SR-60 w/ Sony MD walkman???
post-173922
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 8

Silver

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
501
Reaction score
12
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Posts
501
Likes
12
Just curious, can a Sony MZ-R900 drives a pair of SR-60?
Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-173927
Post #2 of 8

Magicthyse

Better to look good than to sound good!
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
890
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Posts
890
Likes
10
Yes it will - won't sound that amazing though - whatever it is, the Sony MD's suck all the 'Gradoness' out of a Grado.
 
     Share This Post       
post-173995
Post #3 of 8

Silver

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
501
Reaction score
12
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Posts
501
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally posted by Magicthyse
Yes it will - won't sound that amazing though - whatever it is, the Sony MD's suck all the 'Gradoness' out of a Grado.


You mean the straightforwardness of Grado?
 
     Share This Post       
post-174056
Post #4 of 8

Andrew Pielet

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
969
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Posts
969
Likes
10
I use my mzr900 w/ CHA47 and SR 60's. It is worthy, only cause the amp. I have been using my KSC 35's lately, and they are first on my list now for portability. I don't know which one to choose when I leave for work.
 
     Share This Post       
post-174627
Post #5 of 8

Steve999

smooth, DARK
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
2,468
Reaction score
287
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Posts
2,468
Likes
287
I use the SR60s with an MD walkman a lot. If I've just listened to a Koss or Sennheiser HD497 or Sony MDR V6 phone, the bass seems to come up a little short viscerally by comparison. But if I haven't, they sound great. I was up at 3 A.M. listening to them on my MZ-N707 discman last night, with the tone settings flat, and they sounded sweet. The bass to me is deep but restrained, that would be my reservation. Is it because there's no amp? Heck, I dunno. If you have tone controls on your 900 (rather than megabass), just go for +1 on the bass if you want a little more.
 
     Share This Post       
post-174723
Post #6 of 8

purk

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
10,238
Reaction score
2,227
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Posts
10,238
Likes
2,227
My sr-80 compliment my Sony MZ-R900 very well. R900 headphone amp is sufficient to drive the SR-80 in to a dangerously loud volume. Still, it sounds much better on my legendary discmans.

Purk
 
     Share This Post       
post-174793
Post #7 of 8

katsudon1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2002
Messages
177
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 15, 2002
Posts
177
Likes
10
Most of the portable gears shall be able to power Grados due to the headphones' low impendance. However, I have to remind you that the Grado HP plug will not fit onto the HP jack of the "stick" SONY remote. Hence you may have to plug it into the HP jack of the MD unit directly. In that case you will be losing control since now new MD units don't have a LCD on it (luck the R900 has one).
 
     Share This Post       
post-174799
Post #8 of 8

Steve999

smooth, DARK
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Messages
2,468
Reaction score
287
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Posts
2,468
Likes
287
I have the MZ-N505 and MZ-N707 (both new models) and never use the remote to the 707 (the 505 doesn't even have a remote). They both have LCDs. I have a fairly new pair of SR 60s and maybe they changed the Sony remotes or the SR60s, but my Grados fit into the 707s remote.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top