sound blaster live settings??
post-185192
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 12

tr4ck

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 3, 2002
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 3, 2002
Posts
15
Likes
0
Hi. I have a pair of sony 7506 headphones running of a sound blaster live card. What are the best settings for headphones for the soundblaster live?
 
     Share This Post       
post-185200
Post #2 of 12

Magicthyse

Better to look good than to sound good!
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
890
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Posts
890
Likes
10
Dare I suggest the Headphone setting?
 
     Share This Post       
post-185202
Post #3 of 12

jms007bnd007

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
507
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 17, 2002
Posts
507
Likes
10
try all of em, and see which one sounds the best to you. My guess is the headphone setting would sound the best, but maybe not.
 
     Share This Post       
post-185210
Post #4 of 12

MTRH

Head-Fier
Joined
May 13, 2002
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 13, 2002
Posts
73
Likes
0
If you use Winamp 2.x for playback:
DS SSRC Output plugin From Pete's homepage.
SSRC is made to solve the Creative cards resampling issue.
While you're at it, get this update also


Other suggestions, no EQ, no loudness...
If you must use EQ, use it on a "lower all, except" basis, don't raise.
also suggested is: Naoki Shibata's parametric EQ.

Cheers,
David
 
     Share This Post       
post-185344
Post #5 of 12

Duncan

Headphoneus Supremus
Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
13,162
Reaction score
1,274
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Posts
13,162
Likes
1,274
Going down a different, much more costly route... if you have the live! and not the live! value (ie you have the one with the daughterboard) I would say you should try the route I take, which is the digital output of the Live! into my DAC, out into my META42, and into my headphones... Great


Standard listening though, I always have everything on flat settings...
 
     Share This Post       
post-185424
Post #6 of 12

MTRH

Head-Fier
Joined
May 13, 2002
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 13, 2002
Posts
73
Likes
0
that's nice, but keep in mind tho that all outs from Creative cards (except SB128, but that's another manufacturer) are affected by the resampling issue.
So SSRC is also an option for you
 
     Share This Post       
post-185475
Post #7 of 12

Chastity

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 24, 2002
Messages
336
Reaction score
143
Joined
Aug 24, 2002
Posts
336
Likes
143
I would use 2-speaker mode as opposed to Headphones since the headphone mode will compress the audio.

If you want to use SSRC for resampling, you get better results using a program like CoolEdit to do it, and encode it afterwards, assuming you are ripping from source. If not, you are stuck with the resampling plugin.

Another option is to not use a Live. Replace it with a TBSC. You won't be sorry. On the TBSC, Headphone and 2-spkr mode won't matter.
 
     Share This Post       
post-185656
Post #8 of 12

MTRH

Head-Fier
Joined
May 13, 2002
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 13, 2002
Posts
73
Likes
0
Chastity; you are mistaking resampling for something else
 
     Share This Post       
post-185842
Post #9 of 12

Duncan

Headphoneus Supremus
Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
13,162
Reaction score
1,274
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Posts
13,162
Likes
1,274
Thanks for the tip MTRH... kindly appreciated, although I personally am not too keen on the WinAmp GUI, nor its sound quality (I thought that the Fraunhofer MP3 codec was supposed to be the best, I guess Nullsoft need to do more work on it....)

Personally, I'm still glued to WMP8/9 (9 on XP Home and 8 on XP Pro... don't ask why I have both on my PC
) One thing that Micro$oft have seemed to have done right is their audio codecs, i'm most impressed... and once the sound has been through my DAC, and META... it does genuinly sound pretty credible


If WinAmp produce a better looking GUI (even the skins look poor to me, but that could be because I've been brought up on a diet of Microsoft products)... and sort out their mundane sounding player... They'll have a new number 1 fan
 
     Share This Post       
post-185915
Post #10 of 12

Magicthyse

Better to look good than to sound good!
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
890
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Posts
890
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally posted by Chastity
I would use 2-speaker mode as opposed to Headphones since the headphone mode will compress the audio.


I tried it on the games PC's and the sound does get much wider - but the hiss goes up a notch, maybe? Any benefit for games?
 
     Share This Post       
post-185982
Post #11 of 12

MTRH

Head-Fier
Joined
May 13, 2002
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 13, 2002
Posts
73
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally posted by Duncan
Thanks for the tip MTRH... kindly appreciated, although I personally am not too keen on the WinAmp GUI, nor its sound quality (I thought that the Fraunhofer MP3 codec was supposed to be the best, I guess Nullsoft need to do more work on it....)

Personally, I'm still glued to WMP8/9 (9 on XP Home and 8 on XP Pro... don't ask why I have both on my PC
) One thing that Micro$oft have seemed to have done right is their audio codecs, i'm most impressed... and once the sound has been through my DAC, and META... it does genuinly sound pretty credible


If WinAmp produce a better looking GUI (even the skins look poor to me, but that could be because I've been brought up on a diet of Microsoft products)... and sort out their mundane sounding player... They'll have a new number 1 fan


Dang.. you should listen to some high quality MPC or AAC then... hehe.. if you like WMA you'll die when you hear this.
 
     Share This Post       
post-185995
Post #12 of 12

Toe

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 6, 2001
Messages
305
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 6, 2001
Posts
305
Likes
10
A Soundblaster Live is best set right in the middle of a nice red bullseye.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top