To EQ or not to EQ?
Jan 2, 2012 at 9:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 66

K-MONEY

Banned for flipping
Joined
Aug 3, 2010
Posts
397
Likes
12
I was wondering if any of you guys, especially ones who are really into the audio quality field, and is experienced with headphones and such audio gear adjust the EQ to their likings.
 
I was told to just leave it flat, but I decided to play around with it for a bit and set it to a way that I like it, I mean REALLY like it.
 
Any thoughts?
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 9:43 PM Post #2 of 66

shamankl

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2011
Posts
27
Likes
0
yeah i play with my eq a lot especially if i change headphones(earbud vs over ears). there is nothing wrong with that it just shows you have a prefered eq and if u change it enough u will see that all your headphones end up sounding similar sound signatured ... lol.
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 9:48 PM Post #4 of 66

nick n

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Posts
5,300
Likes
1,516
Yeah for sure. Why not. Both on Cowon and the full sized amps. Although need to re-cap the full sized one. 
Did you read the first few posts in this thread you'll find it's really interesting
http://www.head-fi.org/t/413900/how-to-equalize-your-headphones-a-tutorial
whatever you end up enjoying is best for you I figure. And you'll also see how your tastes may change over time too. Fun.
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 9:52 PM Post #5 of 66

Coq de Combat

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Posts
2,732
Likes
265
Yeah I pretty much always do that. I know some people will tell you not to touch the EQ, because you're messing up how the artist intended it to sound and blah blah.
 
I think the artist will be fine with me putting on a little EQ to his/her music.
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 9:54 PM Post #6 of 66

Nepenthe

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Posts
633
Likes
15
Not for CDs at home. Marantz--->Gilmore Lite--->headphones. No EQ in the path.
 
The only time I used EQ was when I had my Bose QC2s (I know...) at work, I toned down the midbass and lower midrange in Windows Media Player.
 
I don't listen to much computer file audio. I don't own a portable MP3 player, or a smartphone.
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 10:02 PM Post #8 of 66

K-MONEY

Banned for flipping
Joined
Aug 3, 2010
Posts
397
Likes
12
Does it affect the audio quality? Maybe you'll hear less detailed music if you adjust it, or no?
 
I'm surprised and much more confident now that some of you already admit that you change it to your likings.
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 10:08 PM Post #9 of 66

RPGWiZaRD

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Posts
6,371
Likes
407


Quote:
yeah i play with my eq a lot especially if i change headphones(earbud vs over ears). there is nothing wrong with that it just shows you have a prefered eq and if u change it enough u will see that all your headphones end up sounding similar sound signatured ... lol.


So true haha. Luckily headphones are more than just frequency response balance though.
 
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 10:14 PM Post #10 of 66

Head Injury

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Posts
5,404
Likes
441
I change it very little. Just cut the thick lower mid-range a tiny bit and adjust two treble peaks a little.
 

 
You could probably turn it off while I'm in the bathroom and I wouldn't even notice it gone. All the changes are on the order of +/- 1 dB at most.
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 10:20 PM Post #11 of 66

Il Mostro

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 15, 2001
Posts
1,126
Likes
36
Mixed bag for me.  Never on the big rig speaker system.  I do use "treble reduce" or a manual equivalent for my UCube desk top speakers at the office.  If I am using less than stellar IEM's on my phone I will sometimes EQ to "correct" their anomalies.  Never on my iPod Classic(s) whether going amped or un-amped and, obviously, never when using the iPod->Fostex HP-P1.
 
Jan 2, 2012 at 11:27 PM Post #12 of 66

detoxguy

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Posts
439
Likes
64
Location
Saskatoon SK
I never use EQ
 
Jan 3, 2012 at 12:17 AM Post #14 of 66

stevenswall

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Posts
1,058
Likes
51
I use EQ sparingly most of the time, but really like the setting on the Cowon S9. Some of the presets tweak the crossfeed a bit, and offer oversampling in the case of the BBE MP setting. It's pretty interesting to read about the technology behind the BBE+ EQ in most Cowon Players. As far as I've heard, it is the best.
 
http://www.cowonglobal.com/product_wide/product_etc/product_bbe.php
 
Jan 3, 2012 at 12:27 AM Post #15 of 66

hodgjy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Posts
4,304
Likes
1,197
Yes = cheap headphones amped by opamps.
 
No = good headphones amped by class A amps.
 
Self-explanatory.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top