Walnut Hi-Fi V2 WAV (& MP3) Player by wt - :ok_hand: screenless budget killer combo DAP/Amp :ok_hand:
post-13652315
Post #3,271 of 3,580

noknok23

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
763
Reaction score
373
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Location
Netherlands
Posts
763
Likes
373
That would have been brilliant, a true balanced amp with balanced input...
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Ynot1
post-13655256
Post #3,272 of 3,580

Ver JJ

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
304
Reaction score
96
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Location
Malaysia
Posts
304
Likes
96
Anyone getting the F1 planning to mod the input to accept balance input?

I wonder if they could just make it balance input with an adapter to do se.
That would have been brilliant, a true balanced amp with balanced input...
Highly doubt a interconnect cable that terminates at 2.5mm balanced at both end exist................. well at least I had never seen one before..............
 
     Share This Post       
post-13655368
Post #3,273 of 3,580

noknok23

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
763
Reaction score
373
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Location
Netherlands
Posts
763
Likes
373
Highly doubt a interconnect cable that terminates at 2.5mm balanced at both end exist................. well at least I had never seen one before..............
Well I'm sure has seen one somewhere. Anyway, it's not like hard to do one by yourself :)
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Ver JJ
post-13655914
Post #3,274 of 3,580

silverfishla

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
1,441
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,649
Likes
1,441
Anyone getting the F1 planning to mod the input to accept balance input?

I wonder if they could just make it balance input with an adapter to do se.
I don't think that will work.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: DBaldock9
post-13655979
Post #3,275 of 3,580

DBaldock9

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,224
Reaction score
4,108
Location
Houston, TX USA
Joined
May 11, 2016
Location
Houston, TX USA
Posts
3,224
Likes
4,108
Website
www.flickr.com
Anyone getting the F1 planning to mod the input to accept balance input?

I wonder if they could just make it balance input with an adapter to do se.
That would require re-engineering the input stage of the amplifier, to "float" the L(-) & R(-) signals, since they're currently both connected to the common GND of the F1 - and they would be separate on the Balanced output of the source device.
Once the circuit etches are modified for the input wiring, you'd need to find and install a 4-pole volume control, in-place of the 2-pole unit.
You would then have to modify the circuitry around the Op-Amp socket, so that you can install a differential output device, in-place of the single-ended Op-Amp that's currently in the circuit.
The gain structure of the Balanced vs Un-Balanced input stage may also need to be modified.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13660012
Post #3,277 of 3,580

macky112

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
635
Reaction score
152
Location
SoCal
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Location
SoCal
Posts
635
Likes
152
This kind of reminds me of the time they soldered the opamp.
Which do you prefer se input or balance input?
at Walnut F1 amp's price point, its target customers are probably "commoners" like myself, curious about balanced drive, but doesnt have the finance to dive into a balanced DAP or balanced drive amp. and so us "commoners" prefer SE input and Balanced drive output in the F1 to get our feet wet =P
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: trellus
post-13660563
Post #3,278 of 3,580

Ynot1

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
672
Reaction score
149
Location
USA, Cook County
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Location
USA, Cook County
Posts
672
Likes
149
Someone is hacking on my ipad. It feels like they are bufferring my keystrokes to get a head start on what Iam about to say.
I heard facebook monitors keystrokes before you even enter the message.

Anyway I saw Penon selling a 3.5 to 2.5 trrs adapter so if the input is balance I think it shouldn't matter.
Though a se to balance adapter probably is something else altogether.
But a balance input should accept se converted to balance. It just might cost more.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13660692
Post #3,279 of 3,580

DBaldock9

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,224
Reaction score
4,108
Location
Houston, TX USA
Joined
May 11, 2016
Location
Houston, TX USA
Posts
3,224
Likes
4,108
Website
www.flickr.com
Someone is hacking on my ipad. It feels like they are bufferring my keystrokes to get a head start on what Iam about to say.
I heard facebook monitors keystrokes before you even enter the message.

Anyway I saw Penon selling a 3.5 to 2.5 trrs adapter so if the input is balance I think it shouldn't matter.
Though a se to balance adapter probably is something else altogether.
But a balance input should accept se converted to balance. It just might cost more.
The F1 has a Single-Ended Input, driving an OPA2134 dual Op-Amp, which can be swapped, like the ones in the Walnut v2 and Zishan Z1.
From looking at the photos of the amp, it looks like the Op-Amp then drives a pair of TI Burr Brown DRV134PA single-ended to balanced drivers [ http://www.ti.com/product/DRV134 ].

The issue with trying to connect a Balanced source to the Single-Ended input of the F1 - is that balanced outputs are four separate signals (L+),(L-),(R+),(R-).
Since the (L-) & (R-) signals can't be shorted together, without damaging the output amps in the Source, they have to be kept separate.

So, while you can drive balanced loads with a single-ended output - you can't (easily) drive a single-ended load with a balanced output.
 
post-13664885
Post #3,282 of 3,580

DBaldock9

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,224
Reaction score
4,108
Location
Houston, TX USA
Joined
May 11, 2016
Location
Houston, TX USA
Posts
3,224
Likes
4,108
Website
www.flickr.com
Can someone tell me if the Walnut V2 can use a 2.5 tttrs jack?

Sorry if this is a dumb or nonsensical question, I'm new to this audio tech stuff.
The Audio Input and Output of the Walnut V2 is Single-Ended 3.5mm TRS.
You can connect a 3.5mm TRS Plug -to- 2.5mm TRRS Jack Adapter, which will allow you to listen to Balanced Earphones from the Single-Ended output.
But, you can't connect a Balanced (TRRS) source to the Single-Ended (TRS) input, without shorting the (L-) & (R-) signals to GND.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13664939
Post #3,283 of 3,580

Gregjh

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 11, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Bangkok,Thailand
Joined
Aug 11, 2017
Location
Bangkok,Thailand
Posts
2
Likes
0
The Audio Input and Output of the Walnut V2 is Single-Ended 3.5mm TRS.
You can connect a 3.5mm TRS Plug -to- 2.5mm TRRS Jack Adapter, which will allow you to listen to Balanced Earphones from the Single-Ended output.
But, you can't connect a Balanced (TRRS) source to the Single-Ended (TRS) input, without shorting the (L-) & (R-) signals to GND.
Thank you, I'll just get the standard edition VE Monk SPC to listen to it, then :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-13665894
Post #3,285 of 3,580

macky112

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
635
Reaction score
152
Location
SoCal
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Location
SoCal
Posts
635
Likes
152
Power out comparison between V2 and F1?
i think the real question is:
who ordered an F1 and has anyone that ordered received theirs yet?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top