The Fiio A5 thread: an upgrade of E12A, MUSES02+LME49600, 800mW, 19Vp-p, 12 hours
post-14175492
Post #706 of 910

MROOD

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
1
Location
Aylesbury UK
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Location
Aylesbury UK
Posts
35
Likes
1
some one needs to check the A5 out with a higher impedance cans, the 32ohms are to low to see how the a5 really performs, maybe a hd650, beyer 990250ohm and a fostex tr90 80ohm, then you can see if the a5 is powerful enough to handle these cans...
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Dobrescu George
post-14175497
Post #707 of 910

WitzyZed

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
635
Reaction score
252
Location
Forest Park, IL
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Forest Park, IL
Posts
635
Likes
252
Yeah dynamic range compression is limited to the source recording and how it was handled during the mix down and mastering. what lexx is experiencing is the Fletcher Munson Curves / Equal Loudness Contours, I think.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Dobrescu George
post-14175628
Post #708 of 910

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
436
Reaction score
231
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
436
Likes
231
Wow, what a discussion... As I said, looking into the non-loaded FR of the amplifier does not necessarily show the whole picture. Do you guys have a circuit diagram of the A5? I couldn‘t find it anywhere... It‘s very possible to have an amp that will have an ideally flat responce into open and non-flat into a non-linear load... Depends on how the negative feedback / gain control is implemented...

All the cans I‘m currently using tend to bloat the bass without enough damping, particularly the Momentum in a paasive mode and the W5000. As a matter of fact, Momentum in the active mode did not show the bass increase, I forgot to mention this initially... And an active mode in Momentum of course is equal to a flat load seen by the source...

So, actually, based on this, I think this amp will probably indeed not have this bass increase with high impedance HPs, because they usually represent a much flatter load than some of the low-impedance cans...

Ok, I‘ll go listen to my new toy, actually this little Amp is really nice, my W5000 sounds with it almost as good as with the HA5000, I really like what I‘m hearing...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14175753
Post #709 of 910

superuser1

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
4,115
Reaction score
2,697
Location
Sapta Sindhu
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Location
Sapta Sindhu
Posts
4,115
Likes
2,697
Increasing the gain also increases the voltage? I think i read that somewhere, just asking if thats a correct conclusion.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14175773
Post #710 of 910

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
436
Reaction score
231
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
436
Likes
231
With low gain setting, A5 will have the same ouput voltage as the input voltage, so it‘s basically just a current buffer. With high gain, the output voltage will be higher by a factor of around 5. So, it‘s only needed when higher impedance / low sensitivity cans are being driven...
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Biesas
post-14195255
Post #711 of 910

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
436
Reaction score
231
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
436
Likes
231
After few days with the amp, I noticed the following:

on low gain setting, this amp is doing some nasty things with the phase. The soundstage is pretty wide, but the perception of depth is suffering. This doesn't happen on a high gain setting. There, the width of the soundstage is reduced a bit, but it's becoming deeper and the overall presentation turns to be more holographic. This can be only observed with hps that have very good 3D qualities, very noticeable e.g. with an AKG K550, especially with reference-quality binaural recordings, they become kind of flat on low gain.

Too bad no circuit diagram of this amp is available, and I'm too lazy to open it and reverse-engineer...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14195392
Post #712 of 910
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
13,315
Reaction score
24,259
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Posts
13,315
Likes
24,259
I have an AKG K553 - it doesn't do that for me. Doesn't with the HD800 or HD600 either. Difference between high gain and low gain is the volume (for me). Volume match to within 0.1 dB ..... no difference.

Have you actually tried a volume matched blind test? I'd be curious if you can tell the two apart in a completely volume matched blind test with no external cues?

Could be just my hearing though.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: alphanumerix1
post-14195415
Post #713 of 910

a-LeXx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
436
Reaction score
231
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Posts
436
Likes
231
No blind tests. But I asked my wife who has a very good hearing to listen to those 2 settings and describe the differences (without giving her any hints), and she described this in the same way how I hear it... Volume was every time tuned down to 0 and then slowly increased to comfortable listening levels. I'm very sensitive to phase distortions though, confirmed this many years ago with DBTs...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14249278
Post #714 of 910

stuck limo

Member of the Trade: LH Labs
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
1,352
Reaction score
389
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Posts
1,352
Likes
389
Could be. All i know is, any proximity to my V20 renders my e12 useless with so much noise. T-Mobile. 4G.. I know its not my interconnect, because the amp powered on with only the cans attached still picks up the interference.
As an LG V20 owner looking into possibly getting this amp, does the interference include wifi? I have an LG V20 as JUST a DAP, with no cell service. I just use wifi.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14249856
Post #715 of 910

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
14,722
Reaction score
6,802
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Posts
14,722
Likes
6,802
Age
25
Website
audiophile-heaven.com
     Share This Post       
post-14320014
Post #716 of 910

dhm78

Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
66
Reaction score
12
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Posts
66
Likes
12
I just picked this amp up used and I'm really enjoying it! It came sans instructions so I was wondering what the charging light does when it's fully charged. Thanks so much!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14320033
Post #717 of 910

NonXtreme

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
15
Reaction score
12
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Posts
15
Likes
12
I just picked this amp up used and I'm really enjoying it! It came sans instructions so I was wondering what the charging light does when it's fully charged. Thanks so much!
It's stop blinking when fully charge.
However if you keep the amp on when it's fully charge, it may keep blinking.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: dhm78
post-14330051
Post #719 of 910

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
12,263
Reaction score
21,010
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Posts
12,263
Likes
21,010
Just wanted to drop by and say I recently picked up a factory sealed A5 for $90, including one of the FiiO Oyaide stacking cables (which is miles better than the A5s included noodle cable).

I already have the E12A Mont Blanc for my IEMs, and fell in love with its clean Muses02 sound, super long battery life, and friendly layout/form factor. But the E12A always struggled to drive some of my more powerful gear.

The A5 has no such issues, and can drive everything I own (or demo at CanJams) no problem. I don’t mind that it has a bit less battery life - it’s a fair trade off. I do like the beefy knurled knob of the E12A better, but that’s small potatoes too.

I agree with Brooko that FiiO missed a great opportunity to build the A5 with a negative gain setting. Then I’d have no reason to even keep my Mont Blanc, as the A5 would also play nice with my most sensitive IEMs. It could have truly been “one amp to rule them all”.

Just like on my E12, I skinned the top and bottom of the A5 with graphic vinyl in ‘brushed titanium’ finish (which looks identical to the E12A’s stock color and brushed finish). Works much better than the FiiO stacking pads, and it has kept my E12A looking brand new for years now. If anyone wants to see a pic lemme know and I’ll post a few.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14346913
Post #720 of 910

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
12,263
Reaction score
21,010
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Posts
12,263
Likes
21,010
I have a very simple usability mod for the A5 I wanted to share.

The E12A has an awesome volume knob, heavily knurled, giving your finger a kung fu grip. The A5 volume knob may as well be made of glass - it's slippery and very hard to get a grip on it. Why they didn't use the same knob as the E12A is beyond me.

I was going to just order a different 13mm knob, nicely knurled like the E12A's knob. But upon closer inspection of the stock A5's knob, the red 'stripe' (which I originally thought was painted on) turned out to be a thin red rubber o-ring.

DSCN0007.JPG
stock oring.jpg

Well, all you do is remove the red o-ring (using your fingernail or the point of a sharp object like a sewing needle). Here's what you're left with:

DSCN0006 - Edited.jpg

(Note you DO NOT have to remove the knob itself. I only removed it when I thought I was going to replace the knob. To do this mod, you can leave the knob on.)

Anyways, once the red o-ring is removed, I found a similarly sized (but just a tad thicker) o-ring, and reinstalled it back onto the knob. The results are a nice grippy rubber surface that allows the knob to be turned with ease. A vast improvement over the stock knob!

Here's the finished product:

DSCN0002.JPG

Note how the new o-ring is thicker, protruding from the edge more than the stock red one did. This is what provides the grip for your fingers.

The whole process from start to finish takes <10 seconds. The o-ring like I used runs about $0.01 to $0.02, and you can get them numerous places (I happened to get my o-ring from a case of assorted o-rings I already had laying around). If you can’t find one that fits I an assortment, lemme know and I’ll post the exact size of the one I used.

I saved the original red o-ring in a baggie and stored it inside the A5 retail box, if for some odd reason I ever wanted to go back to the stock red o-ring.

Enjoy!
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top