Should I do it ?
post-174348
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 7

Guyferd

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 28, 2002
Posts
1,119
Likes
10
I have a friend who is doing networking . He got a deal to set up wireless network for sennheiser in singapore. He asked me to come there help him, and also since I am headphone fans, he thought I could share some idea with the sennheiser marketing guy/techical guy/etc..

Most probably if I buy senn cans from them they will quote us cheaper too... I plan on getting their Hd600 if they could quote the right price.. However I noticed that hd600 needs amp to be driven.. which I don't plan to get. I don't wish to spend on amp because I already spend alot on my speakers.. so I don't wish..

Therefore.. I'm left with 2 plans now:
to get the hd600 cheap from the senn, and get the amp later
or just go with the money to buy audio technica w-100
which is ard the same price I suppose.. both $230 range..

but the AT-W100 doesn't really need amp!! ah... help please!
SOundwise, will I regret if I buy the w100 over hd600??

If this plan fail to work, I plan on waiting for sometime for AT to release their limited ed cans again.. maybe that one will offer better sound to the w100.. I really don't know what to do now. I wish what I will spend will be my last upgrade

Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-174350
Post #2 of 7

jpelg

Needs a regular fix of 'Fi
'06 Nat Meet Co-Coordinator
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Messages
8,675
Reaction score
26
Location
The Elm City
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Location
The Elm City
Posts
8,675
Likes
26
Quote:

I wish what I will spend will be my last upgrade


Aahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Aahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Aahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Aahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Aahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Aahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

ROTFLMAO!

 
     Share This Post       
post-174351
Post #3 of 7

Nick Dangerous

Mr. Tuberrific
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
2,623
Reaction score
27
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Posts
2,623
Likes
27
Quote:

SOundwise, will I regret if I buy the w100 over hd600??


In my experience there is not a single audible trait that would make me choose the W100 over the HD-600 with an Equinox cable.

Then again, all my tests were performed with a variety of amps. I have no idea how they would compare without one.
 
     Share This Post       
post-174354
Post #4 of 7

Eagle_Driver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
6,447
Reaction score
25
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,447
Likes
25
Quote:

Originally posted by Nick Dangerous
I have no idea how they would compare without one.


My answer is: Neither of those headphones is an ideal choice without an amp. You see, most headphone amps powering built-in headphone jacks in home audio components are mediocre at best. And "amps" powering those jacks built into portables are downright gutless.
 
     Share This Post       
post-174381
Post #5 of 7

The Quality Guru

Blah! he says.
Joined
Jan 27, 2002
Messages
887
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 27, 2002
Posts
887
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally posted by Nick Dangerous


In my experience there is not a single audible trait that would make me choose the W100 over the HD-600 with an Equinox cable.

Then again, all my tests were performed with a variety of amps. I have no idea how they would compare without one.


Nick is not a fan of these cans. Though IMO, only with the right music do the W100's excel over the HD600. With string music though (gutairs, cellos, etc.) they are (IMO) leaps and bounds ahead of the HD600. I could hardly listen to the HD600's presentation of strings. Maybe the equinox cable helps this, though I doubt it. Though with most other music, the HD600 seems to be better. My two cents.
 
     Share This Post       
post-174400
Post #6 of 7

andrzejpw

May one day invent Bose-cancelling headphones.
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Messages
6,636
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 25, 2001
Posts
6,636
Likes
10
Quote:

but the AT-W100 doesn't really need amp!


sorry friend, the both need an amp.
I'd go with the 600s, and get an amp later.
 
     Share This Post       
post-174429
Post #7 of 7

dohminator

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2002
Messages
563
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 15, 2002
Posts
563
Likes
0
Well, I don't run my w100 with an amp. It works just fine. I quite frankly don't have th money for an amp at this point in time.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top