SONY NW-ZX2 DAP
Apr 13, 2016 at 3:59 PM Post #11,356 of 14,714

flinkenick

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Posts
3,401
Likes
7,379
Location
Amsterdam
Hey guys I have a Rhapsodio Silver Litz 8-strand cable for sale, with 3.5 trrs plug terminated for Hifiman/Plenue S/ZX2 and 2-pin connectors.
 
It is a high resolution cable with black background and cold mid-bass presentation which gives it excellent separation.It does have some microphonics; I'm personally never bothered by it because I do listening on the go, but it can be annoying if you're listening at a desk.
 
Retails at $600. Looking for 300 euro plus fees.
 
Please PM if interested. I will check if there is any interest at the end of the week, if not I'll have it reterminated to trs and put it up for sale.
 

 
Apr 13, 2016 at 4:18 PM Post #11,360 of 14,714

Whitigir

Member of the Trade: Portable Modder
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
27,294
Likes
29,823
Aren't the 'grounds' on the top ring and sleeve with the ZX2?

In which case this can be used on a TRS connection as it is - no need to reterminate.


You need adapter, the right kind that can work with it, but all in all, it is better to reterminate if you don't have any uses for the TRRS ? Hope it makes senses
 
Apr 13, 2016 at 4:27 PM Post #11,361 of 14,714

Peridot

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Posts
730
Likes
215
You need adapter, the right kind that can work with it, but all in all, it is better to reterminate if you don't have any uses for the TRRS ? Hope it makes senses

 
It does ...
 
I was thinking that if you insert the TRRS plug into a TRS jack the common ground will connect to both the upper ring and sleeve giving the right connection. But of course that depends on the configuration of the jack as to whether the internal contact interfaces with both sections - it may or may not work.
 
Apr 13, 2016 at 7:22 PM Post #11,362 of 14,714

Wfanning1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 20, 2013
Posts
194
Likes
26
It does ...

I was thinking that if you insert the TRRS plug into a TRS jack the common ground will connect to both the upper ring and sleeve giving the right connection. But of course that depends on the configuration of the jack as to whether the internal contact interfaces with both sections - it may or may not work.
If you trrs is not configured as hifiman or sony its not goung to work without an adapter as your ring and sleve for left and right are not correct and in turn if you plug it in you will wither get one channel of sound or no sound at all not to mention the possibility of burning up the amp section of your sony!
 
Apr 13, 2016 at 8:09 PM Post #11,363 of 14,714

echineko

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Posts
1,764
Likes
392
Location
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
   
It does ...
 
I was thinking that if you insert the TRRS plug into a TRS jack the common ground will connect to both the upper ring and sleeve giving the right connection. But of course that depends on the configuration of the jack as to whether the internal contact interfaces with both sections - it may or may not work.

I found (to my regret) that the TRRS cable I have on my K10 does not work with the Chord Hugo, only get sound out of the left earphone. This is definitely due to the configuration of the jack, but I'm not knowledgeable enough in such things to understand exactly why. Just that it's not so straightforward when you try to use ZX2-compatible TRRS with TRS.
 
Anyone actually able to use their ZX2 TRRS cables successfully with any TRS-only equipment? I'd be interested to know what just works by default :)
 
Apr 13, 2016 at 11:26 PM Post #11,364 of 14,714
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Posts
88
Likes
17
  I found (to my regret) that the TRRS cable I have on my K10 does not work with the Chord Hugo, only get sound out of the left earphone. This is definitely due to the configuration of the jack, but I'm not knowledgeable enough in such things to understand exactly why. Just that it's not so straightforward when you try to use ZX2-compatible TRRS with TRS.
 
Anyone actually able to use their ZX2 TRRS cables successfully with any TRS-only equipment? I'd be interested to know what just works by default :)

the TRRS works with ifi idsd micro
 
but it doesnt work on most portable amp/dac and even desktop ones
 
Apr 14, 2016 at 6:30 AM Post #11,366 of 14,714

proedros

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Posts
7,946
Likes
6,501
Location
Athens , Greece
  I found (to my regret) that the TRRS cable I have on my K10 does not work with the Chord Hugo, only get sound out of the left earphone. This is definitely due to the configuration of the jack, but I'm not knowledgeable enough in such things to understand exactly why. Just that it's not so straightforward when you try to use ZX2-compatible TRRS with TRS.
 
Anyone actually able to use their ZX2 TRRS cables successfully with any TRS-only equipment? I'd be interested to know what just works by default :)

 
 
dx80 takes my TRRS silver cable , without any problem
 
i also have 2 Hifiman TRRS>TRS convertors from previous trrs iems i had bought , so i can use my trrs cable everywhere as a trs mode
 
Apr 15, 2016 at 1:02 AM Post #11,367 of 14,714

Sam Edwards

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2013
Posts
671
Likes
90
Just a heads up: My TRRS Silver Dragon IEM Headphone Cable V1 by Moon Audio seems to have cost me the connector on my UERM. The stock cable had a protective sleeve that went around the connector to add strength. After about 20 usages I appear to have snapped the whole connector off of my left CIEM. 
Maybe I was a little rough, using the cable to remove the CIEM, but I'm sure they wouldn't have broken if I'd left the stock cable on.
 
Apr 16, 2016 at 12:11 PM Post #11,368 of 14,714

woye263s

Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Posts
90
Likes
19
Hello,

I ended up purchasing EU zx2 from HEAD-FI sale and trade section without knowing about the volume cap..and I cannot cancel it. I wonder if EU ZX2 is capable of driving my Grado PS500 and Fostex THX00. Also, is there any app to increase zx2 max volume?
 
Apr 16, 2016 at 12:46 PM Post #11,369 of 14,714

proedros

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Posts
7,946
Likes
6,501
Location
Athens , Greece
Hello,

I ended up purchasing EU zx2 from HEAD-FI sale and trade section without knowing about the volume cap..and I cannot cancel it. I wonder if EU ZX2 is capable of driving my Grado PS500 and Fostex THX00. Also, is there any app to increase zx2 max volume?

 
sell it , and wait for a japan one to show up
 
Apr 16, 2016 at 1:27 PM Post #11,370 of 14,714

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Posts
11,910
Likes
7,834
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Hello,

I ended up purchasing EU zx2 from HEAD-FI sale and trade section without knowing about the volume cap..and I cannot cancel it. I wonder if EU ZX2 is capable of driving my Grado PS500 and Fostex THX00. Also, is there any app to increase zx2 max volume?


It might do OK with those 2 phones. My EU unit does fine with Ultrasone Signature Pro and could make even HE-500 enjoyable enough though not ideal
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top