UGH...Back to square one. Recently Bought m50s and Grados
Dec 18, 2012 at 12:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

draacor

New Head-Fier
Ok I apologize for anyone who told me not to get these but I actually have beef with them for different reasons than what some have said.  I love the Grados SR80i but my wife doesn't lol.  She thinks that they will wake up our little one being that I mainly use them in the room next to his.  To me they work great for video games and TV shows but I like them a little loud and they do cause quite a bit of ambient noise to people around me.  I don't think it would wake him up but to appease the wife I will return them as I just bought them on Amazon.

Second.  I also picked up a pair of ATHM50s for listening while in bed and for work.  What I found was the sound to be awesome, maybe because I'm relatively new to Hifi Audio or not I'm not sure.  But I have a big gripe with them.  Earlier i said how much I enjoy them but when I work i have these on for hours at a time and man do they hurt.  After an hour or so my ears sweat and there is a lot of clamping pressure on my head.   I also thought getting a straight cable would be great cause then i can hook it to the TV and sit on the couch or in bed.  Well it turns out the cable is still too short for this so I would need an extension cable anyway.  And at work the cable is a little too cumbersome.  One thing I didnt expect is how much I do enjoy the bass of these headphones though.  I listen to all kinds of music and mostly acoustic stuff and soundtracks, however I do enjoy when bass heavy music comes on and I can really feel it.

So basically at this point I'm ready to return both sets and possibly get something better?  I cant be the only one who has to go through this to get the ones they like?? I really do wish i could have tried these before ordering them but no place in town has these except bose and beats.

1.  Has to be closed with little sound leakage to please the wife :)