SMSL M300 - Balanced AK4497 DAC
Mar 26, 2020 at 3:53 PM Post #48 of 58

DesignTaylor

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Posts
234
Likes
414
Location
Austin, TX
I recently got a M300 MK II and I already own a SU-8. I have A/B compared them on a couple of amps and think they sound very similar. I think the M300 may be slightly more accurate, dry, and clean, but the sounds is pretty similar to my ears. I'm a big fan of the SU-8 and for the price, I'd still likely recommend it over the M300.

I do enjoy the little color screen on the M300 and I'm very interested to see if I can get hi def Bluetooth to work as that would be a nice feature to have in my bedroom system.
 
Apr 3, 2020 at 4:34 PM Post #49 of 58

Lolito

Banned
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Posts
1,015
Likes
691
Location
EU
I recently got a M300 MK II and I already own a SU-8. I have A/B compared them on a couple of amps and think they sound very similar. I think the M300 may be slightly more accurate, dry, and clean, but the sounds is pretty similar to my ears. I'm a big fan of the SU-8 and for the price, I'd still likely recommend it over the M300.

I do enjoy the little color screen on the M300 and I'm very interested to see if I can get hi def Bluetooth to work as that would be a nice feature to have in my bedroom system.

Thanks for the input. One simple question, that might be kind of stupid for most here, but I see all these DACS with XLR and RCA outputs. I would like to use the XLR outputs to my active studio monitors, and then the RCA to my JDS atom headphone amp. My question is, how do you switch between them? is that even possible? I know you can switch between inputs, but what about the analog output switching??
 
Apr 3, 2020 at 4:59 PM Post #50 of 58

DesignTaylor

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Posts
234
Likes
414
Location
Austin, TX
Thanks for the input. One simple question, that might be kind of stupid for most here, but I see all these DACS with XLR and RCA outputs. I would like to use the XLR outputs to my active studio monitors, and then the RCA to my JDS atom headphone amp. My question is, how do you switch between them? is that even possible? I know you can switch between inputs, but what about the analog output switching??

Every unit is a little different in how it handles this, but I know on the SU-8 both outputs are live all the time. I leave both my Taboo (connected via single-ended) and my Monolith 124459 (connected via balanced xlr) plugged in all the time and then I just power up the one I want to use. The balanced outputs are the better signal path but it doesn't much matter if the next device in the chain is not equipped for balanced inputs.
 
Apr 3, 2020 at 6:03 PM Post #51 of 58

Lolito

Banned
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Posts
1,015
Likes
691
Location
EU
Thanks a lot for the swift reply, I have a feeling all these devices with both XLR and RCA outputs they work all like that, right? In that case, I guess I would have to switch off my speakers every night, turn them on again every morning, and the switch is behind them... and they are on an actual bookshelf... kinda pain in the ass... M300 MkII are like that too, right?
 
Apr 15, 2020 at 11:01 AM Post #53 of 58

1000ROUNDZ

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Posts
93
Likes
94
Location
Geneva, Switzerland
1586962885683.png
 
Apr 15, 2020 at 11:35 AM Post #55 of 58

1000ROUNDZ

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Posts
93
Likes
94
Location
Geneva, Switzerland
looks like a fierce topping d90 competitor
Yes, looking forward to reviews. Just received my SMSL SP200 and wanted a new DAC to pair with it. The M400 could be it.
 
May 8, 2020 at 12:55 PM Post #57 of 58

DesignTaylor

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 17, 2020
Posts
234
Likes
414
Location
Austin, TX
Hey gang, jumping back to the M300, a few folks asked for my thoughts compared to the SU-8. I made a quick video, maybe a little general for this audience but hopefully, it is helpful to some.



Just starting to goof around on youtube so welcome any feedback.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top