SOLD: Northstar M192 DAC (MKI)
Jan 15, 2009 at 12:18 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 35
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Posts
17,244
Likes
10,494
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Compass_1.png


A better picture of the rear:
Northstar_M192_DAC_2.jpg


The Northstar M192 DAC is generally regarded as being very natural sounding and better sounding than the Benchmark DAC 1 and Lavry DA-10. New, it costs $2500. It features 192kHz upsampling (which can be de-activated if required) and has 2x coax, 1x optical, AES/EBU and I2S digital inputs. Output, being the MKI version, is via RCA. The entire output, unlike the MKII version, is discrete, with no opamps.

My M192 is the 110V version and is in very good condition. If you look very closely at the front panel, there are a couple of tiny marks, but they are only noticeable close up.

I'm wanting US$800 + shipping + Paypal fees, which is less than what I paid for it.

Close-up pictures:

northstar_10.jpg

northstar_7.jpg

northstar_2.jpg

northstar_1.jpg

northstar_3.jpg
 
Jan 18, 2009 at 2:36 PM Post #3 of 35
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Posts
17,244
Likes
10,494
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Quote:

Originally Posted by FallenAngel /img/forum/go_quote.gif
You forgot to mention that the MK1 has a discrete output stage while the MK2 uses opamps and the MK1 sounds considerably better
wink.gif



Seriously? Wow, what a shame about the MK2. Thanks for that info.
smily_headphones1.gif
 
Jan 19, 2009 at 10:00 AM Post #4 of 35

MaZa

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Posts
6,162
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by FallenAngel /img/forum/go_quote.gif
You forgot to mention that the MK1 has a discrete output stage while the MK2 uses opamps and the MK1 sounds considerably better
wink.gif




Are you sure? Where you got that information? I atleast havent seen anything indicating that MkII has opamps. Atleast in audiogon sellers like Perrota Consulting say it has discrete output.
 
Jan 19, 2009 at 3:56 PM Post #5 of 35

les_garten

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Posts
4,442
Likes
25
Quote:

Originally Posted by MaZa /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Are you sure? Where you got that information? I atleast havent seen anything indicating that MkII has opamps. Atleast in audiogon sellers like Perrota Consulting say it has discrete output.


Clarification on that would be nice.
 
Jan 19, 2009 at 8:59 PM Post #8 of 35

les_garten

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 6, 2008
Posts
4,442
Likes
25
Quote:

Originally Posted by The Monkey /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I think it would be hard to say which sounds better without listening to both.



Maybe you could loan your MK II to Curra or Verce Vicea?
 
Jan 28, 2009 at 8:56 AM Post #9 of 35
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Posts
17,244
Likes
10,494
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Ok, this is now for sale for $1050 shipped tracked and insured.
 
Feb 2, 2009 at 5:00 AM Post #11 of 35
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Posts
17,244
Likes
10,494
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Added another picture of the rear. I tried to take another pic of the front, but the weird surface it has make it look blurry.
 
Feb 8, 2009 at 3:21 AM Post #13 of 35
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Posts
17,244
Likes
10,494
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Feb 12, 2009 at 5:01 AM Post #15 of 35
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Posts
17,244
Likes
10,494
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
I'm aiming to get a greater DAC!
smily_headphones1.gif
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top