SONY IER-Z1R
May 3, 2021 at 11:35 AM Post #10,366 of 12,852

Tristy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Posts
3,296
Likes
5,631
Location
.
Well I tried to make a fuss but it seems I was drowned out by all the deservedly good reviews of the z1r.

For me, my initial annoyance was assuaged by my making the https://ier-z1r.com website.

I'm feeling content now because these iems are very good, I got a good price, fixed the issue and third party cables are better imo.

But yeah, as long as we don't libel Sony I'm happy to be on the "cable manufacturing defect" bandwagon.

These are expensive iems for the majority of people - please feel free to use my website if it helps as a focal point as everything stated therein is true and therefore not libellous.
Three is still a very small number in the grand scheme of things and in terms of how many Z1R's Sony must have sold so it may have just be a case of being a 'bad batch' of cables. I'd be interested to see if the three that have come to light so far are close in serial number? But so far (touch wood) I've had no issues removing and reconnecting the supplied cables (only done so around 4 times).
 
May 3, 2021 at 12:43 PM Post #10,367 of 12,852

torifile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Posts
578
Likes
492
Three is still a very small number in the grand scheme of things and in terms of how many Z1R's Sony must have sold so it may have just be a case of being a 'bad batch' of cables. I'd be interested to see if the three that have come to light so far are close in serial number? But so far (touch wood) I've had no issues removing and reconnecting the supplied cables (only done so around 4 times).
I think they are close in serial number. @drlorks's is 10121, mine is 10112 and the third is 10106. And, yes, 3 is definitely a small number. Likely there are more out there but hopefully it's an issue affecting only a small number of us. Still, it's worth casting the net a little wider and seeing what comes back.
 
Last edited:
May 3, 2021 at 1:25 PM Post #10,369 of 12,852

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Posts
11,903
Likes
7,831
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
Uh I just bought the ta zh1es as an upgrade/desktop alternative to the mojo. Looking forward to see how it works with the ier z1r and the kse 1200
It works brilliantly with both Z1R
 
May 3, 2021 at 6:07 PM Post #10,370 of 12,852

riverground

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Posts
1,912
Likes
5,128
Location
Toronto, ON
Uh I just bought the ta zh1es as an upgrade/desktop alternative to the mojo. Looking forward to see how it works with the ier z1r and the kse 1200
Someday I’ll pick one up too lol

and to dream bigger the DMP-Z1…👀
 
May 4, 2021 at 9:22 AM Post #10,371 of 12,852

Tristy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 21, 2018
Posts
3,296
Likes
5,631
Location
.
Just got the Hugo 2 and the Z1R pairs unbelievably well with it! Seems to have no problem powering them, it's reminiscent of the Kann Cube on high gain but much better technically.
 
May 4, 2021 at 9:51 AM Post #10,373 of 12,852

Redcarmoose

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Posts
25,747
Likes
31,195
Location
.
Cool, how are you guys running the TA ? I have now low gain, usb B connected to computer with Tidal. Need to go to volume around -28 or so.
IER-Z1R-stock 4.4mm-TA-AQ Carbon-Cradle-1Z

Low gain, DSEE HX, DSD RE, LINEARIZER
 
Last edited:
May 4, 2021 at 10:38 AM Post #10,374 of 12,852

Gamerlingual

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 1, 2020
Posts
2,160
Likes
2,465
Location
Earth
IER-Z1R-stock 4.4mm-TA-AQ Carbon-Cradle-1Z

Low gain, DSEE HX, DSD RE, LINEARIZER
I do the same but on high gain. Is it better on low gain?
 
May 4, 2021 at 12:09 PM Post #10,376 of 12,852

Rence

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2020
Posts
46
Likes
40
Location
Germany
I switched also to the dunu noble cable because of the interchangeable connector. After the reports here with cable issues I am not daring to put the 4.4 stock on instead to compare. Any views on the sq impact of this ?
 
May 4, 2021 at 12:30 PM Post #10,377 of 12,852

nc8000

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 30, 2007
Posts
11,903
Likes
7,831
Location
Kalundborg, Denmark
I switched also to the dunu noble cable because of the interchangeable connector. After the reports here with cable issues I am not daring to put the 4.4 stock on instead to compare. Any views on the sq impact of this ?
On pure sq I found very little diference between stock and Dunu Blanche
 
May 4, 2021 at 12:42 PM Post #10,379 of 12,852

riverground

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Posts
1,912
Likes
5,128
Location
Toronto, ON
Is the dunu blanche same as the noble ? The noble came with the dk4001.
The Noble is a copper x silver hybrid, while the Blanche is pure silver.
 
May 4, 2021 at 3:09 PM Post #10,380 of 12,852

Redcarmoose

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Posts
25,747
Likes
31,195
Location
.

Users who are viewing this thread

Top