Sudden loud static noise from all speakers (receiver)
post-10533204
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 8

csice

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
42
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Posts
42
Likes
10
I didn't change anything and now it suddenly sounds like a really static radio station that comes from all 6 speakers from all inputs. I have a Yamaha receiver. I have no idea what to do, any help would be greatly appreciated, in the meantime, I can't do anything involved with the tv.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10533400
Post #2 of 8

bigshot

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
21,582
Reaction score
3,625
Location
Hollywood USA
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Location
Hollywood USA
Posts
21,582
Likes
3,625
Website
www.facebook.com
Did you accidentally switch the input to AM radio?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10533736
Post #3 of 8

csice

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Messages
42
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 19, 2004
Posts
42
Likes
10
No, I can hear the audio of whatever the input is, but it is extremely distorted and behind static.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10533784
Post #4 of 8

bigshot

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
21,582
Reaction score
3,625
Location
Hollywood USA
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Location
Hollywood USA
Posts
21,582
Likes
3,625
Website
www.facebook.com
Sounds like your amp took a dive then.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12922795
Post #5 of 8

Steve Bartosch

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Posts
3
Likes
0

I've been experiencing this on 2 Yamaha amps in same system. Prior to that, an Onkyo was thought to be bad with very slow start up times.
Thinking now that it has to either be the TV or the old DirecTV HR34 Genie. It was only happening when playing back recorded programming or pausing and then hitting PLAY again.
Did you ever figure it out on your end?
One of the Yamaha's was a 3-4 year old RXV673 and the other was a new RXV681
 
     Share This Post       
post-12924567
Post #6 of 8

KyPeN

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
357
Reaction score
27
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Posts
357
Likes
27
I have this issue in one of my rooms due to using powerline network adapters.  Are you using those?  If so, disconnect and try playing music again.  
 
     Share This Post       
post-12925111
Post #7 of 8

Steve Bartosch

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Posts
3
Likes
0
Nothing like that here> The customer replaced their old Samsung TV (had 3 prong) with new Samsung (2 prong) today. Ideally, it is related to a grounding issue. Will update when I know for sure.
BTW, Yamaha Tech support had suggested that maybe the Bose Acoustimas system had a grounded plug that needed to be defeated. However, IT was passive. I had even disconnected the Bose and connected a stereo pair of Polk speakers and got same result where it eventually went to loud static when customer was skipping through DirecTV.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12926629
Post #8 of 8

Steve Bartosch

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Posts
3
Likes
0

​New TV did not fix the issue. It did it again last night. Customer is trying to get his DirecTV HR34 Genie replaced and I've also told him to test each of the outlets connected to his entertainment center.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top