Tried Battlefield: Bad Company 2 single player with high-end CAN's and Dolby headphone - WOW!
post-6463970
Post #16 of 35

Gamerphile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Posts
588
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by fraseyboy /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I concur. It sounded great on the beta.

Now if only my PC was powerful enough to run it on something less than low with playable FPS.



FYI BETA is way more demanding and laggy than actual game - its call BETA for a reason.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6463983
Post #17 of 35

Gamerphile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Posts
588
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Equus /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I'm sorry...I'm still gasping at the idea of using HD800's for gaming. LOL. Not that it's bad, mind you, but it sounds like a little overkill.



kinda is.. one problem I have is until I can get a good 3D down mixing algorithm with S/P-DIF out balancing them is not really true so I isn't perfect ATM....
Thats right I run my 800HD on my Headroom ultra series DAC and balanced AMP
BOOM BOOM it says.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6464144
Post #18 of 35

AmanGeorge

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
2,343
Reaction score
13
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Posts
2,343
Likes
13
At least you're able to play the damn thing. The servers are failing big time.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6466598
Post #19 of 35

Gamerphile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Posts
588
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by AmanGeorge /img/forum/go_quote.gif
At least you're able to play the damn thing. The servers are failing big time.


Well I try - helps if you have friends on steam and via the internal system. All I can say is try like 20-30 servers and if that doesn't work see if the EA main servers are down again or reboot the game.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6469883
Post #20 of 35

AmanGeorge

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
2,343
Reaction score
13
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Posts
2,343
Likes
13
Soo.... time for a thread derailment. I'm decent at MW2 (and love it), but I suck at this game. Help.

I know in theory I'm supposed to be more "team-based and objective-focused" as I play, but I don't really know what that means in practice.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6469900
Post #21 of 35

Gundogan

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
253
Reaction score
20
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Posts
253
Likes
20
Spot.

Use your class skill (boxes, reviving, repairing ect ect).

Be crazy and creative, but patient too at times (like to let your squad spawn on you when you're near an objective).

Just plain fragging doesnt give you the 2000+ points a game all the time


ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.



And get your framerate high if you're playing the pc version. The game is perfectly playable @ 30 fps, but you'll do much better @ 70-100 fps


+ set your fov higher for a more smooth gameplay experience (like Quake3): http://rjdown.co.uk/projects/bfbc2/fovcalculator.php

O and the sound in BC2 is awesome ye ^^
 
     Share This Post       
post-6469937
Post #22 of 35

AmanGeorge

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
2,343
Reaction score
13
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Posts
2,343
Likes
13
Ooooh... will watch that video when I get home, it sounds like exactly what I need.

Although it will remain to be seen whether I am a serious enough human being for Bad Company 2 to displace MW2 as my shooter of choice. I like fragging people
.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6483514
Post #24 of 35

Gamerphile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Posts
588
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Omega17TheTrue /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Some of DICE audio department must be audiophiles.


--> An Audiophile's Guide to BF:BC2 (Full)



Yeah read that a long time ago
 
     Share This Post       
post-6572339
Post #25 of 35

solidsnake

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
149
Reaction score
15
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Posts
149
Likes
15
yep the game sounds amazing. love the footsteps in snow and helicopters flying above. (ps3 > cambridge azur 640a > d2000)
 
     Share This Post       
post-6576295
Post #26 of 35

freakydrew

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
656
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Posts
656
Likes
10
resurecting this thread for some help....
this is the first game I have bought for my PC...usually play Wii or PS2 games.
Bought it off a reputable dealer on ebay, one whom I have bought dozens of blu-rays from with no problem.
I can't get this game to work!
I install it, everything looks good, go to play and get black screen - monitor tells me it is going into sleep mode. I have updated all my drivers and everything....
lost
I have the Asus Xonar Hdav Deluxe 1.3 - ATI radeon 4650 graphics card...I should be ok?
 
     Share This Post       
post-6580345
Post #27 of 35

Gamerphile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Posts
588
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by freakydrew /img/forum/go_quote.gif
resurecting this thread for some help....
this is the first game I have bought for my PC...usually play Wii or PS2 games.
Bought it off a reputable dealer on ebay, one whom I have bought dozens of blu-rays from with no problem.
I can't get this game to work!
I install it, everything looks good, go to play and get black screen - monitor tells me it is going into sleep mode. I have updated all my drivers and everything....
lost
I have the Asus Xonar Hdav Deluxe 1.3 - ATI radeon 4650 graphics card...I should be ok?



yup you should be okay. Make sure the gaming is updated and your the original owner of the game.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6704625
Post #28 of 35

Jodiuh

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 7, 2002
Messages
1,493
Reaction score
34
Joined
Oct 7, 2002
Posts
1,493
Likes
34

 
Quote:
so what's the optimal setup for BC2 and x-fi, something like that ? X-Fi CMSS-3D Headphone - Guru3D.com Forums

OP what are your in-game settings ? HI-FI and speakcount=6 in settings.ini ?

Anyone else have any input on this? Also, do I want Hi Fi or Home Theater? I'm still having a tough time deciding if I want to do the windows 5.1, game 5.1, X-Fi headphones w/ CMSS3D or just put it all on headphones and forget it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-6709044
Post #29 of 35

SoFGR

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Messages
178
Reaction score
14
Location
Athens
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Location
Athens
Posts
178
Likes
14
Age
32


Quote:
 

Anyone else have any input on this? Also, do I want Hi Fi or Home Theater? I'm still having a tough time deciding if I want to do the windows 5.1, game 5.1, X-Fi headphones w/ CMSS3D or just put it all on headphones and forget it.
ingame : HI-FI (it's just an EQ setting, HI-FI seems to be the most neutral )   + speakercount = 6  ,  windows control panel  : 5.1    creative audo panel  : game mode -  cmss3d headphone enabled  - evevation filter  ON  
 
Just don't expect  miracles,  explosions and gunfire  mask  footsteps  really easily, but I'm sure you will find positioning to be pretty precise,  i can even  hear  UAVs and choppers above my head  
 
     Share This Post       
post-6777531
Post #30 of 35

Gamerphile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
588
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Posts
588
Likes
11


Quote:
ingame : HI-FI (it's just an EQ setting, HI-FI seems to be the most neutral )   + speakercount = 6  ,

Thats not true at all that is a mere simple EQ setting, BC2 has an advance audio engine that due to the low requirements of audio DSP and the many cores in a modern game system mixes far more advanced spatial and temporal effects or approximations of acustics than the primitive EAX extensions that, though I liked them for the lack of better, still is on pair with GPU's 5 years or older in that they have a very dumb and strict pipeline that can't really do much compare to what you can do with a fraction of the computing power we have today. This was okay at a time when audio processing on CPU could actually be taking significant performance but today something like 3D CMSS or Dolby Headphone run on the CPU have so close to zero impact that my tries at messureing it has not succeed on a reasonable dual core gaming system while comparing differences between different impact on performance with FRAPS etc.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top