Speaker amps for headphones
Sep 19, 2021 at 6:12 AM Post #3,691 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,172
Likes
2,486
Location
Germany
Anyone?
Hi chaps
My friend @ErichA is about to receive my Forzaaudioworks Speaker TAPs.
His goal was trying these on his Mcintosh MA 252 for driving Susvaras.
Now as we both are kind of noobs regarding amplification technicalities we re seeking advice for this setup.
I heard that driving speaker TAPs out of tube amps isn't a good idea without resistors?
Does this apply to the described setup?
a) What shall we add to get it running without damage?
b) better use an adapter box like the one just posted before?
Cheers
Anyone?
 
Last edited:
Sep 19, 2021 at 10:44 AM Post #3,692 of 3,772

number1sixerfan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Posts
3,405
Likes
1,671
Location
Cali
Anyone?

Anyone?

I'll let someone more technical jump in, but yes, I would use a resistor box with a tube amp, it's widely accepted that there's risk with using headphones with tube amps directly. I use Raal's interface box with really good results.
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 12:01 PM Post #3,693 of 3,772

Sandro Sena

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Posts
29
Likes
20
Location
Recife - Brasil
I'll let someone more technical jump in, but yes, I would use a resistor box with a tube amp, it's widely accepted that there's risk with using headphones with tube amps directly. I use Raal's interface box with really good results.
Hi,

do you use Raal's interface box as a way to connect conventional headphones to your speaker amplifier?
 
Last edited:
Sep 21, 2021 at 1:19 PM Post #3,694 of 3,772

Sandro Sena

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Posts
29
Likes
20
Location
Recife - Brasil
I ask you because I would like to use it in the same way, but I am unsure about the technical feasibility of such a use. If it is possible it would be great, without the need to look for and buy a good resistor box.
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 1:39 PM Post #3,695 of 3,772

ThanatosVI

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Posts
4,318
Likes
4,468
Location
Germany
I ask you because I would like to use it in the same way, but I am unsure about the technical feasibility of such a use. If it is possible it would be great, without the need to look for and buy a good resistor box.
I asked the manufacturer and he didn't recommend the use of the Interface Box for normal headphones.
The reason is because the Interface Box has baffle step compensation. It will alter the frequency response of other Headphones.
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 1:47 PM Post #3,696 of 3,772

DuncanDirkDick

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Posts
338
Likes
419
Location
Germany
Anyone?

Anyone?

You shouldn't run a tube amp without a load connected. If you can't guarantee that, usually a shunt resistor is used. AFAIK Mcintosh MA 252 is a SS with tube preamp, so you should be fine.
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 2:08 PM Post #3,697 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,172
Likes
2,486
Location
Germany
You shouldn't run a tube amp without a load connected. If you can't guarantee that, usually a shunt resistor is used. AFAIK Mcintosh MA 252 is a SS with tube preamp, so you should be fine.
Thx, you are right, I wasn't even aware of that design.
So if tube amp is used only as preamp, there shouldn't be any risk really as only the amp directly connected to the speaker TAPs matters?
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 2:13 PM Post #3,698 of 3,772

DuncanDirkDick

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Posts
338
Likes
419
Location
Germany
So if tube amp is used only as preamp, there shouldn't be any risk really as only the amp directly connected to the speaker TAPs matters?
Usually, yes.
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 2:57 PM Post #3,699 of 3,772

Articnoise

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Posts
1,856
Likes
929
Location
Sweden
Thx, you are right, I wasn't even aware of that design.
So if tube amp is used only as preamp, there shouldn't be any risk really as only the amp directly connected to the speaker TAPs matters?

Correct.
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 2:59 PM Post #3,700 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,172
Likes
2,486
Location
Germany
Sep 21, 2021 at 3:41 PM Post #3,701 of 3,772

Sandro Sena

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Posts
29
Likes
20
Location
Recife - Brasil
I asked the manufacturer and he didn't recommend the use of the Interface Box for normal headphones.
The reason is because the Interface Box has baffle step compensation. It will alter the frequency response of other Headphones.
Thank you!
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 3:53 PM Post #3,702 of 3,772

number1sixerfan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Posts
3,405
Likes
1,671
Location
Cali
Hi,

do you use Raal's interface box as a way to connect conventional headphones to your speaker amplifier?

I asked the manufacturer and he didn't recommend the use of the Interface Box for normal headphones.
The reason is because the Interface Box has baffle step compensation. It will alter the frequency response of other Headphones.

Yes, I use with regular headphones. I guess I could lug my marantz amp back into my listening room to compare with and without the interface, but I haven't noticed anything off with using the Raal box with the TC or the Susvara. I've pretty much landed on it and the EVO 400 as my main amp for both. But it's good info to have and eventually I guess I'll compare and report back.
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 4:28 PM Post #3,703 of 3,772

Sandro Sena

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Posts
29
Likes
20
Location
Recife - Brasil
Yes, I use with regular headphones. I guess I could lug my marantz amp back into my listening room to compare with and without the interface, but I haven't noticed anything off with using the Raal box with the TC or the Susvara. I've pretty much landed on it and the EVO 400 as my main amp for both. But it's good info to have and eventually I guess I'll compare and report back.
Thx!
 
Sep 21, 2021 at 4:40 PM Post #3,704 of 3,772

deafenears

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 22, 2018
Posts
327
Likes
332
Location
N/A
I asked the manufacturer and he didn't recommend the use of the Interface Box for normal headphones.
The reason is because the Interface Box has baffle step compensation. It will alter the frequency response of other Headphones.
I guess that's going to change with the upcoming release of the RAAL circumaural SR1a - interface boxes without, or a switch to disable, the baffle step compensation.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top