA
Joined
May 11, 2016
Location
Houston, TX USA
Posts
3,188
Likes
4,032
Website
www.flickr.com
So does that mean that if i use them as usb DAC/AMP , they will have hiss sound on the lower impedence iem?
May I know what do you mean by distortion and volume is too much when you use zsr on those as players? Is players the same as using them as dac+amp?



If i'm not mistaken, lowering the gain of the op-amp circuit != lowering the output impedence right?
I may not have any IEMs that are as sensitive as the ZSR, but I haven't heard any hiss with any of my IEMs (12Ω - 80Ω), when using these budget DAP/DAC/Amps.

The output impedance is determined by the value of the resistors on the circuit board, that are in series between the output pins of the op-amps, and the output jacks.
NOTE: There will also be output series capacitors, so you'll have to trace the circuits from the jack, or the op-amp, to find the series resistors.
These devices have 100Ω series resistors.
If you want to reduce it to ~9Ω, you can solder 10Ω 1/4W resistors on top of the 100Ω resistors.

Reducing the op-amp circuit gain, just allows you to turn the Volume pot up more, so that it's operating in its more linear, and better channel tracking range.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14389006
Post #3,454 of 3,580

LaughMoreDaily

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Messages
2,436
Reaction score
951
Location
Canada
Joined
Dec 26, 2016
Location
Canada
Posts
2,436
Likes
951
I can't use zsr on z1 or Walnut v2 as players, distortion and volume is too much, they work like amps better but still you have to turn volume up past 35-40 percent and at that point they get a bit of hiss. It's better in the z3, less hiss and lower volume
Thanks for the post. I've never heard (or maybe I forgot) that some IEMs are too sensitive for Z1, V2, etc.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14393401
Post #3,455 of 3,580

Themilkman46290

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
565
Reaction score
481
Location
Earth
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Location
Earth
Posts
565
Likes
481
Thanks for the post. I've never heard (or maybe I forgot) that some IEMs are too sensitive for Z1, V2, etc.
Yes but the hiss is minor most noticable when watching movies, the bigger problem is when using as a dap, volume is way to high
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: LaughMoreDaily
post-14420278
Post #3,456 of 3,580

Taishaku

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
Brazil
Joined
Aug 3, 2018
Location
Brazil
Posts
7
Likes
3
Hi, excellent review REALLY appreciate the detailed info especially regarding Foobar2000. Very, very helpful and am awaiting delivery of a V2s right now. I wanted to ask where on Foobar2000 is it possible to change the sample rate? I'm most likely missing something or cannot see it however I have really looked and cannot find a way to change the sample rate (yet)!. I'm converting FLAC > WAV (for a MicroSD ready to play when I get the V2s) and all my FLACs are 24bit/96KHz and I need WAV 16/44.1 or 48. As mentioned, I can change the bit rate but not the sample rate.

Cheers and thanks again for the information/your review - so helpful!

T.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14423575
Post #3,457 of 3,580

Themilkman46290

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
565
Reaction score
481
Location
Earth
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Location
Earth
Posts
565
Likes
481
I may not have any IEMs that are as sensitive as the ZSR, but I haven't heard any hiss with any of my IEMs (12Ω - 80Ω), when using these budget DAP/DAC/Amps.

The output impedance is determined by the value of the resistors on the circuit board, that are in series between the output pins of the op-amps, and the output jacks.
NOTE: There will also be output series capacitors, so you'll have to trace the circuits from the jack, or the op-amp, to find the series resistors.
These devices have 100Ω series resistors.
If you want to reduce it to ~9Ω, you can solder 10Ω 1/4W resistors on top of the 100Ω resistors.

Reducing the op-amp circuit gain, just allows you to turn the Volume pot up more, so that it's operating in its more linear, and better channel tracking range.
You're right, hissing was from source I was using, sorry about that, but either way, they do distortion a bit with low impedance iems, specially if listening on louder volume as a dap. No distortion with high impedance buds or cans
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: DBaldock9
post-14427587
Post #3,458 of 3,580

D0rk!n

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 4, 2017
Messages
24
Reaction score
49
Location
Philippines
Joined
Jun 4, 2017
Location
Philippines
Posts
24
Likes
49
Hi, excellent review REALLY appreciate the detailed info especially regarding Foobar2000. Very, very helpful and am awaiting delivery of a V2s right now. I wanted to ask where on Foobar2000 is it possible to change the sample rate? I'm most likely missing something or cannot see it however I have really looked and cannot find a way to change the sample rate (yet)!. I'm converting FLAC > WAV (for a MicroSD ready to play when I get the V2s) and all my FLACs are 24bit/96KHz and I need WAV 16/44.1 or 48. As mentioned, I can change the bit rate but not the sample rate.

Cheers and thanks again for the information/your review - so helpful!

T.
add a resampler when encoding/converting.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Taishaku
post-14437716
Post #3,460 of 3,580

cinvi

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Germany
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Location
Germany
Posts
9
Likes
2
Hi, excellent review REALLY appreciate the detailed info especially regarding Foobar2000. Very, very helpful and am awaiting delivery of a V2s right now. I wanted to ask where on Foobar2000 is it possible to change the sample rate? I'm most likely missing something or cannot see it however I have really looked and cannot find a way to change the sample rate (yet)!. I'm converting FLAC > WAV (for a MicroSD ready to play when I get the V2s) and all my FLACs are 24bit/96KHz and I need WAV 16/44.1 or 48. As mentioned, I can change the bit rate but not the sample rate.

Cheers and thanks again for the information/your review - so helpful!

T.
But the V2s handles FLAC perfectly fine, the V2 however doesn’t. No need to convert the files at all.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Taishaku
post-14496308
Post #3,462 of 3,580

hale93

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Posts
7
Likes
0
Hi, might be a old topic, but I have just gotten V2s wanted to try it, I have FLAC files, but anyone has like a manual on how to add the music onto the micro SD card, I have seen the tutorial of the V2 , but the V2s like someone said it reads FLAC files? I have tried to make folders to see if it would jump to the next folder of music but it would not, and it is all FLAC files too. When skipping to the next folder the music would just jump to the beginning of the song and would not go to the next music folder. Do I just add all the music onto the SD card? Thanks in advance, and any help will do thanks
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14502528
Post #3,463 of 3,580

Nazarghhh

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Sep 24, 2018
Location
Malaysia
Posts
1
Likes
0
Hi all,i'm new to this dap/dac thing,would like suggestion from u guys on a few things... I'm currently torn between walnut v2s and xduoo x2,i would like to know,which of these two i should buy,a few friends suggested for me to get a higher end player in the form of x20,shanling etc,but i'm on a thight budget and i don't want to rush into things,and would prefer to start with an entry level player and to learn and understand slowly on dap's and what not.Base on your experiences which is the better choice? Fyi i'm currently using kz zs3,which of these two is more suitable for iem and i don't care much for display screens,it's a plus if it has one but my main choice would be playbacks and the sounds.Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-14503962
Post #3,464 of 3,580

Themilkman46290

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Messages
565
Reaction score
481
Location
Earth
Joined
Feb 23, 2018
Location
Earth
Posts
565
Likes
481
Well the Walnut is really powerful, I don't know much about the xduoo X2, but allot of people really like the X3 especially rockboxed, it's a bit more but you could pick it up used, I love my little Walnut but I don't use it as a player with low impedance iems (dangerously loud, more distortion, specially anything with balanced armature) as an amp it's pretty good, and a deal for that price but if only want a player, and will be using it with low impedance iems then you might want the X2 or save up for a rockboxed X3, but some people like it with low impedance buds and iems, i would stay away from fiio, terrible u.i. crashed and froze all day, I haven't personally tried allot of xduoo but I remember the X10 sounded really good
 
     Share This Post       
post-14504046
Post #3,465 of 3,580

simko

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Location
Canada
Posts
19
Likes
2
Hi Team

I bought my walnut v2 back in february or march, since then my lifes been pretty hectic and i havent had time to sort through this whole thread. I just dusted this player off and plugged my headphones in, still sounds great to me..... Once issue, no hold feature... is there something i can do to add a hold button? have software updates given a hold feature? My v2 is the 3 buttno version... or do i need to go shopping for a different player?

thanks!
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top