Trying to connect Edifier S730 to laptop
post-15810216
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 7

Matt714

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
25
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Posts
25
Likes
10

Attachments

     Share This Post       
post-15810451
Post #2 of 7

technobear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
2,131
Reaction score
636
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Posts
2,131
Likes
636
You have the correct cable so it can be one of three things:

1) Faulty 3.5mm socket

2) Faulty controller

3) Faulty Speaker

You need to use a process of elimination to figure out which.

As it is the most likely culprit, try plugging and unplugging the 3.5mm plug and twisting it back and forth in the socket.

If that didn't work, swap the speaker wires left to right. If the sound still comes out of the same speaker then the other speaker is dead.

Next swap the RCA plugs left to right. If the sound moves to the other side, the controller is good. If the sound stays on the same side, the controller is dead in one channel.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15810465
Post #3 of 7

Matt714

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
25
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Posts
25
Likes
10
You have the correct cable so it can be one of three things:

1) Faulty 3.5mm socket

2) Faulty controller

3) Faulty Speaker

You need to use a process of elimination to figure out which.

As it is the most likely culprit, try plugging and unplugging the 3.5mm plug and twisting it back and forth in the socket.

If that didn't work, swap the speaker wires left to right. If the sound still comes out of the same speaker then the other speaker is dead.

Next swap the RCA plugs left to right. If the sound moves to the other side, the controller is good. If the sound stays on the same side, the controller is dead in one channel.
Cables are fine, I'm pretty sure.

As I said the thing is that the left speaker and right speaker have their own dedicated red/white RCA to 3.5mm and a laptop can only accommodate one at a time of these through the single headphone jack. So I was wondering if a splitter would work, or any other solution.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15810566
Post #4 of 7

technobear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
2,131
Reaction score
636
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Posts
2,131
Likes
636
Not sure what you are trying to tell me. The headphone socket on the laptop is stereo.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15811564
Post #5 of 7

technobear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
2,131
Reaction score
636
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Posts
2,131
Likes
636
OK, just re-read what you wrote and I think I see where you are confused. The sub has two analog inputs - PC and CD - you only need to connect to ONE of them.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15811570
Post #6 of 7

Matt714

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
25
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Posts
25
Likes
10
OK, just re-read what you wrote and I think I see where you are confused. The sub has two analog inputs - PC and CD - you only need to connect to ONE of them.
Yeah it's either a speaker fault or the cables, I'm going to do more testing tonight. Thanks for the help.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15814987
Post #7 of 7

Roseval

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
973
Reaction score
211
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Posts
973
Likes
211
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top