Stax SRM323s hum on right channel.
post-7744784
Post #16 of 23

wind016

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,895
Reaction score
86
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Posts
3,895
Likes
86
 
Quote:
If you disconnect both RCAs from your source and the volume control is all the way down, is the hum still there?
Again with the source disconnected and you turn up the volume knob, does the hum get louder?
If your AC plug has a ground and you use a cheater plug to not connect the ground pin, is the hum still there?

I've never used a cheater plug before, but I know my source doesn't have a hum. The hum is only there when I bring the volume up on the 323s amp pot whether or not the source is connected.
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7744816
Post #17 of 23

wuwhere

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
80,479
Reaction score
2,733
Location
🌎☮️
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Location
🌎☮️
Posts
80,479
Likes
2,733


Quote:
 

I've never used a cheater plug before, but I know my source doesn't have a hum. The hum is only there when I bring the volume up on the 323s amp pot whether or not the source is connected.
 

So your amp is amplifying the hum. Now that means the problem is in your amp. And it could be a failed component. It won't be easy to troubleshoot by yourself.
 
Read this, a shotgun way to fix a hum.
 
http://music-electronics-forum.com/t7152/
 
     Share This Post       
post-7745156
Post #18 of 23

wind016

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,895
Reaction score
86
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Posts
3,895
Likes
86
Actually, I discovered something today. I don't know why I didn't think of this before. There is no hum at all on the maximum volume so I can use my source to adjust the volume and it's perfectly fine this way. Why do you suppose there is no hum at maximum volume? Pot issue?
 
     Share This Post       
post-7745473
Post #19 of 23

wuwhere

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
80,479
Reaction score
2,733
Location
🌎☮️
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Location
🌎☮️
Posts
80,479
Likes
2,733


Quote:
Actually, I discovered something today. I don't know why I didn't think of this before. There is no hum at all on the maximum volume so I can use my source to adjust the volume and it's perfectly fine this way. Why do you suppose there is no hum at maximum volume? Pot issue?


It could be that the volume pot is bad.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7745553
Post #20 of 23

K3cT

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
2,454
Reaction score
28
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Posts
2,454
Likes
28
Time to get a can of electrical contact cleaner and clean the potentiometer's shaft. There should be some tutorial videos in Youtube that you can use as a rough guideline. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7745606
Post #21 of 23

wuwhere

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
80,479
Reaction score
2,733
Location
🌎☮️
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Location
🌎☮️
Posts
80,479
Likes
2,733
Use Deoxit. You can also use Radio Shack TV-Tuner/Control cleaner lubricant.
 
That's an Alps pot. Here's a link from AA on cleaning it.
 
http://www.audioasylum.com/cgi/vt.mpl?f=amp&m=167154
 
     Share This Post       
post-7745791
Post #22 of 23

wind016

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,895
Reaction score
86
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Posts
3,895
Likes
86
 
Quote:
Time to get a can of electrical contact cleaner and clean the potentiometer's shaft. There should be some tutorial videos in Youtube that you can use as a rough guideline. 
 
Quote:
Use Deoxit. You can also use Radio Shack TV-Tuner/Control cleaner lubricant.
 
That's an Alps pot. Here's a link from AA on cleaning it.
 
http://www.audioasylum.com/cgi/vt.mpl?f=amp&m=167154

Thanks guys! I'll try to get it cleaned and see if the hum gets fixed.
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7746400
Post #23 of 23

tyre

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Messages
483
Reaction score
16
Joined
Oct 9, 2004
Posts
483
Likes
16


Quote:
Originally Posted by wind016 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
 
The hum is only there when I bring the volume up on the 323s amp pot whether or not the source is connected.
 

From your photos, it looks an Alps RK27 pot. It could be some type of interaction between the metal pot shaft and the case (assuming the case is grounded). Connecting the pot to ground through one of the pot's back screws might help. Check out Step 8 on this page of Tangent's site:
 
http://tangentsoft.net/audio/ppa/amp/steps.html
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top