The HiBy R3; The New Double Dac R3 PRO on Sale Now !!!
post-15000082
Post #5,581 of 6,198

HungryPanda

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
7,902
Reaction score
12,920
Location
Kent, UK
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Location
Kent, UK
Posts
7,902
Likes
12,920
I just got the update OTA, had wifi on but had to pick the network to get it to work
 
     Share This Post       
post-15000147
Post #5,582 of 6,198

greenkiwi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,364
Reaction score
191
Location
New Zealand
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Location
New Zealand
Posts
1,364
Likes
191
The whole having to "pick the network" and/or scan for networks to get wifi to connect is really annoying. I feel like I have to do this way more than I should.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15000168
Post #5,583 of 6,198

dissembled

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,691
Reaction score
168
Location
NJ
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Location
NJ
Posts
1,691
Likes
168
Website
www.flickr.com
How my R3 coupled with the balanced Meze Noirs bests the mighty Shanling M5s sonically is pretty surprising. The R3 gives the Noirs the treble boost it needs. My God, at less than half the price, this flabbergasts me. How can a cheaper player equipped with a single dac bests one that has two in balanced mode and is more than double the price?

I am having issues with my R3 right now, as it skips songs without any input on my part, even with the inline remote setting turned off, but God oh golly, it sounds so good.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15000261
Post #5,584 of 6,198

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
10,839
Reaction score
2,603
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
10,839
Likes
2,603
Updated to 3.2 last night and now bluetooth connection no longer works at all.

All I get is: Playback failed Error -13

Is this a known issue?
What Bluetooth codecs does your earphones support?

I am having issues with my R3 right now, as it skips songs without any input on my part, even with the inline remote setting turned off, but God oh golly, it sounds so good.
When and how does this skip happen?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15000336
Post #5,585 of 6,198

dissembled

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,691
Reaction score
168
Location
NJ
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Location
NJ
Posts
1,691
Likes
168
Website
www.flickr.com
What Bluetooth codecs does your earphones support?



When and how does this skip happen?
It usually happens with my V-Moda M80s when connecting it to the player. Sometimes after connecting it to the 3.5 jack, there would be no sound at all as the player doesn't recognize it connected since it remains in Coax mode (as it does when there are no headphones connected). The last time it did happen though (an hour or so ago), I admittedly don't know whether the player remained in Coax mode or not since I didn't look up there. What I do know is that there was no sound all, even with the song on play and the volume on the same setting. Reconnecting the headphones rectifies this sometimes. Other times, only a restart would fix this.

In other instances, the player would just randomly skip to the next song without any input on my part. This happens even with my balanced Meze Noirs. I would be listening to some music and then randomly, the player would skip to another song, which is pretty weird.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15001645
Post #5,586 of 6,198

Bio-Rhythm

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
120
Reaction score
19
Location
Planet Earth
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Location
Planet Earth
Posts
120
Likes
19
Website
hearthis.at
Hi,

My HiBy R3 is gathering dust basically because it does not support Tidal (or Qobuz) offline music, so isn't very portable or convenient for my streaming setup compared to my LG V30 phone which does support offline Tidal/Qobuz music playback :). My question is are there any plans to implement offline playback?. If not that's a shame as the HiBy R3 could have been a very good portable player if it were'nt (third party software) unable to play Tidal/Qobuz music. Kind of sucks, listening to a great track,step outside the front door & the player goes silent :frowning2:.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15001659
Post #5,587 of 6,198

dissembled

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,691
Reaction score
168
Location
NJ
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Location
NJ
Posts
1,691
Likes
168
Website
www.flickr.com
Can someone explain how to use the internet radio option? I have no clue about what it does and how in the world to get it to work in the first place.

I bought a second R3 in gray on Amazon via MusicTeck and am surprised to have received one who only accepts the Chinese firmware. The first one (in black) also from Amazon via MusicTeck is the international version. I wonder if the color differences is correlated to the two different versions.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15002290
Post #5,589 of 6,198

grs8

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
698
Reaction score
1,706
Location
Z'ha'dum
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Location
Z'ha'dum
Posts
698
Likes
1,706
After updating the fw to 3.2 I can't connect the R3 per BT to my avr (Denon X1200W), codec is sbc and I always get the error message "connection failed"
Hiby Link is not working with my Honor 5X, I can use the R3 only as DAC. If I turn Hiby Link on, no (BT) connection is possible, turn it off and I can use it as dac, but can't control the R3 with my phone and the Hiby app...
The included Pedometer and E-book feature are useless for me.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15002298
Post #5,590 of 6,198

SteveOliver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
1,800
Reaction score
1,341
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Posts
1,800
Likes
1,341
Hi,

My HiBy R3 is gathering dust basically because it does not support Tidal (or Qobuz) offline music, so isn't very portable or convenient for my streaming setup compared to my LG V30 phone which does support offline Tidal/Qobuz music playback :). My question is are there any plans to implement offline playback?. If not that's a shame as the HiBy R3 could have been a very good portable player if it were'nt (third party software) unable to play Tidal/Qobuz music. Kind of sucks, listening to a great track,step outside the front door & the player goes silent :frowning2:.
This is not Hiby's fault, it affects all non-Android, non-iOS devices. Music streaming services have to protect the music from piracy, one way they do this is limiting the offline mode and hence it's encryption methods to their own apps.
As the R3 is not an Android player there is no way to run the Tidal app, so no offline.

In the UK things are a bit better, I can pay 6 quid or so for unlimited music streaming from my phone service provider so for a relatively low cash outlay I can stream as much as I want wherever I want.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15002332
Post #5,591 of 6,198

grs8

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
698
Reaction score
1,706
Location
Z'ha'dum
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Location
Z'ha'dum
Posts
698
Likes
1,706
Downgrade back to fw 3.1 and now I got a bootloop everytime I put BT on. What?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15002448
Post #5,592 of 6,198

greenkiwi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Messages
1,364
Reaction score
191
Location
New Zealand
Joined
Sep 21, 2009
Location
New Zealand
Posts
1,364
Likes
191
Can someone explain how to use the internet radio option? I have no clue about what it does and how in the world to get it to work in the first place.

I bought a second R3 in gray on Amazon via MusicTeck and am surprised to have received one who only accepts the Chinese firmware. The first one (in black) also from Amazon via MusicTeck is the international version. I wonder if the color differences is correlated to the two different versions.
I got it to work by adding a radio.txt file in the root of my SD card, and then looking at the bottom of the playlists tab. The support is OK, it doesn't seem to show them as being favorited anywhere and you have to scroll down through it to find your station each time. But I'm enjoying my radio paradise and soma fm.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15003000
Post #5,593 of 6,198

poprivet

Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
19
Location
London
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Location
London
Posts
59
Likes
19
I got it to work by adding a radio.txt file in the root of my SD card, and then looking at the bottom of the playlists tab. The support is OK, it doesn't seem to show them as being favorited anywhere and you have to scroll down through it to find your station each time. But I'm enjoying my radio paradise and soma fm.
You need the station links added to the file in the form:
name, url
e.g.
BBC Radio 6 Music, http://bbcmedia.ic.llnwd.net/stream/bbcmedia_6music_mf_p
Note you need the actual URL for the stream - some stations will use a link to a file that *contains* the link.Only certain forms of stream work (AAC & Flac don't seem to), it can be fussy if certain ports are used too. Think the file needs the right encoding too, UTF-8.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: dissembled
post-15005288
Post #5,594 of 6,198

ChuckWagon

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 12, 2019
Messages
36
Reaction score
15
Location
North Carolina
Joined
Jun 12, 2019
Location
North Carolina
Posts
36
Likes
15
First time posting and want to first say thank you to Snoopy112. Because of your firmware mod (allowing 65,000 songs) I decided to place an order for the R3.

This hasn't arrived yet and wanted to ask a few questions.

When looking to purchase a card, I see some that are "micro sd" and others that are "microsdxc." I'm on a budget and the PNY brand seems more in my range.
Will any sd card work?

I was curious about the hiby ap and downloaded this to my iphone. Maybe it's because my phone is old (don't laugh, it's a 4S). The ap seemed buggy - It would stop scanning around 1,000 songs and would then close. If I stopped the scanning before hitting 1.000 songs, I could use the ap. I noticed that the screen only displayed about 90% of the album art.
Is this common on any phone or is it because my phone is so old?

Also, I'm thinking of switching over to an android phone. I've never used one before. I'm on a budget and will buying one used off of ebay. I was wondering if any of you could recommend a phone that works well with the R3. I'm not looking for anything brand new or expensive. Other than phone calls, I'm looking for a phone that has decent speaker sound and is compatible with hiby link.

Thanks again Snoopy112 for the firmware.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Snoopy112
post-15005292
Post #5,595 of 6,198

Bio-Rhythm

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
120
Reaction score
19
Location
Planet Earth
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Location
Planet Earth
Posts
120
Likes
19
Website
hearthis.at
This is not Hiby's fault, it affects all non-Android, non-iOS devices. Music streaming services have to protect the music from piracy, one way they do this is limiting the offline mode and hence it's encryption methods to their own apps.
As the R3 is not an Android player there is no way to run the Tidal app, so no offline.

In the UK things are a bit better, I can pay 6 quid or so for unlimited music streaming from my phone service provider so for a relatively low cash outlay I can stream as much as I want wherever I want.
I'm in the UK. Your lucky if you can have access to a unlimited mobile data plan for £6 ( with whom?). But I live in a mountainous location & as such a mobile signal isn't always possible (plus it's hardly a way to conserve energy like we must if..........) . Besides, even if there was 100% network coverage, the only network that provides a unlimited data plan in my area is giffgaff @ £25 per month. Plus Tidal Hifi £20 per month.

Anyway thanks for the info . It's a no then for offline Tidal support with the R3. Maybe the R3 should try implement APK support as the Tidal APK does offline mode via the app.

The R3 is a very nice DAP though, if it fits your own needs.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: SteveOliver

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 9)

Top