The all new Continental Dual Mono
Jul 11, 2015 at 11:04 PM Post #451 of 2,553
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Posts
2,149
Likes
1,798
Hey Guys,
 
Also the 5718 and or 5719 tubes will be about 1/3 cooler than the stock 6111s also bonus you get about 2 - 3 hours more play time so nearly 10 hours analog. 
 
If you cant take the heat please try any one of these
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/sonotone-5719
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/rca-5718
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/sylvania-6ad4-a
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/usa-brand-5718
 
Thanks
 
ken
 
ALO Audio Stay updated on ALO Audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.aloaudio.com/
Jul 11, 2015 at 11:12 PM Post #452 of 2,553

cj3209

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Posts
1,756
Likes
727
Location
SoCal
  Hey Guys,
 
Also the 5718 and or 5719 tubes will be about 1/3 cooler than the stock 6111s also bonus you get about 2 - 3 hours more play time so nearly 10 hours analog. 
 
If you cant take the heat please try any one of these
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/sonotone-5719
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/rca-5718
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/sylvania-6ad4-a
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/accessories/vacuum-tubes/continental-dual-mono-compatible-tubes/usa-brand-5718
 
Thanks
 
ken


Hi, Ken:  how do those tubes sound?  I'm a tube-noob, unfortunately.  I don't mind the heat because the sound is so good but if these tubes give me the same/similar sound with less heat, I'll definitely purchase those.
 
Thank you.
 
CJ
:)
 
Jul 11, 2015 at 11:41 PM Post #453 of 2,553
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Posts
2,149
Likes
1,798
 
Hi, Ken:  how do those tubes sound?  I'm a tube-noob, unfortunately.  I don't mind the heat because the sound is so good but if these tubes give me the same/similar sound with less heat, I'll definitely purchase those.
 
Thank you.
 
CJ
:)

Hey Cj
 
Honestly have not had a lot of time to critically listen to all the tubes. I can say that the single triode (5719/8) are every bit as good as the stock ones. I do recall some being more mellow, some being flatter.. sorry I have not been able to map them all out.
 
I sent a bunch of the tubes to the guys at Headfonia.com and they are going to do a more in depth comparison of some of the tubes.
 
Ken
 
ALO Audio Stay updated on ALO Audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.aloaudio.com/
Jul 12, 2015 at 12:46 AM Post #454 of 2,553

DecentLevi

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 13, 2014
Posts
3,713
Likes
1,174
Location
Seattle area
Yeah guys, that would be quite cool when one of you buys all those tubes to give us your impressions on the way the sound compares. Looks like they're only about $30 each too.
 
Also Raypin, I think you really throw most of us for a spin when you mention things like Egghead's new digs at Shangrila. For all I knew it was some guys house in China. After a few minutes of searching online I found it to be like an audiophile store in a mall in Quezon city, Philly's - you really should mention which city / country the place is in when mentioning something like that. (I also never heard the words 'digs' either)
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 1:01 AM Post #455 of 2,553

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Posts
2,524
Likes
1,023
Location
San Fransokyo
mmmm..... @DecentLevi, copy. Sorry. Just some background info: in Manila, there are only two major shops for all things headfi: The Listening Room Megamall and Egghead Audiohub Robinson's Galleria. Both are mall-based and they carry multiple brands, from consumer-level to audiophile-level. Every now and then, they also import some fairly  rare headfi gear, like the Studio Six. Egghead carries a lot of Alo Audio's products. Hifiman has a local distributor here in Manila so Hifiman products are easy to come by. Every November, the headphone crowd here have a Hifi Show (usually in Makati City) where dealers, customers and the general public are welcome to sample headfi/audiophile gear. It is not as big as those in Japan but it will have to do. That's the lay of the land. We may not have everything here but the prices here are very competitive (relative to U.S. retail). Some of us (like myself) go to Hong Kong or Singapore or Japan to buy headfi gear that are not available in our part of the world.
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 1:12 AM Post #456 of 2,553

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Posts
2,524
Likes
1,023
Location
San Fransokyo
mmmm......I tried the Cayin N6 + CDM = something wonky. Volume (full volume,  high gain, via line-out of N6) is very weak. Headphone used: Audeze EL8 Open with Norne Solv X. Still tryng to figure this out.....Sony PCM D100 + CDM (via analog line-out of Sony) = good to very good pairing. Best pairing still is with my PC via supplied Alo Greenline usb (Microsoft Surface Pro 3/Foobar/Asio). Damn good.
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 2:03 AM Post #457 of 2,553
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Posts
2,149
Likes
1,798
Raypin,
 
I spent some time in Manilla working with a speaker company there, had a great time. The driving is crazy :wink:, I hope to come back for a visit some day.
 
Kb
 
ALO Audio Stay updated on ALO Audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.aloaudio.com/
Jul 12, 2015 at 2:33 AM Post #458 of 2,553

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Posts
2,524
Likes
1,023
Location
San Fransokyo
mmm.....waiting for Headfonia's tube-rolling (just like with the ALO PanAm tube rolling article they published way back). But, as is, the stock tubes of the CDM is nearly perfect for my sound preference, except perhaps with the bass (just a tad more would be sound-perfect). @KB , yup. Traffic here is just plain crazy. That's why I use headphones/in-ears to ward off noise pollution and traffic-related stress.
 
CDM + AK 240 + JH Layla = awesome combination that sounds very musical without sacrificing resolution. If you think the AK 240 sometimes sound sterile and if you think the Layla has these dips/veiling somewhere in the mid-range, the CDM *IS* the answer and that is just from my impressions in unbalanced mode. Damn good! Run, baby, run to the nearest ALO dealer. Can the CDM properly drive the Hifiman HE 1000? The day my unit arrives is a day too late. Can't wait to test the combo. Two more weeks...........sheesh!
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 5:56 AM Post #459 of 2,553

Ultrainferno

Member of the Trade: Headfonia
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Posts
7,404
Likes
1,769
Originally Posted by KB /img/forum/go_quote.gif
 
I sent a bunch of the tubes to the guys at Headfonia.com and they are going to do a more in depth comparison of some of the tubes.
 
Ken

 
 
  mmm.....waiting for Headfonia's tube-rolling (just like with the ALO PanAm tube rolling article they published way back).@KB

 
They will be arriving together with the CDM tomorrow if all goes well. It will be a while though before the tube rolling article (like the Pan Am one) is online. Give me some time
smily_headphones1.gif

 
Jul 12, 2015 at 10:36 AM Post #460 of 2,553

probemax

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Posts
12
Likes
10
After some testing, i am unable to get DSD64 on working with osx. (Using app VOX) PCM is working on 3 three sampling.
Also need help on how to get the ZX2 to run with the CDM DAC at DSD64 
Please advise.
 
 
 
Also notice something wrong on the ALO site. http://www.aloaudio.com/continental-dual-mono
Stated in the para......
The front panel lights provide you with quick access to the DAC’s sample rate.  Red = 44.1 / 48kHz, Green = 88.2 / 96kHz, Blue = 176.4 / 192kHz, White = DSD64
 
BUT at the lower part of the site after the reviews, there is a part on inputs/outputs.
The front diagram is showing the wrong info on the Green and Blue LEDs.
 
Please kindly work on it.
It causes confusion when you are troubleshooting the sampling
 
 
Cheers.
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 11:35 AM Post #461 of 2,553

AlanYWM

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Posts
353
Likes
54
I managed to get DSD64 on my pc using foobar200 with Win8.1. PCM files are also showing up correctly on the LEDs. Now trying to clock in more hours on the CDM in the hope that things will improve further :D As it is right now, I am quite happy with the sound.
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 12:33 PM Post #462 of 2,553
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Posts
2,149
Likes
1,798
  After some testing, i am unable to get DSD64 on working with osx. (Using app VOX) PCM is working on 3 three sampling.
Also need help on how to get the ZX2 to run with the CDM DAC at DSD64 
Please advise.
 
 
 
Also notice something wrong on the ALO site. http://www.aloaudio.com/continental-dual-mono
Stated in the para......
The front panel lights provide you with quick access to the DAC’s sample rate.  Red = 44.1 / 48kHz, Green = 88.2 / 96kHz, Blue = 176.4 / 192kHz, White = DSD64
 
BUT at the lower part of the site after the reviews, there is a part on inputs/outputs.
The front diagram is showing the wrong info on the Green and Blue LEDs.
 
Please kindly work on it.
It causes confusion when you are troubleshooting the sampling
 
 
Cheers.

 
Please follow closely the FAQ page and follow the instructions.
 
http://www.aloaudio.com/cdm-faq
 
If you cant get the DSD to work then you probably did not run the driver "CmediaDoPInstall.dmg"
 
Please try that.
 
I have not tested with VOX FYI.
 
The ALO site went down for about 30 min yesterday, this happens sometimes.
 
 
LEDs are White Blue Green Red.
 

 
ALO Audio Stay updated on ALO Audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.aloaudio.com/
Jul 12, 2015 at 2:28 PM Post #463 of 2,553

jlbrach

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Posts
4,470
Likes
2,857
out of curiosity could a CDM be ordered with the different tubes that run cooler and have better battery life and have those tubes installed in the CDM by ALO?That would go a long way for one like myself who worries about the relatively short battery life
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 7:43 PM Post #464 of 2,553

probemax

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Posts
12
Likes
10
Thanks.
 
My apologies. Downloaded but did not install the .dmg file.
Manage to get the OSX working with jriver at DSD64.
 
Any advice on android connection for Sony ZX2?
 
And Yes, this is the picture that has the mis info.
The blue should be 172/192k
and green should be 88/96k.
But in the picture, it is reversed.
 
Jul 12, 2015 at 8:51 PM Post #465 of 2,553
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Posts
2,149
Likes
1,798
  Thanks.
 
My apologies. Downloaded but did not install the .dmg file.
Manage to get the OSX working with jriver at DSD64.
 
Any advice on android connection for Sony ZX2?
 
And Yes, this is the picture that has the mis info.
The blue should be 172/192k
and green should be 88/96k.
But in the picture, it is reversed.

 
Ah good.
 
Bit rates were swapped, I thought we had corrected that earlier in the week but was missed. Should be...
 

 
Sony ZX2, I am unaware that this will work with the CDM. If it does let me know.
 
Thanks
 
Ken
 
ALO Audio Stay updated on ALO Audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.aloaudio.com/

Users who are viewing this thread

Top