SONY NW-WM1Z / WM1A
post-14625913
Post #25,636 of 31,967

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
8,082
Reaction score
1,970
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
8,082
Likes
1,970
Age
57
Android is OS, nothing to do with DAC and nothing to do with amplifier section of a DAP.

May as well say Windows does not sound good.
I think what he tried to say is that the cpu in daps seem to lack power to properly run an OS like Android
 
     Share This Post       
post-14625935
Post #25,637 of 31,967

pietcux

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2009
Messages
3,978
Reaction score
1,277
Location
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Joined
Aug 25, 2009
Location
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Posts
3,978
Likes
1,277
been spending the weekend with this...



and to answer the does it sound better question.

it doesn't sound better or worse just different. a little bit tubey and it allows me a 10 click volume reduction. I will admit I do like the way it sounds with a set of HD 800S at the end of the chain. it doesn't lend itself to being portable or pocketable. it does get warm (it is a tube amp), but not hot although I wouldn't stack it.

all in all (well probably 8 hours this weekend) I plan on keeping this amp. it adds a little something different to the WM-1A without having to mod it
Did you ever try the HD800 balanced from the 4.4mm out? I do this and love it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14625941
Post #25,638 of 31,967

whitemouse

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
250
Reaction score
93
Location
Thailand
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Location
Thailand
Posts
250
Likes
93
Did you ever try the HD800 balanced from the 4.4mm out? I do this and love it.
I must admit I never owned HD800, but friend of mine does, and I've listened to them for hours, alas, never with Sony DAP. Very nice headphones, power hungry tho, if Sony can feed them, then you are all set!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14625944
Post #25,639 of 31,967

Tsukuyomi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
1,298
Reaction score
357
Location
Canada
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Location
Canada
Posts
1,298
Likes
357
I must admit I never owned HD800, but friend of mine does, and I've listened to them for hours, alas, never with Sony DAP. Very nice headphones, power hungry tho, if Sony can feed them, then you are all set!
I thought the HD800 and HD800S were more efficient than other new Sens.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14625975
Post #25,640 of 31,967

ryaneagon

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
299
Reaction score
133
Location
USA
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Location
USA
Posts
299
Likes
133
I went to 3 audio stores over the weekend and to another yesterday. nobody is carrying any sony DAPs of any kind let alone the WM1A that i want :'( im unable to try it to decide if i should get it. and the only way for me to buy it is through amazon for a whopping 1,500$+tax+shipping.. :frowning2:
Yeah, the downside to Amazon is the lack of negations...I guess the upside is if you purchase through Amazon and not a third party you are able to demo the unit, if it doesn’t meet your expectations, send it back. Cheers!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Tsukuyomi
post-14625991
Post #25,641 of 31,967

Tsukuyomi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
1,298
Reaction score
357
Location
Canada
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Location
Canada
Posts
1,298
Likes
357
Yeah, the downside to Amazon is the lack of negations...I guess the upside is if you purchase through Amazon and not a third party you are able to demo the unit, if it doesn’t meet your expectations, send it back. Cheers!
Do you know by chance what kind of DAC chip the Sony WM1A is using? also, i hear a lot of people say the WM1A doesnt have lots of power for headphones :frowning2: which is greatly disappointing. as i would like to use Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pros, possibly Audeze LCD2C(maybe, i know they're planar so im not gonna worry too much if they cant) and my H6(2nd gen) and P7wired.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14625993
Post #25,642 of 31,967

whitemouse

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
250
Reaction score
93
Location
Thailand
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Location
Thailand
Posts
250
Likes
93
Sony NW ZX1.jpg
I thought the HD800 and HD800S were more efficient than other new Sens.
They are! As in they are not 600 ohm impedance.
300 ohm impedance is still heavy load for portable gear. You must chose your DAP carefully.

I have a sad story, involved Sony DAP and HD800.

Several years ago Sony released true high end DAP, WM ZX1 (Sony would do well to explore alphabet, their Z, ZX, 1 are little bit confusing).

I listened to the just released WM ZX1 in Bangkok, with my Grado RS1, walk around headphones, very easy load. The sound from Sony was best I had heard from DAP at that point. Some of the best DAC/amp combinations, tied together with rubber bands sounded inferior.

I immediately announced my discovery to Australian friend if mine, he walked to Sony Center and bought the WM ZX1 without even listening to it.
Unfortunately his main headphones at the time happened to be HD800. WM ZX1 wasn't able to drive them, not even close.

I feel bad to this day.

Here, the WM ZX1. I include a pic, because Sony's X and Z and 1 are truly confusing. There are other letters in alphabet, Sony!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14625999
Post #25,643 of 31,967

Tsukuyomi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
1,298
Reaction score
357
Location
Canada
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Location
Canada
Posts
1,298
Likes
357
Agreed, right now im stuck between 3 players.
Sony WM1A
A&K SR15 Norma
A&K SE100 Futura

I just can't make up my mind at all :frowning2: i dont use IEMs so for me it has to be able to drive atleast a Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pro.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14626007
Post #25,644 of 31,967

whitemouse

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
250
Reaction score
93
Location
Thailand
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Location
Thailand
Posts
250
Likes
93
Do you know by chance what kind of DAC chip the Sony WM1A is using? also, i hear a lot of people say the WM1A doesnt have lots of power for headphones :frowning2: which is greatly disappointing. as i would like to use Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pros, possibly Audeze LCD2C(maybe, i know they're planar so im not gonna worry too much if they cant) and my H6(2nd gen) and P7wired.
Sony never tells. They use their own chip for DAC, and amplifier section, the only manufacturer to do so I'm aware of. Everyone else uses off the shelf chips.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14626017
Post #25,645 of 31,967

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
8,082
Reaction score
1,970
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
8,082
Likes
1,970
Age
57
Do you know by chance what kind of DAC chip the Sony WM1A is using? also, i hear a lot of people say the WM1A doesnt have lots of power for headphones :frowning2: which is greatly disappointing. as i would like to use Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pros, possibly Audeze LCD2C(maybe, i know they're planar so im not gonna worry too much if they cant) and my H6(2nd gen) and P7wired.
They use Sony’s own integrated chips called S-Master. In my opinion, as long as you go balanced and high gain, they have power enough for most full size headphones
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: davidmolliere
post-14626030
Post #25,646 of 31,967

Tsukuyomi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
1,298
Reaction score
357
Location
Canada
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Location
Canada
Posts
1,298
Likes
357
This might sound a bit odd but comparing the WM1A to the SR15, which would be better for headphones and not IEMs?
I thought switching to high gain adds noise to the sound. :frowning2:
 
     Share This Post       
post-14626053
Post #25,647 of 31,967

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
8,082
Reaction score
1,970
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
8,082
Likes
1,970
Age
57
This might sound a bit odd but comparing the WM1A to the SR15, which would be better for headphones and not IEMs?
I thought switching to high gain adds noise to the sound. :frowning2:
Not to my ears
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: rcoleman1
post-14626055
Post #25,648 of 31,967

gerelmx1986

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
9,195
Reaction score
1,943
Location
Germany
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
Germany
Posts
9,195
Likes
1,943
I am getting now, frequent crashes while playing FLAC files from SD card (16/44.1) one yesterday and one today, i was like listening to some tracks and then suddely withouth warning reboot. Today it was doing nothing, paused, just pressed power button to check wether it was paused or not, as i received a call and when i returned from the call it was rebooting.

PS also had two crashes in different days when disconnecting from USB DAC mode
 
     Share This Post       
post-14626067
Post #25,649 of 31,967

Tsukuyomi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
1,298
Reaction score
357
Location
Canada
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Location
Canada
Posts
1,298
Likes
357
I think if the sony WM1A can run HD660S it can run my DT1990Pro they're similar in power requirement despite having different ohm amounts.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14626070
Post #25,650 of 31,967

syke

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 1, 2009
Messages
433
Reaction score
361
Joined
Mar 1, 2009
Posts
433
Likes
361
Touch wood, never gotten a single crash on mine. Does one have to reboot into safe mode, re-format the drive and re-install the OS? :grin:










Just kidding...
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 15, Guests: 27)

Top