Suggestions on a hp amp
Apr 11, 2002 at 5:34 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

Btrigg

New Head-Fier
Probably been asked many times, but hey, I'm a newbie, and I know regulars love re-answering questions....

I'm looking for a hp amp, probably around $300 tops. I've looked at www.headphone.com, and their total airhead small, I think it was called, the $300 one. But then I've read about creek being really good, I saw the obh 12 for $350, which I guess is the highest I will go. What else is there? Is that the best amp for $350 or less, perferably $300.

Apr 11, 2002 at 5:53 AM Post #2 of 13
depends on your preferences for solid state vs. vacuum tubes and what headphones you will be using with it.

Amps to investigate are The Creek, X-Cans v2, Headroom Little, MG Head, Corda HA-1.

Driftwood

Apr 12, 2002 at 12:21 AM Post #3 of 13
The Corda HA-1 is regarded around here as probably one of the best players in its $ class.

Apr 12, 2002 at 12:56 AM Post #4 of 13
As far as I've read the solidstate amps are more accurate, the tube amps sound more, musical. Is this true? What do you guys perfer. I'd naturally take the more accurate one, but I haven't heard a tube amp to compare.

Apr 12, 2002 at 1:15 AM Post #5 of 13
That's GENERALLY what the people on the forums say about solid state vs. tubes. Personally, I think it depends on the particular amp itself. Your best bet would be to listen to them and just feel to see which one you like best. I personally chose solid state and my Max for two reasons. The first is that I don't really have the time or the expense of maintaining and trying out different tubes. The second reason is that Headroom has a good reputation and I feel that by purchasing their product I'm also getting a good customer service/support/warranty.

Apr 12, 2002 at 1:34 AM Post #6 of 13
The tube vs. solid state thing is totally a matter of preference. Gotta try both. There's no getting around it.