SONY NW-WM1Z / WM1A
post-14527958
Post #24,481 of 31,867

roses77

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
189
Reaction score
46
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Posts
189
Likes
46
A lot of people reporting crashes I haven’t had any so far. As I didn’t delete an music files during file update. As it wasn’t necessary for the 3.0 update. Are some of you using Apple Mac for file transfer or windows. I updated my software using windows. I noticed there is bug during playback using dac on computer that there is constant clipping & the volume isn’t loud enough I’d have to turn it up to 76. I’ve also noticed in sound settings DSHEE upscale doesn’t work when vinyl processor is turned on. So I turn off DSHEE & keep vinyl processor on. The sound is so subtle with it turned on, no significant difference might just have only EQ turned on.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14527977
Post #24,482 of 31,867

Midnstorms

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
419
Reaction score
131
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Posts
419
Likes
131
A lot of people reporting crashes I haven’t had any so far. As I didn’t delete an music files during file update. As it wasn’t necessary for the 3.0 update. Are some of you using Apple Mac for file transfer or windows. I updated my software using windows. I noticed there is bug during playback using dac on computer that there is constant clipping & the volume isn’t loud enough I’d have to turn it up to 76. I’ve also noticed in sound settings DSHEE upscale doesn’t work when vinyl processor is turned on. So I turn off DSHEE & keep vinyl processor on. The sound is so subtle with it turned on, no significant difference might just have only EQ turned on.
Use direct mode its the best way and do sound procesing via PC
 
     Share This Post       
post-14527994
Post #24,484 of 31,867

linux4ever

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
1,033
Reaction score
409
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Posts
1,033
Likes
409
Just took the plunge and upgraded the firmware to 3.0 on my 1Z. I like it so far, especially with Vinyl processor. Went from 1.2 to 3 directly.

Without Vinyl processor, the sound had less warmth and little more brightness. The bass sounds even more nicer on 3.0. Looks like Sony sound engineers have fine tuned it even more.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14528037
Post #24,485 of 31,867

Midnstorms

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
419
Reaction score
131
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Posts
419
Likes
131
Just took the plunge and upgraded the firmware to 3.0 on my 1Z. I like it so far, especially with Vinyl processor. Went from 1.2 to 3 directly.

Without Vinyl processor, the sound had less warmth and little more brightness. The bass sounds even more nicer on 3.0. Looks like Sony sound engineers have fine tuned it even more.
mmm it since that is perfect for 1Z i wonder if 1A owners are so happy too.. for me its a case of I dont know if I was better or not i miss some of the bass but stage its improved i also feel now Type A low + strings sound more desync... making it a little better
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: roses77
post-14528117
Post #24,486 of 31,867

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
8,076
Reaction score
1,960
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
8,076
Likes
1,960
Age
57
Weird seeing so many crashes. Did you guys have 200mb free space? Think it's best to have more free space during the update and then copy back you music files later. Suspect the crashes occurs during errors in rebuilding database.

Further impression after more hours on WM1A with 3.0 FW:
I can understand why Redcarmoose mentioned that WM1A sounds metallic after the update. With my warm gooey JVC FW01 I hear tingling trebles, slightly more air, separations, detail and wider soundstage. Sub bass are more nuanced now. Reported earlier I noticed volume was lower by 2-3 notches and had since lower them back.

I can imagine with a neutral or bright IEM might sound more metallic but I am keeping FW 3.0 even though I won't be using those new functions any time soon. YMMV.
No the crashes do not occur during rebuilding the database but during playing flac files and when acting as a bt streaming receiver
 
     Share This Post       
post-14528127
Post #24,487 of 31,867

Midnstorms

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Messages
419
Reaction score
131
Joined
Oct 24, 2016
Posts
419
Likes
131
No the crashes do not occur during rebuilding the database but during playing flac files and when acting as a bt streaming receiver
I havent had a single crash, 10 hs running mp3 dsd flac and DAC, do you find any diference in bass sound? and stage?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14528187
Post #24,489 of 31,867

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Messages
8,076
Reaction score
1,960
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Posts
8,076
Likes
1,960
Age
57
I havent had a single crash, 10 hs running mp3 dsd flac and DAC, do you find any diference in bass sound? and stage?
I belive I found the soundstage a bit wider but not much other change
 
     Share This Post       
post-14528229
Post #24,490 of 31,867

krayzie

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
853
Reaction score
48
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Posts
853
Likes
48
Interesting with FW 3.0 the slight sibilance at the upper mid-range of my MDR-Z1R has been tamed and no longer an issue, yet the overall sound at the same time has gotten slightly cooler. And I'm not even listening directly out of the 1A headphone jack but thru the PHA-3 balanced and DSD 2.8MHz files only.

Now my audio chain sounds much closer to the old Sony Cassette Walkman from before the mid 90's (WM-EX1/EX2 and prior to about the late 80's WM-501/701C era) only that my current Sony rig costs 10x more just for the cleaner more consistent output lmao!
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14528273
Post #24,492 of 31,867

Soundizer

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
1,035
Reaction score
230
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Posts
1,035
Likes
230
Audioquest Nighthawks pair amazingly well with the NW-WM1A from the balanced output! Rush Moving Pictures is SUBLIME!!!
You must be using a special cable as my Nighthawks don’t fit into the 4.4 balanced output.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Quadfather
post-14528277
Post #24,494 of 31,867

Mrcojocaru

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
525
Reaction score
395
Location
Seattle
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Location
Seattle
Posts
525
Likes
395
You must be using a special cable as my Nighthawks don’t fit into the 4.4 balanced output.
You're just not trying hard enough lol

You might have to install FW from another region to remove the cap.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14528288
Post #24,495 of 31,867

Quadfather

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,297
Reaction score
1,075
Location
Illinois
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Location
Illinois
Posts
2,297
Likes
1,075
You must be using a special cable as my Nighthawks don’t fit into the 4.4 balanced output.
I am using a Surf Cable 4.4 mm balanced specially-made cable.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 28, Guests: 24)

Top