The Stax Thread III
Dec 11, 2018 at 9:30 AM Post #16,846 of 21,499

chococya96

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 2, 2010
Posts
178
Likes
16
Location
Australia
A 2 channel speaker setup. Stax is from Japan so it would tie in with the rest of your setup. The stuff from Japan used to be hard to get but thanks to yahoo.jp and acupwr it is quite easy and affordable nowadays. Russia and where you are from are the only 2 countries that were able to get their hands on a decent amount of it so you might get lucky and find a domestic deal.

Ah, I see. I might consider getting a complimentary speaker to set up along with STAX though even before that, I might consider upgrading to L700 first before thinking about speakers and other headphones.

Also, I heard that the driver unit (srm-252s) needs to be warmed up a bit before listening to the earspeaker. Does the manual state how long I'd have to wait before using it?
Better yet, do I need to turn off the driver unit when not in use? I'm so used to having my JDS EL stack on 24/7 with occasional power cycling for longevity.
 
Dec 11, 2018 at 11:45 AM Post #16,849 of 21,499

Zoide

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 2, 2004
Posts
2,996
Likes
90
I find the mindset/mood you're in plays a big role in how much you're enjoyment at that time can vary a good degree positively or negatively from session to session.

Not reading too much Head-Fi and not obsessing about the sound over the music is an important part of that :p
 
Dec 11, 2018 at 8:13 PM Post #16,851 of 21,499

336881

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Posts
514
Likes
130
Ah, I see. I might consider getting a complimentary speaker to set up along with STAX though even before that, I might consider upgrading to L700 first before thinking about speakers and other headphones.

Also, I heard that the driver unit (srm-252s) needs to be warmed up a bit before listening to the earspeaker. Does the manual state how long I'd have to wait before using it?
Better yet, do I need to turn off the driver unit when not in use? I'm so used to having my JDS EL stack on 24/7 with occasional power cycling for longevity.

You can do what ever you want to as far as off and on are concerned. Like I said before it is like your el dac has another pair of rca outs. You just have to buy another set of rca cables.

The only time you have to worry about off and on is switched and un switched outlets on the back of preamps usually. It allows you to daisy chain 100/120/240v products which is really helpful but if the outlet is switched that device, usually preamp, will have to be powered on for whatever is plugged into the switched outlet. If the outlet is un switched then you do not have to worry about on/off.

Some photo's

loop out 002.JPG
loop out 003.JPG
loop out 005.JPG
loop out 006.JPG
loop out 008.JPG
loop out 009.JPG
 
Last edited:
Dec 14, 2018 at 9:35 AM Post #16,857 of 21,499

Rayzilla

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Posts
1,090
Likes
253
Location
From Toronto to Hong Kong (now)
Damn son, when Im travelling it will only be the SXC550 and the DX200 with whatever iem I feel like bringing. This is on another level lol.
Have you ever paired the DX200 with the D10 and if so, how did you connect them?
 
Dec 14, 2018 at 9:41 AM Post #16,859 of 21,499

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
24,695
Likes
23,634
Have you ever paired the DX200 with the D10 and if so, how did you connect them?
Assuming you are asking about SRM-D10 from Stax ?

According to the picture below, there is a line in 3.5mm. If som you will need Amp1 for SE line-out, but as I know it...regular Amp1 ...suck, period. May want to buy an upgraded Amp1 like Amp1Titanium mimic ?

9C66B24F-F0D6-4335-880D-D7F71992FB66.png
 
Dec 14, 2018 at 9:44 AM Post #16,860 of 21,499

Rayzilla

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Posts
1,090
Likes
253
Location
From Toronto to Hong Kong (now)
That's good to know, thanks!

How would the SRM-D10 compare to the SRM-323S? I have the latter and listen at what apparently are low volumes (only 2-3 out of 10 on the volume dial when listening to Google Play Music via an ODAC).
I am interested in hearing about the answer to this question and also a comparison of the 353X to the 323S. Thanks.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top