Using my Headphone Amp in Japan
Jul 2, 2005 at 12:47 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Icarium

Headphoneus Supremus
So I am in Japan for 2.5 month and thus naturally brought my headphone
amp with me. It's a old model Headroom Homeroom amp.. basically
I was wondering how to best utilize it with Japanese outlets.

For one thing they are all two prong.. I expected this and brought
a couple of 3 prong -> 2 prong converters. Of course I stupidly
forgot my power cable so I have to try to buy one of these.

So the main different I know is that Japanese outlets are 100V while
US ones are more like 120V... so my question is.. is the 2-3 prong converter
enough? Like will the outlet power my amp sufficiently and safely with
an emphasis on safely really as these amps aren't cheap.. I don't see it
hurting it but I am no expert.

If the answer to both is no... well I am thinking about getting
something like this:
http://www.buytravelconverter.com/tr...120v/index.asp

what wattage should I go for? And what other power differences
will affect me? I heard that AC hertz is different and that explains
why my alarm clock isn't working well with the stockoutlet.. does that
affect me? And anything else? Will try googling myself but am hoping
someone can help me out. Thanks.

Jul 4, 2005 at 1:25 PM Post #3 of 7
Thanks for the reply... I did but didn't receive a reply either of the
two times I emailed them which I thought was pretty strange since
in the past they have been pretty good about responding to random
newbie audio questions.

I thought my spam filter mighta eaten them but... nope!

Jul 9, 2005 at 4:35 PM Post #4 of 7