Using HDMI -> line-out from Computer Monitor as DAC
post-7690012
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 17

SpringHalo

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 23, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
I'd really like to get a DAC for my computer, or at least something that improves upon the default headphone jack.The new monitor I just bought [Dell ST2420L] Has an audio output from HDMI and I was wondering if that would be improvement enough to justify the purchase of an HDMI cable [To use instead of DVI-D]
 
Currently I only listen to music through my iPod to a CmoyBB and into M50s and RE0s, but would like to also be able to use them with my computer.
 
EDIT: If not, I'm considering making a bantam DAC
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690021
Post #2 of 17

buffalowings

Went way too far, too many times.
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
4,542
Reaction score
39
Joined
May 14, 2010
Posts
4,542
Likes
39


Quote:
I'd really like to get a DAC for my computer, or at least something that improves upon the default headphone jack.The new monitor I just bought [Dell ST2420L] Has an audio output from HDMI and I was wondering if that would be improvement enough to justify the purchase of an HDMI cable [To use instead of DVI-D]
 
Currently I only listen to music through my iPod to a CmoyBB and into M50s and RE0s, but would like to also be able to use them with my computer.

HDMI mode is used for the visual improvements, why connect headphones through the monitor when you could simply use the HDMI cable for the monitor and the headphones plugged into the computer itself (you have to set it so volume goes through the phones instead of to the monitor
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690036
Post #3 of 17

SpringHalo

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 23, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
I'm saying that I want a DAC because my computer headphone/speaker jacks don't sound good. I need a jack to plug my amp into, and was wondering if the monitor would be a good source for the amp, as apposed to the computer audio, which has volume control.
 
EDIT: HDMI and DVI have the same video quality anyways.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690055
Post #4 of 17

buffalowings

Went way too far, too many times.
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
4,542
Reaction score
39
Joined
May 14, 2010
Posts
4,542
Likes
39

 
Quote:
I'm saying that I want a DAC because my computer headphone/speaker jacks don't sound good. I need a jack to plug my amp into, and was wondering if the monitor would be a good source for the amp, as apposed to the computer audio, which has volume control.
 
EDIT: HDMI and DVI have the same video quality anyways.

shusshhhhh... no cable talk tom foolery here 
 
i'm not sure if hdmi is really better, but a $6.00 cable was something i was more than willing to purchase for the possibility of a better display, anywho,either way, you would be looking for a upgraded sound card of a dac/amp combo since volume is still going through the motherboards soundcard before being played through the monitor
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690064
Post #5 of 17

SpringHalo

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 23, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
Are you sure? I swore HDMI was digital, and thus unable to transfer amplified sound. Plus, the HDMI would be plugged into my Radeon 6850 graphics card.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690076
Post #6 of 17

buffalowings

Went way too far, too many times.
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
4,542
Reaction score
39
Joined
May 14, 2010
Posts
4,542
Likes
39


Quote:
Are you sure? I swore HDMI was digital, and thus unable to transfer amplified sound. Plus, the HDMI would be plugged into my Radeon 6850 graphics card.


hold on one sec... unless the monitors speakers have their own internal amplifiers, sound wouldn't be able to be produced, not without utilizing the motherboard/soundcards amplifier. also, I have doubt your monitors amplifier will sound better than the motherboards. currently, I'm running a gigabyte 990fx am3+ motherboard equipped with a realtek 889 chipset and a 560ti hooked up to the monitor. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690082
Post #7 of 17

Domz0r

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
27
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Posts
27
Likes
10
I really don't get how you want to pull sound from the HDMI input of your monitor.
 
EDIT: nvm, just realised your monitor had a jack. Still, I doubt your monitor's jack is of better quality than the one of your soundcard.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690089
Post #8 of 17

SpringHalo

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 23, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0


Quote:
hold on one sec... unless the monitors speakers have their own internal amplifiers, sound wouldn't be able to be produced, not without utilizing the motherboard/soundcards amplifier. also, I have doubt your monitors amplifier will sound better than the motherboards. currently, I'm running a gigabyte 990fx am3+ motherboard equipped with a realtek 889 chipset and a 560ti hooked up to the monitor. 


The monitor doesn't have speakers. It has a 3.5mm Headphone jack that I assume is for connecting the optional sound bar, which has an amp of its own. What I suspect is that there is a dedicated audio circuit in the monitor that converts the digital audio signal from the HDMI to unamped analog audio through the port. I want to know if this is a viable alternative to the motherboard audio circuits.


Quote:
I really don't get how you want to pull sound from the HDMI input of your monitor.


HDMI carries sound. My monitor accepts HDMI and has an output for sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690206
Post #9 of 17

buffalowings

Went way too far, too many times.
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
4,542
Reaction score
39
Joined
May 14, 2010
Posts
4,542
Likes
39
I just wonder if the sound quality will be of improvement compared to the motherboard
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690267
Post #11 of 17

buffalowings

Went way too far, too many times.
Joined
May 14, 2010
Messages
4,542
Reaction score
39
Joined
May 14, 2010
Posts
4,542
Likes
39


Quote:
That's what I want to know, and whither it's worth buying an HDMI cable.


lollery! go for it! IMHO (yes..i DO not believe in cabling, headphones or audio or images) just buy one off amazon for $1.00 or so (i'm serious, the $9.00 cable i bought was a bust, the $1.00 cable i bought worked perfectly 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690277
Post #12 of 17

Head Injury

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
5,404
Reaction score
437
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Posts
5,404
Likes
437
Quote:
lollery! go for it! IMHO (yes..i DO not believe in cabling, headphones or audio or images) just buy one off amazon for $1.00 or so (i'm serious, the $9.00 cable i bought was a bust, the $1.00 cable i bought worked perfectly 

Or buy it from Monoprice.
 
I doubt the sound quality is going to be better than the motherboard, but I can't find any information on the monitor's sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7690343
Post #13 of 17

SpringHalo

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 23, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0


Quote:
Or buy it from Monoprice.
 
I doubt the sound quality is going to be better than the motherboard, but I can't find any information on the monitor's sound.

Thanks. Monoprice looks like it has good prices and a huge selection. I need to get an HDMI cable for my xbox anyways.
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7727670
Post #14 of 17

Puranti

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
151
Reaction score
13
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Posts
151
Likes
13
Any update on this ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-7778682
Post #15 of 17

SpringHalo

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 23, 2010
Posts
36
Likes
0
Nope. I still haven't decided to get one. I'm planning on getting a grubDAC and assembling it soon.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top