Speaker amps for headphones
Sep 17, 2021 at 5:45 AM Post #3,677 of 3,772

ThanatosVI

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Posts
4,379
Likes
4,552
Location
Germany
Are speaker taps always custom made? Is there not a way to create one from standard cable/adapters (without resorting to making the cable oneself)?
Never seen "standard adapters " of this kind.
The most "standard" approach I can think of is buying the Hifiman Speakertap Adapter Box from Amazon and use standard speaker and headphone cables.
 
Sep 17, 2021 at 6:05 AM Post #3,679 of 3,772

ThanatosVI

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Posts
4,379
Likes
4,552
Location
Germany
Is it the same as the "HiFiMAN HE-Adapter"?
Yes, that's the one I meant.

It won't be as good as the custom solutions, but being from Amazon you can probably test it and return it if you don't like it
 
Sep 17, 2021 at 12:49 PM Post #3,681 of 3,772

DJJEZ

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Posts
814
Likes
1,479
Location
UK
Sep 18, 2021 at 7:47 AM Post #3,682 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,223
Likes
2,530
Location
Germany
Hi chaps
My friend @ErichA is about to receive my Forzaaudioworks Speaker TAPs.
His goal was trying these on his Mcintosh MA 252 for driving Susvaras.
Now as we both are kind of noobs regarding amplification technicalities we re seeking advice for this setup.
I heard that driving speaker TAPs out of tube amps isn't a good idea without resistors?
Does this apply to the described setup?
a) What shall we add to get it running without damage?
b) better use an adapter box like the one just posted before?
Cheers
 
Last edited:
Sep 18, 2021 at 9:27 AM Post #3,683 of 3,772

newtseverywhere

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 28, 2021
Posts
29
Likes
24
Location
EU
I reached out to lavricables and got answers immediately, that might fill the missing piece of this puzzle.
I have one last quick basic question: I was planning to have this: RME ADI2 DAC <--- XLR interconnect ---> Roksan K3 <--- speaker tap ---> Susvaras.
But I might have an opportunity to get a discounted (demo unit) Roksan K3 INT, which might be generally more useful, but which does not have XLR input. Do I have to replace the XLR interconnect by a RCA interconnect and does it matter in any way?
 
Sep 18, 2021 at 9:33 AM Post #3,684 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,223
Likes
2,530
Location
Germany
I reached out to lavricables and got answers immediately, that might fill the missing piece of this puzzle.
I have one last quick basic question: I was planning to have this: RME ADI2 DAC <--- XLR interconnect ---> Roksan K3 <--- speaker tap ---> Susvaras.
But I might have an opportunity to get a discounted (demo unit) Roksan K3 INT, which might be generally more useful, but which does not have XLR input. Do I have to replace the XLR interconnect by a RCA interconnect and does it matter in any way?
https://www.ebay-kleinanzeigen.de/s-anzeige/roksan-k3-stereo-power-amplifier/1839349200-172-6480?
Potentially you can get my speaker TAPs in case Erich from my post above cannot use them for his Mcintosh
 
Last edited:
Sep 18, 2021 at 9:34 AM Post #3,685 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,223
Likes
2,530
Location
Germany
.
 
Sep 18, 2021 at 9:53 AM Post #3,687 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,223
Likes
2,530
Location
Germany
Are you not using the speaker tap yourself anymore then? Did you get another one, or did you change your setup?
Actually there are 2 reasons:
My Susvaras left driver stopped working.
Not related in anyway to that setup, guess just a quality issue.
I am expecting a long waiting time getting it back and leaving K3 unused in the meantime - therefore I returned the brand new K3 too in order to not suffer from value loss.
Second thing is that I think the Shanling M30 signature with yet pronounced mids don't pair perfectly with the Roksan signature leading too some tracks appearing a bit bloated in the midbass region in contrast to running from M30 alone.
If you have a more neutral source such as e.g RME ADI 2 DAC I think that could fit better
 
Last edited:
Sep 18, 2021 at 9:59 AM Post #3,689 of 3,772

FooFighter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2017
Posts
2,223
Likes
2,530
Location
Germany

Users who are viewing this thread

Top