solved
Nov 15, 2008 at 11:18 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

nocturnalsheet

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Posts
273
Likes
10
i just gotten my D3 today and there seems to be some problems with it.

when i connect my D3 dac to my laptop and i plug my earphones at the output and play music, there is no sound!

i need to turn on the D3 before i can hear the music. i thought the D3 has a line out dac when the amp is off? so how come i cant hear any music using the dac only when my D3 is off?

secondly, whenever there is contact on the usb cable to the dac, it will lose the connection with my laptop and no music will be played. i need to replug in again. is this a problem with the connector of the dac?

thirdly, the D3 has zero RF protection? i keep getting irritating signals. is there any way to solve this problem?

thanks.
 
Nov 15, 2008 at 12:20 PM Post #2 of 12

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
The 1/8" plug in the middle is the one that will put a line level signal when the D3 is used as DAC feeding another amp. The 1/8" plug on the left is the headphone out and you have to turn the D3 on for music to come out of it.

The plug issue is dependent of the cable being used. Some make a better connection than others, do you have another cable to try?

HeadphoneAddict reported the same issue w/ RF interference. I do not have that problem. The first thing I would do is move the cell phone if it is close, next I would try positioning the D3 in various locations futher away from other electronics.

Good luck.
 
Nov 15, 2008 at 12:26 PM Post #3 of 12

mirh

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Posts
89
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by nocturnalsheet /img/forum/go_quote.gif
i just gotten my D3 today and there seems to be some problems with it.

when i connect my D3 dac to my laptop and i plug my earphones at the output and play music, there is no sound!

i need to turn on the D3 before i can hear the music. i thought the D3 has a line out dac when the amp is off? so how come i cant hear any music using the dac only when my D3 is off?
...



When you use only DAC (the amp is turn off) put your earphones to line-in and you should hear sound. This line out (from line-in) from DAC so you cannot regulate volume.... "The input port works as a line-out port" in accordance to your owner's manual...
I have D3 and do not have any problems with it
atsmile.gif
 
Nov 15, 2008 at 3:48 PM Post #5 of 12

ZoNtO

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Posts
1,111
Likes
157
lol! Glad you figured it out dude.
 
Nov 15, 2008 at 4:11 PM Post #6 of 12

palestofwhite

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Posts
1,323
Likes
1,499
Location
✝️
Hi,

I returned my D3 for a pair of ATH-ESW10JPN due to unbearable RF. When I bring it out, that was why I bought it, especially in the train or in town where RF interference peaks.

I was told the D3 has shielding but not totally, like other amps such as the iQube or RSAs.

However I have to agree that it sounds really good and with a usb DAC built in, it is a real value for money.

It could have been the perfect DAC AMP combo for me but I cannot do with RF in my music.

Regards.

Regards.
 
Nov 17, 2008 at 4:27 PM Post #7 of 12

paulybatz

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Posts
1,476
Likes
469
I think this needs to get bumped...people NEED to know about this!

Quote:

Originally Posted by palestofwhite /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hi,

I returned my D3 for a pair of ATH-ESW10JPN due to unbearable RF. When I bring it out, that was why I bought it, especially in the train or in town where RF interference peaks.

I was told the D3 has shielding but not totally, like other amps such as the iQube or RSAs.

However I have to agree that it sounds really good and with a usb DAC built in, it is a real value for money.

It could have been the perfect DAC AMP combo for me but I cannot do with RF in my music.

Regards.

Regards.



 
Nov 17, 2008 at 4:38 PM Post #8 of 12

palestofwhite

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Posts
1,323
Likes
1,499
Location
✝️
Hi,

It was noted on Jamoto8's portable amp review thread that the D3 has problem with RF. If not it could have gotten better placement in terms of overall, etc.

It is still great for home use and please keep your cellphones away.

Regards.
 
Nov 18, 2008 at 5:35 PM Post #9 of 12

paulybatz

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Posts
1,476
Likes
469
RF Interference Issue

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The D3 has a major interference issue that should be know to all...if you plan to use it with an iphone as I did, find another amp...if you are using it for the DAC or with an ipod, etc then you should be OK, but if you are around a lot of cell phones or other RF interference, you will get a headache. I thought it was normal until I read some recent posts and did my own investigation:

iBasso D3 - my experience with customer service

Help! My Ibasso D3 has some problems

I emailed ibasso and they said it was an opamp issue and they were unwilling to rectify the situation...here are two of their replies to me:
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your email.
The RF interference problem is because of the opamp. It cant be eliminated except we change the opamp. But these opamps on the D3 has very good sound quality. We are not planningto change them.
We suggest you to keep your cell phone away from the D3, and the D3 can work fine.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.

Sincerely
iBasso Audio

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your email.
I dont think the RF interfernce is a problem on the D3 design. The RF interference is because of the design of the opamp, which is produced by AD. If you consider the D3 has problem on the design. I think AD need to call back many of their chips.
Also, we consider sound quality in the prior position, the D3 has very good sound quality, and we consider it is a very successful design.
If you dont like the D3, you can return it for refund.


Sincerely
iBasso Audio


Then when I go to send a reply to the first email, my email was blocked by a spam blocker, so I sent another message from my work email to make sure it went through, then the subsequent attempt to respond to their reply was blocked. It is a great sounding amp, dont get me wrong but I am not in a situation to own two amps...I need one that functions for all of my purposes and thought this was it. I feel that ibasso should have made public this issue as it sounds like they were fully aware, so do I lose $$$ and mail it back...
 
Nov 18, 2008 at 8:33 PM Post #10 of 12

mrarroyo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Posts
19,073
Likes
29
paulybatz, you have posted the same in your last three post. Prior you posted twice on problems with iBasso.

Although I commend you on your persistance, arent you being a bit obsesive in your criticism of iBasso?
 
Nov 18, 2008 at 8:44 PM Post #11 of 12

paulybatz

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Posts
1,476
Likes
469
I wanted to cover the active threads on the D3...I just dont want anyone to be in the same situation. Wish I had known, hind sight is 20/20...dont buy first generation its always risky. Its a fine sounding amp, just cant use it with my portable music device the way I would like to!!!!

SORRY HEAD-FIERS...I think I should note that I am considering a SR71a or an iqube right now.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrarroyo /img/forum/go_quote.gif
paulybatz, you have posted the same in your last three post. Prior you posted twice on problems with iBasso.

Although I commend you on your persistance, arent you being a bit obsesive in your criticism of iBasso?



 
Nov 20, 2008 at 8:30 PM Post #12 of 12

tke398

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Posts
164
Likes
12
I've owned the D3 for a couple weeks now and just noticed the posts about RF interference. I have my Verizon Wireless Blackberry 8330 sitting on top of the D3 and do not hear a thing. I usually hear that rapid buzzing sound near speakerphones or speakers when my BB is nearby, but I don't even get that. I've read that this model has the highest SAR rate of all cell phones. Maybe I'm just lucky.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top