Sony NW-ZX300
post-13841970
Post #2,581 of 11,402

JerryHead

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
240
Reaction score
53
Location
SoCal (North America)
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Location
SoCal (North America)
Posts
240
Likes
53
Yep you are ok , but that cable is the heavy duty kimber cable not the normal balanced. So it's $$$$, and thick enough to rapell from an Apache. :)
Whoa, wait a sec! do you mean to say that this cable is thicker (and possibly stiffer) than the standard Sony cable? I bought it over the less expensive one because I thought it would be lighter weight, and more flexible. I can still cancel it. Lemme know please..
 
     Share This Post       
post-13842143
Post #2,582 of 11,402

abitdeef

Formerly known as ihatepopupads
Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
5,818
Reaction score
2,665
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Posts
5,818
Likes
2,665
Whoa, wait a sec! do you mean to say that this cable is thicker (and possibly stiffer) than the standard Sony cable? I bought it over the less expensive one because I thought it would be lighter weight, and more flexible. I can still cancel it. Lemme know please..

psikey would know for sure but that kimber cable sure looks thicker and heavier. I would cancel and just get the regular sony black cable and save some dosh. Unless you are going to be extremely rough with your setup. And lets be real, only a moron or retard would beat up nice audio equipment.

No offence to morons or retards intended.:) I quite often fall into both categories.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13842152
Post #2,583 of 11,402

abitdeef

Formerly known as ihatepopupads
Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
5,818
Reaction score
2,665
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Posts
5,818
Likes
2,665
Another thing I noticed about the zx300 is that it doesn't let you display the album art on the whole screen like the zx100 did.

Well no because this is a touch screen and you need the on screen buttons to navigate. Although I suppose they could make it so you could enlarge it and shrink it by touch.I'm spoiled by the 300 because I remember daps that had no album art or tiny album art like dx90. Would be cool if the zx300 got rockboxed, then lots of UI options would be available. Doesn't seem too many Sonys get rockboxed though, maybe because of Sony's proprietary hardware and software.
,
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13842215
Post #2,584 of 11,402

Mark2010

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Messages
211
Reaction score
30
Joined
Sep 26, 2009
Posts
211
Likes
30
Well no because this is a touch screen and you need the on screen buttons to navigate. Although I suppose they could make it so you could enlarge it and shrink it by touch.I'm spoiled by the 300 because I remember daps that had no album art or tiny album art like dx90. Would be cool if the zx300 got rockboxed, then lots of UI options would be available. Doesn't seem too many Sonys get rockboxed though, maybe because of Sony's proprietary hardware and software.
,
With the side buttons you don't really need the on screen buttons.

It seems like they just lifted the OS from the A30/A40 without fully utilizing the zx300 screen space.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13842216
Post #2,585 of 11,402

psikey

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
2,147
Reaction score
1,014
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
2,147
Likes
1,014
psikey would know for sure but that kimber cable sure looks thicker and heavier. I would cancel and just get the regular sony black cable and save some dosh. Unless you are going to be extremely rough with your setup. And lets be real, only a moron or retard would beat up nice audio equipment.

No offence to morons or retards intended.:) I quite often fall into both categories.
The Kimber cable is thick/relatively heavy but super soft & flexible. I love mine but did suggest the Basic version. The kimber is the thickest mmcx cable I've ever owned (must have had over 5 types now) but still beautiful without the crappy memory wire which I personally hate.

I've even order a 4.4mm to 3.5mm adapter so I can just keep the Kimber on my SE846's when using with other SE devices.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13842298
Post #2,586 of 11,402

JerryHead

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
240
Reaction score
53
Location
SoCal (North America)
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Location
SoCal (North America)
Posts
240
Likes
53
The Kimber cable is thick/relatively heavy but super soft & flexible. I love mine but did suggest the Basic version. The kimber is the thickest mmcx cable I've ever owned (must have had over 5 types now) but still beautiful without the crappy memory wire which I personally hate.

I've even order a 4.4mm to 3.5mm adapter so I can just keep the Kimber on my SE846's when using with other SE devices.
Thicker and heavier than the standard black Sony balanced cable?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13842305
Post #2,587 of 11,402

psikey

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
2,147
Reaction score
1,014
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Posts
2,147
Likes
1,014
Thicker and heavier than the standard black Sony balanced cable?
Yes. I posted a photo of it further back in the thread.

Found it

10020571.jpg
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13842405
Post #2,588 of 11,402

JerryHead

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Messages
240
Reaction score
53
Location
SoCal (North America)
Joined
Nov 8, 2017
Location
SoCal (North America)
Posts
240
Likes
53
Thanks, it was a little hard to determine the true dimensions from those original photos. To be honest, the Kimber doesn't even look all that thick in your photo above, but I'm taking your word for it. I prefer my cable lighter and thinner, even if it has the dreaded memory feature. I cancelled my Kimber order and ordered the original black Sony balanced cable.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13842466
Post #2,589 of 11,402

max007007

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2005
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Joined
Oct 14, 2005
Posts
10
Likes
1
Dear all, I have just moved from zx100 to this new zx300. May I know how to enable the "surround" sound settings as in zx100? I like this type of sounding. Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-13842634
Post #2,590 of 11,402

ltanasom

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
166
Reaction score
38
Joined
May 10, 2015
Posts
166
Likes
38
I'm looking for new dap and are interestedin zx300 and ak70ii.
Has anyone has a chance to compare both daps?
If yes, an advice on which one is better (sound, headphone power output, etc.) would be really appreciated.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13842678
Post #2,591 of 11,402

abitdeef

Formerly known as ihatepopupads
Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
5,818
Reaction score
2,665
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Posts
5,818
Likes
2,665
With the side buttons you don't really need the on screen buttons.

It seems like they just lifted the OS from the A30/A40 without fully utilizing the zx300 screen space.


The screen space is basically the same size as the a30/40 screen but the display is much better imo- the matt screen rules! Who knows maybe sony will add the enlarge album art function. I prefer touch screens anyways, especially with such nice solid hardware buttons. No complaints here.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13843042
Post #2,592 of 11,402

Brice d’Oliveira

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
117
Reaction score
35
Location
France
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Location
France
Posts
117
Likes
35
Hello guys,
Please, for you, what’s better to go balanced:

- Sony MDR-EX1000 EX
Or
- Sony XBA-H3
Or
- Sony XBA-N3AP

Do they all have 4.4mm jack ?
Thanks for your answer.

Have a good day :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-13843065
Post #2,593 of 11,402

kms108

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
2,765
Reaction score
838
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Posts
2,765
Likes
838
Hello guys,
Please, for you, what’s better to go balanced:

- Sony MDR-EX1000 EX
Or
- Sony XBA-H3
Or
- Sony XBA-N3AP

Do they all have 4.4mm jack ?
Thanks for your answer.

Have a good day :)
Only the N3 have Balanced, either optional or get the N3BP, the H3 as optional, whiles the EX1000, it's either custom or use a adapter, although adapter is hard to come by, depending on where you live.

http://e4ua.jp/?p=2825 or

IMG_4342.JPG
TB2CyFJXevAJKJjSZFCXXbopFXa_!!0-rate_jpg_400x400.jpg
TB2MHyvXzGHJuJjSZFPXXbBFpXa_!!0-rate_jpg_400x400.jpg
TB2PGQcXcaCJuJjy1zkXXbelVXa_!!0-rate_jpg_400x400.jpg
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Brice d’Oliveira
post-13843094
Post #2,594 of 11,402

Brice d’Oliveira

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
117
Reaction score
35
Location
France
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Location
France
Posts
117
Likes
35
Only the N3 have Balanced, either optional or get the N3BP, the H3 as optional, whiles the EX1000, it's either custom or use a adapter, although adapter is hard to come by, depending on where you live.

http://e4ua.jp/?p=2825 or

Thanks for the answer, on eBay and on sony’s Website they say EX1000 is balanced ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13843096
Post #2,595 of 11,402

kms108

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
2,765
Reaction score
838
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Posts
2,765
Likes
838
Thanks for the answer, on eBay and on sony’s Website they say EX1000 is balanced ?
I don't see it being balanced, and it's been discontinued for years, only Japan still sell them, but haven't been advertised or promoted.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Brice d’Oliveira

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 3)

Top