The Stax Thread III
post-14351591
Post #15,526 of 18,299
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
3,810
Reaction score
1,182
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Posts
3,810
Likes
1,182
I've heard three 009, spanning a few years of manufacture dates, and they were all extremely consistent with each other - I'd be very surprised if there was an unannounced revision by Stax, or any significant sonic discrepancy that wasn't caused by pad condition or defects (e.g. driver imbalance).
 
     Share This Post       
post-14351620
Post #15,527 of 18,299

padam

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
1,587
Reaction score
132
Location
Central Europe
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Location
Central Europe
Posts
1,587
Likes
132
There was a very early SR009 revision, where the circular plate surrounding the transducers was different (it is visibly yellow in the later ones if you look at the grill towards the edges) and about 1.5 years ago there were two revisions to the wooden box as well (now identical to the SR-009S box), they may have improved the headband mounts.
Probably no changes in terms of sound quality though.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14351797
Post #15,528 of 18,299

SeaWo|f

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
1,000
Reaction score
507
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Posts
1,000
Likes
507
Website
www.youtube.com
If I remember correctly in his carbon review Bob Katz also talked about this a bit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14352132
Post #15,529 of 18,299

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
17,778
Reaction score
10,117
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
17,778
Likes
10,117
Buy a Stax sr-009 every other month, and you would be able to tell upto probably 10 revisions :D , LoL, just kidding
 
     Share This Post       
post-14352210
Post #15,530 of 18,299

Contrails

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 30, 2013
Messages
494
Reaction score
108
Joined
Jan 30, 2013
Posts
494
Likes
108
Stax seems to make more revisions to their headphones than Beckham changing his boots.

On a side note, my 007 mk1 are still in transit from Germany to New Zealand with Deutschland post. It's been 2 weeks. German efficiency seems to be on the decline these days, must be the aftermath of the World Cup performance.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: HoloSpice
post-14352226
Post #15,531 of 18,299

SeaWo|f

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Messages
1,000
Reaction score
507
Joined
Apr 11, 2010
Posts
1,000
Likes
507
Website
www.youtube.com
Despite all of these revisions a consistently reliable 009 family of headphones is still elusive..
 
     Share This Post       
post-14353459
Post #15,532 of 18,299

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
17,778
Reaction score
10,117
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
17,778
Likes
10,117
Stax seems to make more revisions to their headphones than Beckham changing his boots.

On a side note, my 007 mk1 are still in transit from Germany to New Zealand with Deutschland post. It's been 2 weeks. German efficiency seems to be on the decline these days, must be the aftermath of the World Cup performance.
That is what opened border do to you :D lol, joking ofcourse. Revisions are just circulated around by words of mouths, no official announcements. The variety of anything man-made are always there and existed anyways
 
Last edited:
post-14353727
Post #15,533 of 18,299

TominJapan

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
91
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Posts
91
Likes
14
Hi sorry if this is not the right place to post. I bought this SRM-313 on Yahoo Japan and was wondering if I need/ should or should not convert the voltage to 100 Volts (I currently live in the US).
The labels are somehow confusing; it was previously used in Japan so I am not sure what to do with the 117V markings ....
I do not want to damage the amp, if someone knows how to check what voltage would work this would be really appreciated (!)
And sorry if this was already asked plenty of times but I did search and did not really find the answer
Thanks ! :)
93e4d3.jpg
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Olschl
post-14353759
Post #15,534 of 18,299

JimL11

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
1,096
Reaction score
1,260
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Posts
1,096
Likes
1,260
Yes, you need to convert it to 117 volts, because the Japanese AC voltage (100V) is lower than the US (120V), so if you plug it into a US AC socket, the internal voltages will be 20% higher, which could damage the electronics. I think the way to do it is to carefully pry off the plastic covering with the arrow (which is pointing down), turn it 180 degrees so the arrow is pointing up instead of down, and then plug it back in.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Olschl
post-14353792
Post #15,535 of 18,299

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
2,820
Reaction score
422
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,820
Likes
422
after removing the 2 screws and the cover
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: JayKay47 and Olschl
post-14353922
Post #15,537 of 18,299

Olschl

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
58
Reaction score
1
Location
NJ
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Location
NJ
Posts
58
Likes
1
Hi sorry if this is not the right place to post. I bought this SRM-313 on Yahoo Japan and was wondering if I need/ should or should not convert the voltage to 100 Volts (I currently live in the US).
The labels are somehow confusing; it was previously used in Japan so I am not sure what to do with the 117V markings ....
I do not want to damage the amp, if someone knows how to check what voltage would work this would be really appreciated (!)
And sorry if this was already asked plenty of times but I did search and did not really find the answer
Thanks ! :)
How was it buying from Yahoo Japan? I've been interested in a few items; but I'm not sure I trust the site.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14354097
Post #15,538 of 18,299

TominJapan

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
91
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Posts
91
Likes
14
Quite easy actually, I would say though that buying on ebay from Japanese sellers is about equivalent and probably easier overall, YMMV obviously
 
     Share This Post       
post-14354904
Post #15,539 of 18,299

tabness

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
47
Reaction score
43
Location
Seattle
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Location
Seattle
Posts
47
Likes
43
So I'm trying to get my first Stax setup and I have pretty much settled on the 009S earspeaker to begin with (I would also want to pick up a vintage Omega or 007 MK I eventually to complement it if I can find a good condition one).

I know the general recommendation here would be to go with HeadAmp or Mjolnir Audio or just DIY but I do want to stay with a official Stax amp to begin with (also for cost and space reasons). I was mainly considering the SRM-353X, but is it worth paying extra to spring up for the SRM-727 II? I do not listen very loud at all and I have heard that the 009 (and thus apparently the 009S) are a bit easier to drive than the 007.

Unfortunately I cannot find any local place to audition this for myself so your feedback would be very helpful.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14354955
Post #15,540 of 18,299

336881

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
514
Reaction score
128
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Posts
514
Likes
128
How was it buying from Yahoo Japan? I've been interested in a few items; but I'm not sure I trust the site.
Try Zenmarket.jp. For a small fee they will bid on items for you with many thousands of positive feedback. For anything over 30kg.'s aka. Power amps and Speakers Hifido.jp is who you want to buy from.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: TominJapan

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 3)

Top