Suspicious Sennheiser HD595 Deal?
post-7605011
Post #1 of 3

octan3

New Head-Fier
Reaction score
Hi, I'm completely new to the world of audiophilia and Head-Fi, but recently I have gotten very annoyed by the sound quality of random 5$ headphones I had lying around the house. I heard from my friends that the Sennheiser HD595 was a great headphone for gaming (I'm a pretty avid gamer) and also adequate for music. So, I looked around for the best deal for one, and I found these Open Box headphones from a site called MacMall.

http://www.macmall.com/p/Sennheiser-Electronic-Head-Phones/product~dpno~8804110~pdp.gidagff

I have never done any business with Macmall, when I built my computer I stayed with Newegg, Microcenter, and Amazon. However, I have read that they are pretty reliable and trustworthy. Because of this, I ordered these headphones, but after a bit of research I became suspicious, as at almost all other sites I could find these headphones refurbished/used/new for 120$ + , and to get one for just 82$ was a bit disconcerting. Also, because I don't really have any prior experience with good sound quality, I might be given a headphone that LOOKS like the HD595, but could be a cheaper Sennheiser headphone where they switched the outer parts, as many of the HD500 series look similar to each other.
Also, I have found in reviews of PCMall, MacMall's sister company, that PCMall was infamous for dealing bait-and-switches, where what someone originally bought would suddenly be "out of stock", and were given the choice to buy the same item from one of their sister companies for a much larger price.