Sony Walkman OS custom firmware (non-Android)
Dec 4, 2020 at 6:58 AM Post #2,461 of 6,030

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Posts
10,539
Likes
5,636
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Currently installing on a NW-A55


"If the region of the player is J, it will be changed to U, in order to avoid the "Japanese"
language that cannot be changed. You can change it to any other region, using the destination tool."

Does that mean I have to convert it back to J region once I install the firmware, or is that saying it will only be U in name and J in functionality? Or U temporarily and then reverts back to J?

Apologies if this has been answered

Yes you have to use rockbox tool to go back to J after the fw installation. This is to prevent you from being locked in to Japanese language when the installation does a factory reset
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 7:06 AM Post #2,462 of 6,030

fragzone

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Posts
41
Likes
41
Location
Brisbane Australia
It will just be changed to U for DMP-A50R FE, as there is a factory reset being done automatically, in order to avoid the Japanese language that cannot be changed.

So yes, you would have to change it back to J yourself afterwards.
Yes you have to use rockbox tool to go back to J after the fw installation. This is to prevent you from being locked in to Japanese language when the installation does a factory reset


Okay thanks very much.
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 7:17 AM Post #2,463 of 6,030

goody

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Posts
1,384
Likes
282
is there a reason to change to J after using mod? my player was on E before mod but after mod it still sounded great
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 7:22 AM Post #2,464 of 6,030

HeyManslowdown97

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Posts
947
Likes
572
Location
Venus
Here are measurements RMAA for the ZX300

Disclaimer: I purchased this unit from e-Earphone's used department at about 30% off the retail price. e-Earphone rocks.

http://ohm-image.net/data/audio/rmaa-sony-zx300-24-bit


NOTE: RMAA shows a volume setting of 100. That is an input mistake on my part. The volume was set to 120 or 100% of the NW-WM1Z's volume scale.

Loads:

NL - no load
SM2 - Earsonics SM2
ES7 - Audio Technica ES7
DT880 - Beyerdynamic DT880/600

And for the NW-WM1Z with a disclaimer

Disclaimer: Sony lent me their best headphone, their best DAP, and their latest DAC for evaluation. All of it goes back Sunday.

http://ohm-image.net/data/audio/rmaa-sony-nw-wm1z-24-bit


Loads:

NL - no load
SM2 - Earsonics SM2
ES7 - Audio Technica ES7
DT880 - Beyerdynamic DT880/600
 
Last edited:
Dec 4, 2020 at 7:23 AM Post #2,465 of 6,030

MrWalkman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 9, 2020
Posts
2,299
Likes
8,393
Location
Space-Time
is there a reason to change to J after using mod? my player was on E before mod but after mod it still sounded great

You could just experiment and see if the J region sounds better for you or not.

One of the main changes is that in the J region the highs are more toned down/forgiving on the ears compared to E. The FE mods are already bringing much smoother highs compared to the stock firmware, but the J region can help even more.
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 7:24 AM Post #2,466 of 6,030

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Posts
10,539
Likes
5,636
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
is there a reason to change to J after using mod? my player was on E before mod but after mod it still sounded great

The mods are developed with J but you can use whatever region sounds best to you
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 7:42 AM Post #2,467 of 6,030

HeyManslowdown97

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Posts
947
Likes
572
Location
Venus
Last edited:
Dec 4, 2020 at 8:19 AM Post #2,468 of 6,030

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Posts
10,539
Likes
5,636
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Sony has some software that can clean up your files Noise reduction to try.

https://download.cnet.com/Sony-Noise-Reduction/3000-2169_4-10228838.html

They actually have some interesting whole bunch of software to try for free but some aren’t for audio; they are for video.

https://download.cnet.com/developer/Sony Creative Software/i-6279491/

https://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/

So it is Sony’s take on an anti virus software ?

C2811A02-93FC-4A74-98D1-E4A260ED6030.jpeg
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 9:04 AM Post #2,469 of 6,030

goody

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Posts
1,384
Likes
282
i am now seriously considering selling my sony ZX507 the android on it is not great plus the battery life is pants..and the sound from the A55 is quite good
 
Last edited:
Dec 4, 2020 at 9:49 AM Post #2,470 of 6,030

MrWalkman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 9, 2020
Posts
2,299
Likes
8,393
Location
Space-Time
i am now seriously considering selling my sony ZX507 the android on it is not great plus the battery life is pants..and the sound from the A55 is quite good

You could get a WM1A instead, it's really awesome, and no battery life issues.

But I would be happy with an A55 as well. It's just that the WM1A is just even better.
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 10:31 AM Post #2,471 of 6,030

goody

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Posts
1,384
Likes
282
You could get a WM1A instead, it's really awesome, and no battery life issues.

But I would be happy with an A55 as well. It's just that the WM1A is just even better.
thats exactly what i am thinking to get the wm1a instead...i have to look for a cheap one now
 
Last edited:
Dec 4, 2020 at 11:19 AM Post #2,472 of 6,030

aceedburn

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Posts
957
Likes
2,020
Location
Kuala Lumpur, MY
i am now seriously considering selling my sony ZX507 the android on it is not great plus the battery life is pants..and the sound from the A55 is quite good
Great decision. Trash the ZX507. It’s a failed product IMHO. Go for the 1A. You won’t regret it and it will give you years and years of enjoyment.
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 11:57 AM Post #2,473 of 6,030

gerelmx1986

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Posts
11,548
Likes
4,384
Location
Germany
Yesterday the static noise aggravated. First I thought it was the sony kimber cable for MDR-Z1R. But after fiddling with the cable with a fiio adapter I realized it was the wm1A socket.

Seems yo have fixed it for me after 4 years of not cleaning the jack . Spray a bit of wd40 into the headphones plug. Plug into wm1A, rotate the plug, remove the hps, clean with towel, repeat 2 to 4 times.

Walkman must be off completely
 
Dec 4, 2020 at 12:05 PM Post #2,475 of 6,030

Lookout57

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Posts
1,610
Likes
2,260
CNET is one of the largest malware hosting sites in the world. I would never download anything from it.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top