SONY NW-WM1Z / WM1A
post-14918619
Post #27,766 of 42,809

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
9,084
Reaction score
3,451
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
9,084
Likes
3,451
Age
57
Is it advisable to go with the latest, most recent, firmware update for the WM1Z ?

I recall reading somewhere, and of course I can't find it... the last firmware release was felt t have some adverse affects with sound (this person felt). Sorry, a bit vague, searching for my screen shot of the info.
There are (to me minute, to others more significant) differences in sound between the various fw versions and then there are stability and feature differences as well so you need to try them yourself and settle for the one that suites your needs and preferences best
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Mund1
post-14918928
Post #27,767 of 42,809

Mund1

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Messages
32
Reaction score
27
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Posts
32
Likes
27
I was not aware of that captblaze, didn't know you can step back to a prior version of firmware. How, by doing a factory reset 1st to wipe out the current versions of firmware ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14919171
Post #27,768 of 42,809

Redcarmoose

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
18,822
Reaction score
11,424
Location
.
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Location
.
Posts
18,822
Likes
11,424
hello
I have sony wm1z firmware 3.0.1
how to use dac mode?
i choose dac mode, than connect with my mac os mojave
i see walkman in audio outputs, choose it, but no sound
i need to buy special cable to use dac mode?
It’s a set of resettings for the Mac. They are posted in this thread about 5 months ago. I don’t use the Walkmans that way, or I could help.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14919195
Post #27,769 of 42,809

Redcarmoose

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
18,822
Reaction score
11,424
Location
.
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Location
.
Posts
18,822
Likes
11,424
I was not aware of that captblaze, didn't know you can step back to a prior version of firmware. How, by doing a factory reset 1st to wipe out the current versions of firmware ?
Many of us had issues with the 1A sound when 3.0 was released. Then 3.01 was released which altered the sound and made the latest firmware better sounding. Though in this thread you will find different members using a variety of firmware as it’s subjective taste which could be best. Though the older firmware does not offer some of the options of the most recent 3.01 experience.

The only firmware which is not available online is the original original firmware .....FW 1.0 before any updates, which came with the original 1Z/1A in 2016. Don’t think anyone even liked that very first firmware sound, especially in comparison to what came later and was installed with later Walkmans?

3.0 took awhile to load the database so 3.01 was a grand improvement.

Factory reset only erases the music and hours, no change in firmware.
This is the latest FW, the best in my opinion 3.01.
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/digital-music-players-nw-wm-series/nw-wm1a#/downloadTab

This is the first update FW 1.02...I think?

http://walkman.update.sony.net/fw/pc/WM1/NW-WM1_V1_02.exe

http://walkman.update.sony.net/fw/pc/WM1/NW-WM1_V1_02.dmg

http://walkman.update.sony.net/fw/pc/WM1/NW-WM1_V1_20.exe

http://walkman.update.sony.net/fw/pc/WM1/NW-WM1_V1_20.dmg

Most of the Sony update places have updated from 2.0 and 3.0 to 3.01. But if you look into it on this thread you should find 3.0 and 2.0 if curious.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14919732
Post #27,770 of 42,809

auronthas

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
448
Reaction score
262
Joined
May 19, 2017
Posts
448
Likes
262
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Redcarmoose
post-14920093
Post #27,771 of 42,809

wackoip

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 12, 2014
Messages
100
Reaction score
94
Joined
May 12, 2014
Posts
100
Likes
94
Oh Crap, a few days ago the 3.5mm output was dead but 4.4mm one was fine. Took it to Sony (Hong Kong) for a quote to repair. It turned out they have to replace the circuit board and I have to pay HK$4,800 (US$615) to repair it. I bought it at the end of October 2016 (didn't realised it's that long ago, time flies!) and obviously warranty doesn't cover. But I am really hesitating whether I should go ahead and pay for the repair.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14920099
Post #27,772 of 42,809

auronthas

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
448
Reaction score
262
Joined
May 19, 2017
Posts
448
Likes
262
Oh Crap, a few days ago the 3.5mm output was dead but 4.4mm one was fine. Took it to Sony (Hong Kong) for a quote to repair. It turned out they have to replace the circuit board and I have to pay HK$4,800 (US$615) to repair it. I bought it at the end of October 2016 (didn't realised it's that long ago, time flies!) and obviously warranty doesn't cover. But I am really hesitating whether I should go ahead and pay for the repair.
1A or 1Z? If 1A, better buy a new one, if 1Z, your call :D
 
     Share This Post       
post-14920119
Post #27,774 of 42,809

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
9,084
Reaction score
3,451
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
9,084
Likes
3,451
Age
57
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: proedros
post-14920126
Post #27,775 of 42,809

wackoip

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 12, 2014
Messages
100
Reaction score
94
Joined
May 12, 2014
Posts
100
Likes
94
But then I won't be able to pair it with my Shure KSE1500 which IMHO has the best synergy with 1Z. That is one major reason I will reluctantly pay.......
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Hyde8767
post-14920154
Post #27,776 of 42,809

LeFaucon

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
106
Reaction score
20
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Posts
106
Likes
20
Oh Crap, a few days ago the 3.5mm output was dead but 4.4mm one was fine. Took it to Sony (Hong Kong) for a quote to repair. It turned out they have to replace the circuit board and I have to pay HK$4,800 (US$615) to repair it. I bought it at the end of October 2016 (didn't realised it's that long ago, time flies!) and obviously warranty doesn't cover. But I am really hesitating whether I should go ahead and pay for the repair.
Or maybe your own thoughts, choice and money...? :wink:
 
     Share This Post       
post-14920158
Post #27,777 of 42,809

wackoip

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 12, 2014
Messages
100
Reaction score
94
Joined
May 12, 2014
Posts
100
Likes
94
I know. Just an old man moaning...But seriously I was surprised how much it costs and just want headfiers here to know the amount involved when something like this happens
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: phonomat
post-14920224
Post #27,778 of 42,809

auronthas

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
448
Reaction score
262
Joined
May 19, 2017
Posts
448
Likes
262
But then I won't be able to pair it with my Shure KSE1500 which IMHO has the best synergy with 1Z. That is one major reason I will reluctantly pay.......
Haven't tried electrostatic heaphone ... Possible to get Fiio 4.4mm male to 3.5mm female adapter ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14920233
Post #27,779 of 42,809

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
9,084
Reaction score
3,451
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
9,084
Likes
3,451
Age
57
Haven't tried electrostatic heaphone ... Possible to get Fiio 4.4mm male to 3.5mm female adapter ?
Can’t go balanced output to single ended headphone, only the other way
 
     Share This Post       
post-14920278
Post #27,780 of 42,809

proedros

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Messages
7,207
Reaction score
4,605
Location
Athens , Greece
Joined
Aug 24, 2010
Location
Athens , Greece
Posts
7,207
Likes
4,605
600$ to fix the 3.5 ? wow , this is A LOT of money - glad i only use 4.4 cables
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 33, Guests: 24)

Top