Used AKG K240 Sextetts for 30USD and how to power them ?
Oct 20, 2019 at 5:23 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Kakakakakarrotcake

New Head-Fier
Hello
I found used AKG K240 Sextetts fo 30USD, I think it's a pretty good deal, I listen to metal/rock mostly and bass heavy songs for which i heard these headphones are not the best but they are probably the best I can afford anyways.
Also how do I power these, do I need to buy some headphone amp to connect to pc or do I buy a vintage receiver to power them. Or something else ? Do I need a external DAC or a sound card if I buy an AMP because the motherboard dac isn't the best. Headphones are 600ohms, I am new to all this so please be elaborate.

Thanks

Oct 20, 2019 at 6:29 PM Post #2 of 9
A JDS Atom or Schiit Magni should be fine for powering them.
My AKG K240 Monitor 600-Ohm headphone where not that power demanding, my O2 (Objective 2) head amp could drive them, with the volume knob at about 60%-70%.
I would assume the Atom and Magni are more powerful.

Oct 20, 2019 at 6:34 PM Post #3 of 9
You probably watched my review based upon your comments.
Vintage receiver is the best ive heard them sound. Even better than my GOTL,which is the only high impedance headphone I can say that about.
On the volume knob you can get to about 35-40% before its too loud. Lots of midbass slam,but sub bass is virtually non-existent.

A DAC will certainly help with all headphones,but if your budget cannot afford both and amp and a DAC,start with the amp. Perhaps the Atom will work,but recievers blow the the Magni out of the water for driving the Sextetts.

Oct 20, 2019 at 7:07 PM Post #4 of 9
You probably watched my review based upon your comments.
Vintage receiver is the best ive heard them sound. Even better than my GOTL,which is the only high impedance headphone I can say that about.
On the volume knob you can get to about 35-40% before its too loud. Lots of midbass slam,but sub bass is virtually non-existent.