SONY NW-WM1Z / WM1A
post-13647103
Post #13,336 of 32,143

howdy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
4,433
Reaction score
805
Location
Minnesota
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Location
Minnesota
Posts
4,433
Likes
805
I do 5 to 8 hours. I would go nuts without it.
I would if i could but im in meetings or having to help someone all day everyday. I generally listen on my drive home or when doing homework and everytime the wife is gone.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13647148
Post #13,337 of 32,143

aisalen

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
374
Reaction score
175
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Posts
374
Likes
175
Yes, I had a fiio x3. And had the same experience as @Wyville. Poor battery life (7-9h a day) Sony has always given good battery life. My WM1A I charge it every third day at the end of the day at home, I listen between 6-10h a day so battery of wm1a /z is between 18 and 26h I get on average 26 and that is with the battery care set to on (charges only to 90%)
That is nice to hear, thanks for the heads up.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13647156
Post #13,338 of 32,143

gerelmx1986

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
9,199
Reaction score
1,945
Location
Germany
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
Germany
Posts
9,199
Likes
1,945
I reduced the screen brightness to 1 let's see how much battery I get from that, I used to have it at 15
 
     Share This Post       
post-13647188
Post #13,339 of 32,143

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
8,101
Reaction score
1,988
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
8,101
Likes
1,988
Age
57
I've always had it at 1. With all effects turned off and bluetooth and nfc turned off I get about 20 hours flac 16/44 play time per charge with battery saver enabled. This is with high gain and volume at 30 driving JH13 balanced.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: gerelmx1986
post-13647211
Post #13,340 of 32,143

Bosk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 13, 2004
Messages
726
Reaction score
402
Location
Australia
Joined
Aug 13, 2004
Location
Australia
Posts
726
Likes
402
Hi guys,

I recently purchased a WM1A which is due to be delivered tomorrow and have a couple of questions I was hoping you could help help answer.
  • Is there a method of using the player as a desktop DAC to feed a speaker amplifier?
  • Do Sony sell a dock of some kind for this player?
  • I see Kimber sells a 4.4mm balanced cable with MMCX connectors, any ideas where I might buy a similar cable with 2 pin connectors instead?
Thanks for any assistance you can offer.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13647238
Post #13,341 of 32,143

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
8,101
Reaction score
1,988
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
8,101
Likes
1,988
Age
57
No, yes and don't know but most cable makers should be able to do that
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13647470
Post #13,342 of 32,143

biscottino

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
386
Reaction score
149
Location
Napoli Italy
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Location
Napoli Italy
Posts
386
Likes
149
I need suggestions as to the best pairing headphones for Sony NW-WM1A.
I have a modified Grado with turbulent driver, wooden cup and double helix cable and flat pads, an extraordinary result to the 3.5mm output jack...thinking about new GH2.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Quadfather
post-13647776
Post #13,344 of 32,143

Sarnia

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
358
Reaction score
123
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Posts
358
Likes
123
Travel setup, b&h h7 and wm1a sounds great with BT Ldac connection, the BT on the Sony wm1a is the best ever tried.

It'll only use LDAC if the headphones have it too. AFAIK only some Sony headphones and wireless adaptors do.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13647888
Post #13,345 of 32,143

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
17,865
Reaction score
10,219
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
17,865
Likes
10,219
It'll only use LDAC if the headphones have it too. AFAIK only some Sony headphones and wireless adaptors do.
That is one thing I have to mention, I don't think Sony WM1A have even Apt-X as those are patented and they would have to pay ito it somewhat. The WM series are all Sony technologies, with LDAC was said to be better. Thought we do have Apt-X HD now, do we ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13647961
Post #13,346 of 32,143

nanaholic

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
2,102
Reaction score
1,767
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Posts
2,102
Likes
1,767
That is one thing I have to mention, I don't think Sony WM1A have even Apt-X as those are patented and they would have to pay ito it somewhat. The WM series are all Sony technologies, with LDAC was said to be better. Thought we do have Apt-X HD now, do we ?
Apt-X HD spec is not as good as LDAC though. Apt-X HD supports 24bit/48kHz with a bitrate of 576kbps, LDAC supports 24bit/96kHz with a bitrate of 990kbps. Their approach is entirely different though, Apt-X HD uses smarter encoding to fit more into one channel and also requires very specific Qualcomm hardware, but LDAC uses two bog standard BT channels for more bandwidth AFAIK and should work across more devices.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13648315
Post #13,348 of 32,143

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
17,865
Reaction score
10,219
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
17,865
Likes
10,219
Apt-X HD spec is not as good as LDAC though. Apt-X HD supports 24bit/48kHz with a bitrate of 576kbps, LDAC supports 24bit/96kHz with a bitrate of 990kbps. Their approach is entirely different though, Apt-X HD uses smarter encoding to fit more into one channel and also requires very specific Qualcomm hardware, but LDAC uses two bog standard BT channels for more bandwidth AFAIK and should work across more devices.
No Aptx or Aptx HD on WM1A/Z

Only SBC and LDAC
Yes, and this is usually the case with Sony, people only appreciate it when it is gone
 
     Share This Post       
post-13648366
Post #13,350 of 32,143

Lavakugel

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
667
Reaction score
43
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Posts
667
Likes
43
Is it possible to connect my wm1a to a auralic vega dac?

I would go headphone out of wm1a and input via rca on vega...I'm not sure?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 14, Guests: 26)

Top